RSS

A Most Excellent Weekend…

26 Apr

Must say that this weekend was superb. 

On Saturday, we headed out on our maiden voyage in our new boat.  Mini-DD and Mr. D fished while I took pictures and listened to my “Boat” playlist CD on the on-board CD player (pretty cool).

img_3989

Mini-DD fishing near Dog River Bridge

 

Mr. D giving instruction

Mr. D giving instruction

 We were on the water early and the scenery was just extraordinary. 

img_3970

img_3967

img_4004

  

 

img_4014

I can get used to this. 

Today, we decided to pick up some steamed seafood from one of the local seafood houses.  It was crabs and crawfish abound….

img_4122

 img_4115

A few days ago, my friend, Pat from Cocoderie (Amy’s Dad) made me aware of an old song from Elvis’ homage to New Orleans’ King Creole.  Knowing that I’m a huge fan of ‘The King’, Pat passed along this song from the movie.

  Crawfish, Elvis Presley

I absolutely love this clip.  The street scene is so vintage New Orleans and that street basically looks the same today. 

Very cool.

I hope you all had as great a weekend as I did.

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “A Most Excellent Weekend…

  1. shrewspeaks

    April 26, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    Ah…yes I did. So glad to see you out on the boat enjoying the precious moments that make this life worth living. Zonked out myself…for I jammed a ton this weekend.

    “Ta!”

     
  2. little Deb

    April 27, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Damn, I’m jealous. I miss being on the water terribly. My Mom and StepDad had a houseboat that they kept in the Florida Keys. We’d head down almost every weekend. Head out into Biscayne National Park and anchor for a few days. Most of the time we never saw another soul. Ahhhh, good times.

    Oh well. We did have a great weekend here in NY. It went up into the 80’s and the sun was shining. I put the bikini on and worked in the yard. Then sat on the beach chair for a little bit – even got tan. When it gets warm and sunny like that, I’m outside early in the morning and I don’t come inside until the sun goes down. With only three or so months of warmth, I gotta store it up for the winter.

    MM, I’d love to hear your Boat playlist. I’ve got a few summer/boating cd’s too.

    When we spent weekends on the houseboat (The Lil’ Darlin – Ron’s name for Mom), every night at sunset, we’d have a cocktail, listen to this song and watch the sun go down (you can do that in the Keys). You can close your eyes, listen to the waves and imagine that your there.

    Leon Russell – Back to the Island

    Wish it wasn’t so early. I could go for a Margarita about now.

     
  3. amy

    April 27, 2009 at 11:46 am

    What a great weekend! Sounds like the kind of therepy needed in my life. Mini DD is such a cutie:)

    Hope this week goes by quickly for you so you can get back to that boat!

     
  4. kanniduba

    April 29, 2009 at 6:59 am

    Love these shots MM! You are definitely a natural. Congrats on the boat!! VERY cool!
    We enjoyed a hot weekend!! No complaints…the kids got to do the first sprinkler run of the season, and we had a cookout with friends. The first cheeseburger, pasta salad and corn on the cob meal of the season is always the best meal of the year!

     
  5. Pat

    April 29, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Glad you enjoyed the “Crawfish” video with the King. Also, I just heard about the boat (here on your blog) and found on picture (Sea Pro) along with the shot of Dave fishing. Nice boat. Use it as ofter as possible; mine are all back over the water and ready to go (finally). Now all I have to do is GO!

    Pat from Cocodrie

     
  6. demonboy

    August 9, 2009 at 3:04 am

    An inspired post, I hope you enjoyed your time aboard your new vessel. What better way to do it than by whiling away the hours fishing? I’ve just been taught how to line fish so I’m catching loads of little tiddlers for my cat, Millie!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

