RSS

The Eagles….”How Long” has it been?

27 Aug

eagles1.jpg

Ahhh, yes. The Eagles. Good times. Good times.

I came of age with Take it to the Limit, Desparado, Hotel California, Take it Easy and so many of the great Eagles’ hits of the mid to late ’70s. I adored the wonders of The Long Run album (The Greeks Don’t Want No Freaks was a sort of personal anthem back in the day) and was even mildly interested when the came back together for Hell Freezes Over.

Admittedly, it’s been a while since I had the pleasure of enjoying Don, Joe, Glen and Tim with the exception of my Ultimate Class Rock playlist on my iPod. However, help is on the way….At a June concert, Don Henley announced a new CD that will be coming out this October. Then, a few days ago, they released the single How Long.

Here it is:

How Long, The Eagles

Now, Lefsetz has some pretty harsh criticism of the fact that this song was originally done by J.D. Souther in 1972. Never the subtle one, Bob laments the fact that this is a 35 year old cover. However, The Eagles publicist, Larry Solters, vehemently disagrees with Lefsetz’s assessment. While I generally am in total alignment with ole Bob, I have to go with Larry on this one. Larry’s basic point is that this song is actually exactly what Bob has been lamenting is missing — a good, solid song PERFORMED by musicians (who are certainly proven).

You can’t talk out of both sides of your mouth, Bob.  I respect what Larry says about the song being “performing” music and the lack of reliance on supped-up editing. After all, that is Lefsetz’s rally cry. Perhaps Bob just genuinely dislikes the song itself, and that’s ok, but sometimes he just might miss the mark of the intention and intelligence of an artist or group.  I think he got a little carried away with the fact that the first song (of 20 scheduled for the CD) is “cover”.  Forget that nobody actually knows that and the general public will only know that it’s a pretty good song from a band that’s in their fourth decade of solid music making.

Damn, those heroes fall hard.

As for my personal assessment of How Long??  Maybe I’m still in The Wilburys frame of mind, but this old, new song bears striking resemblance to that “sound”. It looks like they’re having a great time and it will fit nicely in my library — under REAL MUSIC.

BTW, here’s the website: http://www.eaglesband.com/

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2007 in classic rock, Music Today

 

9 responses to “The Eagles….”How Long” has it been?

  1. Trixi

    August 27, 2007 at 7:12 am

    I for one don’t mind if a band plays a cover. As long as they put their touch into it. I always loved The Eagles and the smooth sound they produced. This song fits right in with the bands sound. I will be buying their new album. Thanks for the sneak peek.

     
  2. Little Deb

    August 27, 2007 at 10:00 am

    Ummmm. Anyone else not seeing any youtube videos here? I mean none. I can see the daily motion ones but no youtube.

     
  3. Little Deb

    August 27, 2007 at 10:02 am

    o.k. nevermind – I got them now. Love the eagles, love the new song. Wish more artists were making good music. MM, from the harmony post, my favorite is Seven Bridges Road also.

     
  4. Colette

    August 27, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    I think the Eagles are timeless, and like the new single a lot. Also, incidentally, Backstreet Boy have a new studio record out soon. Harmony is making a comeback!

     
  5. Colette

    August 27, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    and by the way, there appear to be some viewing problems today on the two computers I’ve used today also….

     
  6. jenfera

    August 27, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    I think I like it. It definitely has that classic Eagles sound, and I like how Don & Glenn take turns on lead vocals. It’s just a wee bit twangy for my taste, but the Eagles have always been able to make me accept more twang than anyone else!

     
  7. morewines

    August 27, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    Long Road Out of Eden is the first full length studio album from the band in 28 years and it features the song “How Long.” Look for it on October 30th.

     
  8. morewines

    August 27, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    A comment on my radio station.

    John Doe (ex “X”) stopped in to play live. Blamed The Eagles for “the current state of country music”. He wouldn’t go into detail.

    hmmm not sure what John Doe meant. That is
    his real name.

     
  9. roger

    September 8, 2008 at 3:35 am

    ohhh the eagles , an album long time back that is in 1972, the time during which they rocked. But i couldn’t find the eagles now a days. Nice to watch such a old video in the you tube.
    ================================
    roger50
    california dui

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

