RSS

Live from Abbey Road

28 Jun

240px-abbey_road_studio_2.jpg
Studio 2, Abbey Road

One of the advantages of being tethered to my big screen TV, complete with every premium cable channel, On Demand and DVR capabilities and the fact that it’s my right foot that’s broken and not my right hand or all important right thumb, has allowed me to peruse the nether regions of cable television — both “real time” and tape delayed.

In my quest, I found that the On Demand Sundance Channel has begun cataloging the Live from Abbey Road series. Highlighting various artists via performances and interviews, the Abbey Road Studios remain alive, 75 years after it’s inception. In 1958, Cliff Richard and The Shadows recorded Move It at Abbey Road — a song considered the first “rock & roll” from Europe, and thus it began.

Of course, The Beatles made the studios immortal, but groups such as The Hollies, Manfred Mann, Pink Floyd, and others also utilized the famous location. As we all know, The Beatles final album was titled Abbey Road and provided the now famous picture of the intersection of St. John’s Wood.

260px-beatles_-_abbey_road.jpg

So, now Channel 4 in England is broadcasting a star-studded line-up of recording artists that highlights three performances, with interviews interspersed. The Sundance Channel is featuring these performances every Thursday night at 10pm EDT, 9pm CDT. Additionally, Sundance is cataloging these performances on their On Demand channel, for your convenient viewing pleasure. Many of these performances have already made their debuts on YouTube.

Last week’s episode featured Richard Ashcroft, John Mayer and Norah Jones. Here’s John Mayer talking specifically about Gravity, and the “openness” and “simpleness” of it.

 

Norah cough**Mrs. Taylor Hicks**cough Jones gets into the complexities of writing on guitar vs. piano:

 

Tonight’s episode will feature Snow Patrol, Madeline Peyroux, and The Red Hot Chili Peppers.

 

You can check out the episode listing here, and here are a few “previews” of those to come:

Truth, Amos Lee

Bartender, Dave Matthews

Jolene, Ray LaMontagne

Put Your Records On, Corrine Bailey Rae

Blues in the Night, Dr. John

Slip Slidin’ Away, Paul Simon

Transformer, Gnarls Barkley

Volcano, Damien Rice

By the way, all you Feist haters….1-2-3-4 was used in a promo for My Boys on TBS. Toldya I’ve been in the nether regions of cable….

 

 

 

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2007 in Amos Lee, Artists, John Mayer, Music Today

 

8 responses to “Live from Abbey Road

  1. Laurita

    June 28, 2007 at 9:34 pm

    DD… amazing, what more can I say?

    Even though I hope you’re up and around and untethered very soon, the other part of me wants you to stay put, to keep us satiated with a constant stream of these cool vid clips and new info!

    I get the Sundance Channel and didn’t even know about this, so muchas gracias, muchacha :-)

    This is especially good timing for a music vid fix after today’s “I’m-outta-here-move” of our peripatetic amigo,Mr. Gray Charles/Uncle Monkbot/”Pop Culture Tourettes” Chronicler, who has left us again with no forwarding address…

    Maybe back to Fiji?

    P.S. My Boys on TBS? You HAVE been slumming in some scary places, haven’t you? but what an interesting find!

     
  2. Poolie

    June 28, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    Now you’re talking my era. How I loved Cliff Richard, the first LP I bought was The Shadows. Tommy Steele was a favourite too and Gene Vincent. I met Cliff & the Shadows in 1964, got their autographs, Cliff’s is on a portrait I did of him. Fast forward 40 years and I’m “chatting” with a fellow in New Zealand who has just returned from a visit back home and emailes me a photo of myself with Cliff Richard! Talk about a small world, turns out his sister in law dated the best friend of my boyfriend at the time. This young man took the photo which I didn’t know existed. How I wish I could get the Sundance channel, I might have to get my brother in England to tape me these shows. And thank you for the Cliff YouTube link, I HAD link, It

     
  3. Jan

    June 28, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    MM: I want to give you a big ole hug! Thank you for the video of Ray LaMontagne performing Jolene. That is my favorite song by him. I love it so much. I’m still listening to the rest but I have to say, my favorite CD today is Back to Black by Amy Winehouse. On first listen, I was not impressed but I am blown away now. The retro sound with the new vernacular. I read all the lyrics to the songs on the CD. I love that she included the lyrics.

     
  4. Poolie

    June 28, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    Now you’re talking my era. How I loved Cliff Richard and The Shadows, Tommy Steele too and Gene Vincent. I met Cliff and the Shadows in 1964, got their autographs, Cliff’s is on a portrait I did of him. Fast forward 40 years and I’m “chatting” will a fellow in New Zealand who had just returned from a trip back home, he emails me a photo of myself with Cliff! Talk about a small world, turns out his sister in law dated the best friend of my boyfriend at the time and he took the photo which I had never seen and didn’t know existed.:-)

    How I wish I could get the Sundance channel, I may have to get my brother to tape the shows on Channel 4. And thanks for the link to Cliff’s YouTube video, amazingly I hadn’t thought to look for vids from that era.

    I’m enjoying reading your blog DD, thank you for writing it. By the way what happened to GC? logged in tonight for my evening read and there he was gone!!

     
  5. Laurita

    June 28, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    Jan, in case you missed my mention of this on BB!

    In last week’s US Weekly (they gave me a free subscription… ;-) )
    Amy Winehouse was quoted:

    “I know I’m talented, but I wasn’t put here to sing.
    I was put here to be a wife and a mom and look after my family.
    I love what I do, but it’s not where it begins and ends.”

     
  6. brc

    June 29, 2007 at 7:50 am

    Wow. Amazing performances. I would imagine that there will be recordings released from this series — MM did you read/hear anything about whether they would offer these performances for sale?

     
  7. Little Deb

    June 29, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Wow, very cool stuff. I wish I got the Sundance channel. The Ray song “Jolene” made me think of another “Jolene”. I actually thought he might be singing this one and thought it was kind of “odd”. Thanks for posting it, I really like Ray’s song.

    I found this version of the one I was thinking of and thought it was pretty cool. Dolly Parton and Melissa Etheridge singing Dolly’s “Jolene”.

     
  8. jojo

    July 4, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    Hello MM, and Happy 4th. of July to everyone from the U.K. This is the first time I’ve posted here and I just wanted to say thanks for all the amazing videos that you always manage to find. It’s a real treat visiting here.
    I loved the Abbey Road series too, partly because it introduced me to artists that I might not have listened to before. For example, I know nothing about jazz but the set by Wynton Marsalis was, I thought, brilliant. Especially on ‘Where Y’all At’. That was some classy rapping!
    There’s a bit more information/footage at the livefromabbeyroad.com website, and I did read that there will be downloads and possibly a DVD available by the end of the year.
    I don’t know why, whether it’s the lyrics or his voice, but I always feel really emotional when I hear ‘Jolene’ by Ray Lamontagne. It’s such an incredible song.
    He recently recorded a conert for BBC4 at St Luke’s in London, a renovated church where the London Symphony Orchestra are based, and it was fantastic. To hear ‘Be Here Now’ with the full strings behind him was just beautiful. Perhaps BBC America might show it?
    This is the only clip of the concert that I’ve been able to find, ‘Gone Away From Me’.

    Even my Dad, (who’s 70), loved it. He’s now a Ray Lamontagne fan and I bought him a copy of ‘Trouble’ for Fathers’ Day!

    On a slightly different subject, have you heard the new version of the ‘Sgt. Pepper’ album? As it the 40th. anniversary of it’s release, it’s been re-recorded by current artists at Abbey Road on the original 4-track analogue equipment, and with the same engineer that the Beatles worked with.
    What I’ve heard so far sounded really good. Especially liked Bryan Adam’s blistering cover of the title track, and The Fray’s version of ‘Fixing a Hole’, as well as ‘Lovely Rita’ by Travis, complete with paper and comb playing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

