RSS

Clapping As Hard As I Can…

17 Feb

60929lg

Today, the inaugural Taylor Hicks music video premieres. 

Click the picture to view.

 taylor-video

The link takes you to Jake Davis’ blog.  Davis is the director of the video and I must say that I like his style.  He’s managed to capture alot of what I think Taylor Hicks wants to portray.  He creates that “alone” James Dean feel, complete with the overcoat walk in the snow on deserted streets…even the diner scene. 

Photos by Dennis Stock

Photos by Dennis Stock

The video is good.  It’s just the right amount of highlighting the artist, storytelling and showcasing the song.  Well done, Mr. Davis.

I have to say that Taylor has never looked better.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, his new What’s Right Is Right is a pleasant-enough song that seems to be catching on a little with a #25 position on Billboard’s Hot Contemporary Chart.  It also looks like he’s embracing his inner Idol with last weekend’s appearance with the other six idols to christen Disney’s “American Idol Experience”.

theseven1

Taylor’s CD, The Distance, drops March 10th and again, I think we’ll see an Idol appearance around that time.  Could it be that Idol #5 will finally start to gain traction?

Yahoo Premiere of What’s Right Is Right

 
13 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2009 in american idol, new releases, taylor hicks, Videos

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “Clapping As Hard As I Can…

  1. Shrewspeaks

    February 17, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Here let me help you

    I will check out the video tonight…if I have to.

     
  2. music maven

    February 17, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Knick Knack Paddy Whack, honey….

     
  3. colette

    February 17, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Yup, this is a lot closer to who I thought Taylor would become, post-Idol. Song has a sweet hook, very classy video and love that retro-James Dean vibe.
    happy to see my (earlier) faith in the boy justified….

     
  4. huckleberryfriend

    February 17, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Video – Very Good
    Song – Just OK

     
  5. shrewspeaks

    February 17, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    It’s a tad too “up with people” for me.

     
  6. JenAdams

    February 17, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    I really like the video. The song is pleasant but not going to blaze any trails.

    I’m just glad he actually has a video. Should have happened two years ago.

     
  7. ivoryhut

    February 18, 2009 at 8:55 am

    Video no worky for me. Bad, bad browser. Unless it was pulled for some reason?

     
  8. renae

    February 18, 2009 at 8:57 am

    I couldn’t get through the whole video. I really don’t care for the song.

    Yes, he does looks pretty good!

     
  9. thedingoateyobaby

    February 18, 2009 at 9:08 am

    Forget about the song, he looked ridiculously pretty. The song really did nothing for me, too soft, no edge to it but maybe it will do well on the charts. He looks fine and I hope, I really hope that there are other, more gravelly songs on that CD cause I really dont need another doorstop.

     
  10. Shrewspeaks

    February 18, 2009 at 11:50 am

    another door stop…now that made me giggle.

     
  11. itsallgrey

    February 18, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    I’m pleasantly suprised by this video. Still don’t like the song, although I’ll suffer through it to watch Taylor. Hoping that he’ll take this opportunity to reinvent himself and drop the Soul Patrol shtick.

     
  12. Sally

    February 18, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    In an effort to be most unlike my usual wordy self (one of my New Years Resolutions ;-) ), let me say

    Song C+

    Video B+ possibly even an A-

     
  13. Basenji

    February 23, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    It’s been a while since I’ve seen him perform. I had forgotten about all his little mannerisms. He shur be purty. Someone slap me across the face, HARD, NOW.

    Ah better now. Nice video, really well done.

    Back in March to review the rest…

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

