RSS

Taylor Time

28 Mar

img_1014.JPG

“Confetti Man”

 

Those of you who know me, know that I am somewhat of a Taylor Hicks fan (subtle understatement here). Since this is a music blog and I feel that he is conspicuously missing, I’m adding a Taylor feature. Each week, I’ll try to highlight one of my favorite Taylor songs and give a little explanation as to why. We’ll call it “Taylor Time”.

For those of you who might not understand my proclivity for Taylor Hicks, I’m going to point folks to some postings of mine back at GrayCharles.com back in the spring of ’06 that discussed Taylor’s “Tipping Point” and my thoughts on when that occurred **cough**Playthatfunkymusicwhiteboy**cough**.

 

That thread had some great discussion and some good thoughts about Taylor and his music. For me, this posting that I made nearly a year ago still capture the essence of what I really like about Taylor Hicks.

 

double d # 16 May 20th, 2006 at 8:04 am

Inertia is resistent to change but once in a while a wrench falls into the spinning drum and totally screws the machine.

Taylor = wrench….I absolutely love it.

May 20th, 2006 at 9:56 am

Holeigh, I know what you mean. I think that Taylor had some kind of realization before that night that said, “hey, what’s the worse thing that can happen, I get kicked out of here and go back to playing music? it’ll certainly be on a much higher level now…my voice has been heard…hell, just as soon lay it all on out there…”

I only know that, for me, the guy is a symbol for “being real”. Most of us have to swallow such crap every day in our every day lives and to see someone, like us, stay true to themselves…..man, I just really identified with it. Taylor was just the right movement at just the right time for me. And, from the looks of it, some others too. Way cool.

May 20th, 2006 at 6:28 pm

It’s really all a matter of preference. But, Taylor appears to appeal to a broad x-section of fans who do get him and his music. He kind of grows on you because he does many different kinds of music. I think that he’ll be a great cross-over artist. If he does a hard rock album I might listen but probably wouldn’t buy it. I like his humor, his manners and I like his attitude, also.

Call me a sucker but I like the struggling artist who spends 10 years bustin’ his arse and then catches a break, beats the odds and finds redemption, finally…story. I’m a sap, ok, I want to see the confetti fall on this guy.

Well, the good guy won and I hope that he continues to be true to himself. For today’s “Taylor Time” – one of my personal favorites….Ain’t No Sunshine by Bill Withers. I’m not exactly sure where this was recorded but I believe it was in Atlanta. I do know that it’s done with Jon Cook on guitar. Taylor and Jon played together for many a year and some of Taylor’s best work was done with Jon’s accompaniment. I got to meet Jon at Soul Kitchen in Mobile and he is one carazy dood, but a really nice guy.

 

I love this song. The song itself and Taylor’s version. I love the “live”-ness of it with all the bar noises in the background. The singular guitar is haunting at the beginning. Taylor’s voice is strong, powerful and meaningful. However, the pièce de résistance is the harmonica solo. I mean,….gobsmacked. You can hear the pain in the wailing of that harp. Then, the “tagging” in of James Brown’s “It’s a Man’s World” to finish it off. To me, this is a virtual masterpiece for Taylor and one that he should definitely include in a “live” collection CD. It’s also a stark reminder for me that the confetti fell on the right guy. Huzzah!


Ain’t No SunshineTaylor Hicks (a/k/a “Da Man”)

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2007 in gray charles, Taylor, taylor hicks

 

8 responses to “Taylor Time

  1. Shelley

    March 28, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    It’s about time…Taylor Time!

    Man, to refer back to GC ’06 is like a shining moment in history.

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    March 29, 2007 at 1:58 am

    Clean, tight, pure. Gobsmacked is a perfect description for how this leaves you.

    This is what I was hoping the CD was going to be like.

    What a great way to start this weekly feature!

     
  3. nolagirl

    March 29, 2007 at 5:38 am

    Very nice, very nice!

    This reminds me that I need to buy that live album of Bill Withers that Gray always mentions …..

     
  4. bamaborntxbred

    March 30, 2007 at 12:47 am

    Thanks for reminding me why I love TH sooo much.

    I miss those kinder, gentler days….

     
  5. nolagirl

    March 30, 2007 at 6:21 am

    Awww, there, there Bama. Perhaps they will return, sweet lady. ;)

     
  6. shrewspeaks

    March 30, 2007 at 6:52 am

    So true, Bama, so true.

    I like this little music sharing environment DD. We can just ramble on and on. Keep postin’ Darlin’

     
  7. leejolem

    March 31, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Ain’t No Sunshine–pure, raw Taylor. What a way to start the day. Can’t wait to see what else you come up w/DD.

    p.s. loved the 1982 pic!

     
  8. Bon/SoulerExpress

    April 1, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    “Ain’t No Sunshine” by Taylor Hicks is right up there with his version of “People Get Ready.” They both have the power to bring me to tears.

    Hot dayuuuum and hallalujah, the man was born to sing and entertain!

    Love your blog, Music Maven!

    Bon

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

