RSS

The Top 24….Worthy?

15 Feb

idols-08-mm.jpg

So, here is the American Idol Season 7 Top 24.

As I opined in this recent post, something is smelly in Hollywood. The picture above uses a red lightning bolt to highlight “contestants” who have significant experience in the music industry. Some more significant than others, however HALF of the top 24 are considered veterans by industry standards.

Of course, there is the failed music industry darling, Carly Hennessy Smithson, who actually was at MCA while Randy Jackson was head of A&R there. Now, I ask you, is that not a conflict of interest? Also, what’s with folks who are not American, competing for American Idol? Sorry, don’t mean to be exclusionary, but I thought that American Idol is positioned so sappily by the producers as the contest to find previously unfound American talent that would otherwise not have the opportunity to be “found”.

My theory? (You knew there’d be one…) I think that last season really damaged and de-valued American Idol. So desperate to avoid the jumping of the shark, the franchise has chosen to stack the proverbial deck to ensure a higher quality production and save their flailing popularity. I’m predicting significant backlash on this “underhandedness” as several media outlets are already picking up the story.

Vote for the Worst was the first to uncover the vastness of the plants and continues to follow the story. No doubt, we’ll be seeing more on this as the contest goes on. FWIW, Danny Noreiga is their current favorite. Of course, we saw his audition and then, nada.

It’ll be interesting to see how many of the true unknowns are voted off versus make it through. I find it very interesting that with the exception of my favorite, Amanda Overmayer, a/k/a Harley Nurse of Death (HNOD), that the auditions, backstories, and interviews have mainly been with the 12 plants rather than the 12 unkowns. We have not seen nor heard many of the unknowns, which puts them at a huge disadvantage going into the voting competition.

Hate to be so “Conspiracy Theory”, but I’ve lived long enough to know that nothing is as it seems and when large sums of money is involved it is generally a sham. I get particularly pissed by the blatant misrepresentation of these arrogant Brits who take full advantage of the naivety of most Americans. Well, they ain’t gonna scam this seventh generation American…I’ll watch as long as HNOD is on the show. Once she goes, so do I.

As for their pimpage? Watch for young David Archuletta to continue to be extolled along with Carly, from now referred to as “She Who Will Remain Nameless”. David is a biz veteran after winning Star Search at 12, over four years ago. Imagine the story if he were to win Star Search AND American Idol. Besides, it’s a male year and they’ve never had a YOUNG male winner. (Remember, peeps, I called young woman winner at this stage last year — my Libra Dragon-ness generally does not fail me.)

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2008 in american idol

 

9 responses to “The Top 24….Worthy?

  1. Shrewspeaks

    February 15, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Have you emailed your story to Dave White? I would LOVE to know his take on all of this.

     
  2. music maven

    February 15, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Alas, it appears Mr. White wisely omits his email address from all associated publications. If this wasn’t the case, this would have been done already.

     
  3. Colette

    February 15, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    MM — I couldn’t agree more. Words of wisdom, lady!

    It feels like the beginning of the end for “American Idol” (though that’s been said of a few other seasons!), with this attempt to turn it into a second-chance talent show for scuffling music vets.

    Last year was a mess, particularly with the Sanjaya saga. But I have to say, I didn’t see a single audition (and I’ll admit, I didn’t watch them all) this year that was up to the try-outs of Melinda Doolittle or Lakisha Jones or a few other good folks from last year — including a couple who didn’t make it into the Top 24.

    Has anyone else noticed, by the way, that they’ve put through very few black singers with roots in older R & B? Clearly, they’ve decided that’s not commercial enough.

    Also — almost everyone they pushed through, male and female, is a “shouty” vocalist. (This after nailing Lakisha, one of the best natural singers they’ve ever had, for being too shouty.)

    The top 24 is full of of over-the-top, unnuanced, smack-it-out-of-the-park vocalizers — the kind who make my brain bleed. That ain’t music, to me, but pop aerobics. Where’s the style, the individualism, the phrasing, the panache? Clearly they aren’t having any of that. Like the commercial record industry at large, they’re not looking for individuals but copies of what’s already sold well. That’s so blatantly short-sighted, it’s unbelievable…

    MM, I also like the Punky Nurse, because she’s gritty and different. And maybe a couple others I’ve heard have a twinkling of individuality. But the ones they’re pimping, aside from all that mock-naive that gags me, just aren’t musically distinctive to my ears. “The most talented group ever” –??? Don’t think so.

    If I can just kick the AI habit, I won’t have to watch this thing religiously and will have more time for real music……

     
  4. Music holder

    February 15, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Hm… American Idols is the better… Who is the pretty girl with long legs on the pictute?

     
  5. music maven

    February 15, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    I think that’s Kady Malloy, but she’s one of the Quads so I’m not sure exactly. All the blondes look alike to me. They must be hoping that at least one of them fits the Carrie Underwood mold and survives to the top 5 or better. I say Blonds Go First.

     
  6. Shrewspeaks

    February 15, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    And I almost forgot to say…nice photo work MM!

     
  7. jenfera

    February 15, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    MM, I lerve the graphic! Nice!

    It might finally happen for me this year too. I might just get completely turned off this show. It’s a shame though, because I do loves me some Ryan, and the show itself when they get down to the singing is fun. Depressing.

     
  8. huckleberryfriend

    February 16, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    MM – I’ve been working on something similar.

    The story they gave us about Josiah dismissing the band just doesn’t ring true. I think after Taylor, any contestant that doesn’t conform to TPTB’s expectations is gone. I call it the Taylor Effect.

    I just can’t believe Josiah walked out on stage and dismissed the band. The band certainly didn’t look shocked when it happened. I’m guessing he was given a choice – sing with the band or dismiss the band. Making him walk out on stage and dismiss the band made for good TV.

    I’m usually not a fan of the type of music Josiah sings, but the kid is amazing. He has several songs on youtube. Here’s a link to one of the them – Her – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lbjc3ypUfO4. I bet he has music going on in his brain 24 hours a day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

