RSS

Twangalicious Brad

17 Oct

I’m on a mission to convince my friend, Shrew, that there is some listenable Country music. She hates “twang”, so it’s very difficult to find Country music sans ANY twang. So, I thought I’d over-compensate with humor and hawtness. Therefore, I give you….

paisley2.jpg

Brad Paisley.

Brad is multi-faceted. He’s an accomplished guitar player, a great singer and has quite a sense of humor. Brad is a modern-day Jim Stafford. Many of his songs poke good-natured fun at everyday life and love. He’s married to Kimberly Williams who plays Jim Belushi’s sarcastic sister-in-law on According to Jim. She also played the daughter in the Father of the Bride movies with Steve Martin. Brad and Kim recently became parents of William Huckleberry. (Now, you gotta give props to somebody who names their kid Huckleberry.)

Brad talks a little about being a father in this interview:

One of my favorite Paisley tunes of late is Alcohol. While the lyrics are hilarious, the video is hysterical. Note: Brad has a certain fascination and friendship with Little Jimmy Dickens. (Brad doesn’t allow embedding of his YouTube videos, so please click on the song titles for the link to the video.)

Alcohol

I can make anybody pretty.
I can make you believe any lie.
I can make you pick a fight with somebody twice your size.
Well, I�ve been known to cause a few break-ups,
An’ I�ve been known to cause a few births.
Well, I can make you new friends, or get you fired from work.

And since the day I left Milwaukee,
Lynchburg an’ Bordeaux, France,
Been making the bars lots of big money,
An’ helpin’ white people dance.
I got you in trouble in High School,
But College, now that was a ball.
You had some of the best times you�ll never remember with me:
Alcohol; Alcohol.

I got blamed at your wedding reception,
For your best man�s embarrassing speech.
And also for those naked pictures of you at the beach.
I�ve influenced Kings and world leaders,
I helped Hemingway write like he did.
And I�ll bet you a drink or two, that I can make you put that lampshade on your head.

Cause since the day I left Milwaukee,
Lynchburg and Bordeaux, France,
I been making a fool out of folks just like you,
An’ helping white people dance.
I am medicine and I am poison,
I can help you up or make you fall.
You had some of the best times you’ll never remember with me:
Alcohol.

Yeah, since the day I left Milwaukee,
Lynchburg an’ Bordeaux, France,
Been making the bars lots of big money,
(Helpin’ white people dance.)
Yeah, I got you in trouble in High School,
But College, now that was a ball.
You had some of the best times you�ll never remember with me:
Alcohol; Alcohol.

Brad actually met Kimberly while filming the video for the immensely popular I’m Gonna Miss Her, which is an ode to fishing:

I’m Gonna Miss Her

I just really love his humor….and he’s certainly not sore on the eyes. Brad hit the scene with this first hit…

Wrapped Around

He followed that up with Mud on the Tires...Welcome to Mudstock!

Mud on the Tires

Brad spoofs off of American Idol a bit in Celebrity, which features a great interaction with William Shatner…I love this ending.

Celebrity

One of his most recent hit is Online. Brad actually had a contest on YouTube for the best video idea. He judged the entries, picked a winning concept, then used the idea. Kewl. Jason Alexander is a frequent guest if you hadn’t noticed him in Celebrity.

Hopefully, this is not reminiscent of anyone here…

Online

While Brad has a most excellent sense of humor, he’s not a one-trick pony. He has other songs that are sincerely heart felt and meaningful. I seriously love this video….Kimberly has a great scene in this one — at the end. Genuine.

Little Moments

Another recent tribute to his lovely wife is She’s Everything. I love these lyrics, as well.

She’s Everything

She’s a yellow pair of running shoes
A holey pair of jeans
She looks great in cheap sunglasses
She looks great in anything
She’s I want a piece of chocolate
Take me to a movie
She’s I can’t find a thing to wear
Now and then she’s moody

She’s a Saturn with a sunroof
With her brown hair a-blowing
She’s a soft place to land
And a good feeling knowing
She’s a warm conversation
That I wouldn’t miss for nothing
She’s a fighter when she’s mad
And she’s a lover when she’s loving

And she’s everything I ever wanted
And everything I need
I talk about her, I go on and on and on
‘Cause she’s everything to me

She’s a Saturday out on the town
And a church girl on Sunday
She’s a cross around her neck
And a cuss word ’cause its Monday
She’s a bubble bath and candles
Baby come and kiss me
She’s a one glass of wine
And she’s feeling kinda tipsy

She’s the giver I wish I could be
And the stealer of the covers
She’s a picture in my wallet
Of my unborn children’s mother
She’s the hand that I’m holding
When I’m on my knees and praying
She’s the answer to my prayer
And she’s the song that I’m playing

[Repeat chorus]

She’s the voice I love to hear
Someday when I’m ninety
She’s that wooden rocking chair
I want rocking right beside me
Everyday that passes
I only love her more
Yeah, she’s the one
That I’d lay down my own life for

And she’s everything I ever wanted
And everything I need
She’s everything to me
Yeah she’s everything to me

Everything I ever wanted
And everything I need
She’s everything to me

There are many other great Brad Paisley songs that I encourage you to seek out and listen to. However, I’d be remiss if I didn’t include the two songs that I think are the best of Brad’s repertoire. Both are duets. The first one, with Dolly Parton, packs a strong message is one of my top ten favorite songs.

When I Get Where I’m Going

Finally, Brad delivers a haunting performance with Allison Krause that rivals George Jones’ He Stopped Loving Her Today, with the superb Whiskey Lullaby.

Whiskey Lullaby

Brad is a smart, conscientious entertainer who has a great sense of humor and appears to be very well grounded. He’s a family guy who’s obviously in love with his wife and his life. I really like this attitude and his humor…the fact that he’s as cute as a button doesn’t come into play whatsoever.

Pinky swear.

 
28 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2007 in brad paisley, Country

 

28 responses to “Twangalicious Brad

  1. shrew a/k/a twang hater

    October 18, 2007 at 5:58 am

    NOT only am I having a real poopy week at work, and I feel like I am not getting to focus on my studying, but now I am forced to listen to TWAAAAAAAANG?!?!?!?!?! *Looking towards the heavens* Why, why me?

    Alrighty Ms. MM…You are going to have to get this in drips and drabs from me; one, cause today sucks timing wise, and two, I refuse to OD on twang.

    Alcohol. Amusing Video…great honest lyrics with tongue firmly planted in cheeck style. BUT the hard country twang still makes me wince…

    I am not a believer yet.

    (Dear god, give me the courage to be able to listen to all this cat screaming twang today.)

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    October 18, 2007 at 6:15 am

    You had to post him TWICE?

    Urghhhhh!

     
  3. brc

    October 18, 2007 at 7:29 am

    Well he is funny and very good-looking. I like his little smirk in his videos. His songs are very clever and funny too.

    However it’s REALLY hard to get past the twang… even with the hawtness.

     
  4. music maven

    October 18, 2007 at 8:02 am

    Sorry ’bout dat.

    I really wasn’t trying to cram him down your throat….well, maybe just a little.

    C’mon folks. Open mind….

    …all I am saying, is give Brad a chance… (done in my best John Lennon voice.)

     
  5. jenfera

    October 18, 2007 at 9:11 am

    Another twang-hater here checking in from far north of the Mason-Dixon line. I couldn’t listen to all of them due to both time restraints and twang-restraints. I was disappointed that Alcohol is a slow song. The lyrics made me think it would be a fast one. The lyrics to She’s Everything are beautiful. I got all verklempt. But I couldn’t watch the video all the way through. It just sounded like ever other country ballad to me.

    I’ll give you that Brad is cute. Now, I think I’ll go listen to some Eagles for the maximum twang factor I can handle.

     
  6. music maven

    October 18, 2007 at 9:34 am

    PLEASE. Somebody out there. Help defend the TWANG! It’s invasion of the Yankee Twang Haters….we must represent.

    Poor Brad.

     
  7. brc

    October 18, 2007 at 10:18 am

    “An invasion of the yankee twang-haters…” You is funny!

     
  8. shrewspeaks

    October 18, 2007 at 10:36 am

    I am NOT ALONE!!!!!!!!! YEEEE…In the midst of all the Monkbot/Taylor Frenzy I was the lone voice of “really Twang?”

    I will love LSU, but twang…NEVAH! :)

    Okay okay…I will listen again. (Opening my mind)

    “Twangalicious Brad” Heh…I like it…but what will your google referrals be like…hahaahaaa

     
  9. jenfera

    October 18, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    ~~~sheepishly admitting in front of brc & shrew that she likes Save A Horse, Ride A Cowboy~~~

     
  10. ivoryhut

    October 18, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Brad also did that whole CMT Crossroads thing with John Mayer. It was very, very cool. I have video of it, and will attempt to splice it into clips to show Shrew that if the song is good, twang can’t destroy it.

     
  11. ivoryhut

    October 18, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    Okay, here you go. Brad and John Mayer performing together. Also, I give you Brad and Alison Krauss. I know DD said humor and hawtness, but I’m posting these anyway because I’m not completely opposed to twang. In fact, I believe Shrew and I had a conversation about this some time ago.

    (I think I have a problem more with the label than with the actual music. Does that make me shallow?)

     
  12. ivoryhut

    October 18, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Argh. Linky no worky. Let’s try that again:

    Brad and John
    Brad and Alison

     
  13. shrewspeaks

    October 18, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    I beg to differ IvoryHut…even when Brad is siging there is not even a hint of a twang that makes me twitch in the Brad and John link.

    OKAY TWangdangdoodle on the Alison Krauss link. And here is the thing about the twang it is so distracting that I can’t focus in on the melody or the lyrics. I guess this must be what some people feel when listening to Brubeck’s Take 5. which is heaven to me by the way.

     
  14. shrewspeaks

    October 18, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    I will say…even though I have kicked and screamed and may never download any Brad Paisley (other than the two songs IvoryHut tricked me into downloading) I do have respect for his talent and I do enjoy the turn of phrase he uses.

    Props to Paisley.

     
  15. music maven

    October 18, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    Wooohooo! Props….yyyeeesss!

    BTW, IH…the Whiskey Lullaby video is the last of the post.

    I don’t care who ya are….Allison Krause rawks.

    Shrew…you get props for Brubeck.

    Oh, and I think you just have a problem with the accent. The Twang is built in down here. I don’t suffer as much from it as my accent is “flat” Cajun.

    dis. dat. dos.

     
  16. shrewspeaks

    October 18, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    It’s more the guitar than the voices.

     
  17. Little Deb

    October 19, 2007 at 7:44 am

    Yey for TWANG!!!!!! Can’t wait for that promised Conway post.

     
  18. jenfera

    October 19, 2007 at 8:34 am

    Love Take 5! Especially when Torvill & Dean are skating to it…

     
  19. brc

    October 19, 2007 at 8:51 am

    Is that link really John Mayer and Brad Paisley? The voice doesn’t sound like either of them.

     
  20. Mitchell Strickler

    October 19, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    Small correction on the Brad/Kimberly Williams meeting, that reveals Brad’s sly nature. As a pickup device, he offered Kim a role in a video for his song about seeing “Father of the Bride II” in hopes of meeting an old girlfriend he’d taken to FOTBI. Thing is, he never intended to make a video of that song. As Kim wrote me, it was only after they were dating that he asked her to play the girl he dumped in favor of going fishing in his breakthrough video, “I’m Gonna Miss Her.”

     
  21. Mitchell Strickler

    October 19, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    The standard story about Brad meeting Kim at the “I
    m Gonna Miss Her” video is less interesting than the true one that Kim told me in an email. Brad called her about a prospective video for his song about going to “Father of the Bride II” in hopes of seeing an old girl friend he had taken to FOTB I. But that was just a pickup line; he later admitted that he never intended to make that video. Later, when they were dating, Kim played the girl he dumped in favor of fishing — and who hit him upside the head — in “I’m Gonna Miss Her.”

     
  22. skyblue

    October 19, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    TWANG is good! Embrace the TWANG. Let it be your friend!!!

    But seriously, this reminded me of a brilliant CD by k.d.lang called “Absolute Torch and Twang”, from 1989. I think this was one of the first records which turned me on to country music, alternative or otherwise!

    It’s twanginess with attitude!

    And who could fail to love the lyrics to “Three Days”?
    “Three days, filled with tears and sorrow,
    Yesterday, today and tommorrow.”

    It’s a classic.

    There’s more where that came from right here:
    http://www.wbr.com/kdlang/discography.html

     
  23. music maven

    October 19, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Oooh, Little Deb….thanks for jogging my foggy memory…I am ON IT!

    Jen — 2 demerits for even mentioning the wimpy sport of ice skating. Dang, girl. Is that all y’all have to look forward to in New England? ;)

    Are you from Mizzou, brc? Yes, seeing is believing – Why Georgia?

    It really is…heh.

    LONG LIVE THE TWANG, BABAY!

     
  24. music maven

    October 20, 2007 at 7:31 am

    Thanks for the clarification, Mitchell. sorry, all first time posters go to moderation. Now, you’re good to go, so come back often.

    BTW, I love Kim’s stuff.

     
  25. ivoryhut

    October 21, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Haha. Shrew, I tricked you into downloading twang? Wow, I’m cleverer than I thought!

    MM, I was reading your feed via Google Reader and missed the mention of Whiskey Lullaby. That’s the truth. My missing it has nothing to do with my small eyes. Really.

    Oh, and I love Take 5. Used to play it when I was in high school and had all those spare hours a day to play the piano.

    I don’t think Jen cares much about the demerits since her Red Sox are about to win after being down 1-3 in the series. My mom, a true blue Yankees fan, actually drove up to Boston early Saturday morning because she and some friends had tickets to games 6 and 7. See? We’re not all bad, we Yanks.

     
  26. Emma

    August 13, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Hiya!!
    Look, I realise that you are trying to convince a friend, but you don NOT have to sell this man to me. I am completely with you on all the points you have made about Brad- He’s modern, he’s funny, he’s (really) hot and he can sing. His songs combine twangness (which I love) with a more modern element and that’s why he is such a hit. He has old-fashioned, toe-tapping country teamed with a contemporary look and modern lyrics and themes. His videos are hilarious as well. Just one thing though- I don’t think he met Kimberly while filming I’m Gonna Miss Her, he met her under the pretence that he wanted her to star in a video which he had no intention of shooting, they were dating when I’m Gonna Miss Her was shot.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

