RSS

Sara Bareilles (bar-rell-is)

12 Jul

sara-bareilles.jpg

Well, well, well….

Lookee what I found. A hot new talent named Sara Bareilles.

Run, do not walk, to iTunes and purchase her amazing new download compilation (DC rather than CD) for only $6.99. That’s right. Twelve, count ‘em, TWELVE tracks for only $6.99. This very attractive price caused me to give Sara a listen. I did and I absolutely LERVE her. I feel the same way I did when I was first introduced to Amos Lee and Ray LaMontagne. In researching fare Sara, I find out that she spent the fall opening for cousin Marc. Broussard, that is.

Her website, http://www.sarabmusic.com/ has great features, including a Journal that she writes in blog format. She is a humble, down to earth artist who is simply amazed to “be here”. In her self-penned biography on VIRB, she explains her music:

“I write mostly on piano and I’m a girl, so lots of people say it’s Norah Jones, or Fiona Apple. That’s fine. I love Norah’s subtlety and Fiona’s fierce lyrical prowess. But I also have an affinity for the playful and intelligent-pop of people like Elton John and Ben Folds. And although I don’t necessarily write like them, Radiohead, the Police and Bjork changed my musical consciousness. Ben Gibbard writes better lyrics than I can even imagine up. Etta James and Sam Cooke make me wish I lived 50 years ago. Counting Crows recorded an album that I consider to be perfect, and Bob Marley created music that makes me want to be a better human being.

So there’s all that. And it’s all in there. In me. Somewhere. So do what you will with that information, I know it’s vague, but it’s the best I can do.”

This DC is exactly as she explains it…a little bit of everything. And, they’re all original. I find her writing style and lyrics very appealing and familiar.

Here are some favorite tracks:

Love Song

Vegas

Bottle it Up
Pay attention to her monologue on this song about her “record label”.

City

Fairytale

Gravity
Likely my new favorite song, this song was featured in the movie Loving Annabelle.

These are not on the DC, but lovely nonetheless:

Undertow
Opening for Marc Broussard at The Roxy in Hollywood

With a Little Help From My Friends
As if I didn’t like her enough, she covers The Beatles at the same show.

Finally, here are two duets with Mighty Marc….live from The Granada in Lawerence, KS – 10/12/06

Heart to Heart (Kenny Loggins cover)

I Shot the Sheriff (Bob Marley cover)

marcbroussardandsara.jpg

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2007 in Artists

 

7 responses to “Sara Bareilles (bar-rell-is)

  1. colette

    July 13, 2007 at 2:02 am

    Love that all these talented young women are coming forth, in the spirit of Joni and Laura, Fiona, et al.

    Thanks so much for sharing! she’s a keeper……

     
  2. Squeebee

    July 13, 2007 at 11:43 am

    Very nice, Double to da D! Thanks for the tip!

     
  3. nolagirl

    July 13, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    I previewed all of her tracks while Marc’s album was downloading! Loved her. I was *this close* to buying it, but am trying to be on a strict budget, so put it in line for the next round of iTunes purchases. When I get home, I’m going to try to steal a few minutes to listen to these clips – thanks DD!

     
  4. brc

    July 13, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    Such a beautiful voice. Thanks MM. I got goosebumps listening to Gravity.

     
  5. Meg

    July 18, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    This a such a great little spread on Sara that you put together. I love her too. I think she is brimming over with sooooo much on a lot of levels.

     
  6. music maven

    October 7, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    Update: Gravity has been recently featured in the promos for Brothers and Sisters on ABC.

     
  7. Bonzz

    October 13, 2008 at 6:22 am

    I am the BIGGEST fan of LOVE SONG EVERRRRRRRRRRR (:
    Its done alot for me and i love it and i love my boyfriend who shares the passion of this song with meeeee x

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

