RSS

Crisis of Inspiration

11 Jan

 i-have-no-ideas

Dry as a bone.  Uninspired.  Writer’s block.

When I started this blog, thoughts were flooding through my brain and screaming to escape into some kind of creative expression.  I had lists and lists of musical ideas and exploration that I felt compelled to share.  I posted nearly every day with an excitement and desire that was exhilerating.  To add to the thrill, my confidence soared when it seemed that people were genuinely interested in what I had to say.  I marveled each day at the dialogue generated from the comments and checked email with heightened anticipation to see what new commenter had found my little piece of reflections on life and music.  I reveled in the comments of “regulars” and the camraderie of community and acceptance.

Over the past two years, I’ve watched this blog change and evolve.  While music is still a burning passion for me, there are other topics that I find more compelling at this point of my life.  Perhaps it’s the added pressures of proving myself at work so that I don’t lose my job to this horrendous economy, along with the consternation over finding the right college for my teenage son, and finding and buying the perfect “spot” on the water to build our dream home, and trying to keep up with the day to day responsibilities of that little thing called life, that has caused my mind to lack the focus to come up with new and exciting ideas to post about.  I don’t know.

Maybe it’s because I feel that this blog should somehow be tied to music and right now, there’s nothing new on the music front that’s inspiring me to rise above the day to day and produce interesting reading.  I honestly don’t know. 

I also don’t know, at this point, that even if I work through this apparent “blogger’s block” and find new and compelling topics to write about, if people are even interested.  I get alot of hits to various posts, with most coming from Google images, where I find many of the pictures I use, so people come, but do they even read?

For example, the top post with the most hits ever on this blog is Abba vs. Journey.  Nearly 12,000 hits on this post since it was written (over 100 each day, still), yet only 25 comments.  Do that many people actually CARE about Abba?  And, if so, are they not actually reading the post?

But I digress…

I guess what I’m saying is that things change.  Some blogs thrive and some limp along, while others die a slow death.  I’m simply not sure what category Music Maven falls into right now and if I have the time and energy to continue.

The only song that I can muster up that captures some of what I’m feeling….

  Landslide, Stevie Nicks & Lindsay Buckingham

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2009 in inspiration, music maven, navel gazing

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “Crisis of Inspiration

  1. shrewspeaks

    January 11, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Say it ain’t so! Great image.

    What about Beytte’s version of love reign on my at the Kennedy centers honors. Staggering. Or musicmaven’s inaguration sound track? How about some pointers to building the perfect madigras mix? Or a challenge for everyone to submit their favorite local musicians?

     
  2. morewines

    January 11, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    Gosh Maven you are fortunate in this horrendous economy, to be able
    to send your son to college and look for a spot for your retirement home.

    Have a good year! Don’t give up on the blog.

     
  3. kanniduba

    January 11, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Aw, Maven! I count a day where I get over 35 hits a real humdinger!!!! LOL Do the blog thing for you, not for anyone else. Trust me when I say we’re here reading…In my case, I just tend to be quiet rather than make an ass of myself and show my ignorance of the music scene. ;) Pop something in when you’re inspired, and let it rest when you’re not…but don’t close up shop quite yet. And who makes the rules anyway?! Yep, un-huh…YOU DO! You could have Music Mondays, Tasty Tuesdays, Whining Wednesdays, Thinking Thursdays, Freaky Fridays…whatever you want. Things change and evolve…that’s the way of it. Just because this started as all music all the time, doesn’t mean it has to stay that way if you choose it to morph into something else. You’re in the driver’s seat, and we’re just passengers! :)
    And great ideas Shrew by the way!!! Wow, you are way too quick on your feet! :)

     
  4. shrewspeaks

    January 11, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    I even tried with some creative spelling to get the maven to play ;)

     
  5. huckleberryfriend

    January 12, 2009 at 8:29 am

    I don’t have nearly the readers that you have, but I decided that for me, the only way I could continue my blog was to write about what was on my mind.

    I try to come back to music as often as I can – but if politics, the bailout(s), wine, or making gourd birdhouses is what I am thinking about, then it makes sense for me to write about them.

    I read your blog because you are a great writer and you post interesting stuff. If you only write about music some of the time, I will still be a reader.

     
  6. shrewspeaks

    January 12, 2009 at 9:17 am

    GREAT Idea Huck! GOURDS

    I have no idea who these guys are. I found them as part of a blind search for Gourd Birdhouses on Youtube. I kinda dig them.

     
  7. amy

    January 12, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    2 things:

    1st- LOVE the music choice for this post. Although, and please don’t hate me…I prefer the Smashing Pumpkins version

    ….even though Stevie Rocks!!!!

    2nd- The Maven must continue…Do not even play like you may retire the blog! What will all us unfortunate music-less fools do? My knowledge of music comes from AI for God’s sake…I need you!!!!

    Seriously though, you are way too talented of a writer to ever retire the blog. I truly enjoy it.

     
  8. brc

    January 12, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    I agree with Kanniduba that you should just write as often as you feel like it (even if it’s just once a month). And I don’t necessarily think you need to just write about music. Evolution brings change. Possibly Music Maven could morph into something else that’s not just about music (if that’s how you are inclined). I agree with Amy that you are a talented writer. If you chose to write a blog post about the trials and tribulations of the college search or your general feelings about the economy, or whatever… I would read.

    Whatever you decide, I appreciate all of the thought and effort you have put into the blog thus far.

     
  9. JenAdams

    January 12, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Chiming in to agree that I will read whatever you write, MM. I enjoy your writing style, and there have been plenty of fun posts here in the past that didn’t have to do with music.

    I know what you mean though. Sometimes I have a hard time finding inspiration for my blog too. I love food and cooking still, but I just don’t always want to write about it.

    I also think there has been some general blog ennui as of late. I am hoping it is just that everyone was busy and distracted during the holidays and maybe now they will fall back into their blog reading and commenting routines. I know I miss the interactivity.

    Rock on, maven!

     
  10. marymagdalene

    January 13, 2009 at 12:15 am

    MM:
    I DO read everything you write, though I do not always post a comment….
    I stop here EVERY SINGLE DAY, and sometimes even more than once!

    In fact, that will be one of my New Year’s Resolutions:
    I will now try to post SOMETHING about each blog topic…

    Like huckleberry said, if you write about politics, searching for colleges, food, all things Cajun, LSU football…
    I have noticed because of both you & Taylor, I have become interested in College Football…
    Thanks! Even though I am still bored with ALL the Bowl games during the New Year celebrations, I now have teams to root for (LSU, Alabama, Auburn)!

    Whatever it is that you write about, trust me in that it IS food for thought, even if we might not agree on whatever topic it may be…

    You HAVE made me think twice about some things, and made things make more sense to me, but at this particular moment in time, do not ask me what they were, as I do not remember… :-(

     
  11. renae

    January 13, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Come on MM, you have a whole new season of fresh freaks on the horizon (starting tomorrow night!). That’s weeks and weeks worth of material to get you all riled up. ;o)

    Did I tell you I just saw Lindsey recently in Boston? Dude is crazy good. I’ll have to send you my favorite song of his off his new CD.

     
  12. music maven

    January 13, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    Thanks for all of the comments. I seriously was not pulling a “poor me” or trying to get comments. I have just been contemplating why what used to be so easy is now, not.

    However, I’m inherently lazy so I’ve decided I just need to get off my ass.

     
  13. AH

    January 14, 2009 at 11:59 am

    MM . . perhaps it’s just January . not being facetious . I definitely go through a withdrawal / attitude adjustment period every year and know others who do the same.
    A friend once described it as a brief hibernation after the non-stop rush leading up to and through the holidays – – a slow deep breath before jumping into another year.

    You are much too good to worry about having a short dry spell . . doubt any of us would stop checking in for new material if you take breaks when you feel like it.

    As to the number of comments . . some of us may have a “Camelot” model stuck in our heads that was an exception but truly think it is the norm for most blogs to have many more readers than commenters . . just look at “fuel/friends ” for instance. My son has a very good eclectic blog – posts whatever catches his interest – and at first I felt bad that he had few comments . . then he showed me his stats. Now I just enjoy what he puts up and only comment if I actually have something to say.

    And as for reading vs commenting . . what’s that old adage ?
    Stay quiet and let people think you a fool . . or speak and remove all doubt.
    Am mostly kidding . . but think there is an element of truth to it as well. For some of us putting our thoughts in writing is far more of a chore than a pleasure. It’s not our ideas that we aren’t confident of – it’s our ability to express them – so, even though we appreciate and admire the places we visit – we often remain silent.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

