RSS

Boat Songs

30 Apr

img_3526

A few weeks ago, I shared that we have begun our journey down the road to river living.  There’ll be more enthralling stories to come, but for now we’re enjoying our new toy.  Last weekend was our first real foray into the waters.  Now, I find myself anxious and excited to get to the end of the week for more than the aspect of “getting my drink on”.

In my ‘weekend’ post, I mentioned taking advantage of the boat’s awesome on-board CD player and my Boat playlist.  Little Deb requested to see/hear it and who am I to deny Little Deb.  So, without further adieu….the Music Maven Weekend Out on the Water Thank the Lord for the Weekend Boat Playlist.

Captain Jim’s Drunken Dream, James Taylor

Life is Beautiful, Keb ‘Mo

The Heart of Life, John Mayer

Here Comes the Sun, The Beatles

Luckenbach, Texas, Waylon Jennings

Old Blue Chair, Kenny Chesney

I’ll Follow the Sun, The Beatles

My Father’s Eyes, Eric Clapton

Live and Let Die, Paul McCartney

Free, Donovan Frankenreiter

Sweet Wanomi, Bill Withers

Sea of Heartbreak, George Straight with Jimmy Buffett

The World Ain’t Slowin’ Down, Ellis Paul

You Really Got a Hold on Me, The Beatles (w/ Billy Preston)

She’s Got a Hold on Me, Hacienda

Too Much Stuff, Delbert McClinton

Walkin’ to New Orleans, Fats Domino

Sending Me Angels, Delbert McClinton

Melissa, Allman Brothers

Pirate Looks at 40, Jimmy Buffett

Really, no rhyme nor reason…just various tunes I dig, especially on the water.  Livin’ for Saturday.

Hope you have a great weekend.  I KNOW I will…

img_4042

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Boat Songs

  1. Shrewspeaks

    May 1, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Ahhh….Ellis made the grade….and what’s this? No Tinks? I am shocked, SHOCKED I say.

     
  2. little Deb

    May 1, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Nice mix tape MM. Mine is exclusively about the water.

    Styx – Come Sail Away

    CSN – Southern Cross

    We used to go every year on a friend’s sailboat and cruise the Bahamas. I love to sail, so very peaceful. Back to the music.

    I already shared this one. Leon Russell – Back to the Island

    This was my Mom and Step Dad’s wedding song. I was a notary then and married them on the Lil’ Darlin, out on the bay in Key Largo
    Bertie Higgins – Key Largo

    Styx – Boat on a River

    Nitty Gritty Dirt Band – Fishin’ In The Dark

    My favorite duo of all time. Loggins & Messina – Watching the River Run. BTW, I scored tickets to see them in an open air, on the ocean venue, center stage, orchestra, 10th row for August. I’m pretty damn excited.

    Another L&M from their album Full Sail. You can hear the sailboat noises.
    Sailin’ The Wind

    Another L&M – Lahaina

    Nothing to do with boats or water, but please take a few moments to listen to this masterpiece of instrumentation. I put the headphones on and just get lost.

    L&M – Pathway to Glory

    From my favorite Elton John Album – Madman Across the Water

    Of course Jimmy’s Pirate Looks At Forty is on there. Love love love that one.

    Not the best sound here. But I really love this guy. He was the runner up ion America’s Got Talent.
    Eli Mattson – Blue Ocean

    And lastly, a song that has special meaning for me. About 20 years ago, hubby and I were on another friend’s 40′ sailboat in Bimini. Tom, the captain was in the coast guard and an excellent seaman. We were scheduled to leave early in the morning to sail back to Fort Lauderdale, which should have been a 5 hour trip at most. His elderly parents were on board and wanted to attend a church service that morning. Tom tried to talk them out of it because there was a storm approaching and he wanted to beat it. No luck, they insisted on going, so we left later than he would have liked. We started off with a killer wind and were heeled over and sailing like hell. Then, it hit. The waves were crashing over the bow, the wind was blowing from all directions. It was dark and very cold (it was Superbowl Sunday). We had a 14 foot rubber dinghy strapped down to the bow of the boat. The ropes securing it broke and the dinghy was flapping back and forth and we were afraid it would damage the boat. Hubby attached a life line and went forward to secure the boat. The next horrible thing that happened was the steering cable snapped. The tiller was useless and we were just floundering in the wind and rain. We ripped the master salon apart to find the main steering column. Hubby duct taped a compass to the column and attached a crow bar and he alternated throwing up and steering with the compass. As if things couldn’t get worse, the spreader on the mast broke and the main mast was swaying back and forth like it was going to come loose. At that point I asked Tom if we were going to make it and he answered “I don’t know”. He had the Coast Guard on standby with our approximate position. He was just trying to hold on because if he called them for a rescue, they would have airlifted us off the boat and left it to the forces of nature. It was his home and his livelihood, so I totally understand his thinking. I know for sure that he would have radioed for the rescue if needed. By some miracle of fate, after 10 hours in the storm, we saw the lights of Fort Lauderdale and made it into a marina. We were cold a sick for a week or two and Tom’s boat was trashed. Every cabinet flew open and dishes were shattered and strewn about the cabin. The master salon was ruined because finding the steering column caused a major leak. It took him 2 years to get the boat back in seaworthy condition. The next morning we read in the paper that we had 30 foot seas and sixty knot winds and that 5 boats were lost in the storm, never to be found – we had seen several flares go up around us. Sorry for rambling here. Anyway, the one verse in this song just really hits home for me after that experience.

    Does anyone know where the love of God goes, when the waves turn the minutes to hours……….. We did get over our fear and wound up spending a glorious two weeks on Tom’s boat sailing through the Exuma Islands, and I’ll always love being on the water.

    Gordon Lightfoot – Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald

    Thanks for letting me share my stuff.

     
  3. little Deb

    May 1, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Hey, I posted the links without the embedding. Don’t know how the videos showed up. Sorry MM, if that caused any glitches here.

     
  4. music maven

    May 2, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    That’s some adventure Little Deb. Thanks for sharing that sea tale. Love the playlist, as well. No worries on the links, evidently WordPress is automatically embedding now.

     
  5. markdeclouet

    May 6, 2009 at 7:40 am

    Better have dave put on some serious sunscreen. From one fair-skinned deClouet to another, he will never catch a tan.

    Very jealous of your new river living.

    Enjoy and take care,

     
  6. amy

    May 7, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Might I suggest “Boat Drinks” by Jimmy Buffett, one of my faves:)

     
  7. thedingoateyobaby

    May 8, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Little Deb once told me that she thought I would like a song by Buffett called “A Pirate Looks At 40″. I wasnt a big Buffett fan prior to this but now? Every time I play that tune I think of her. Thanks Deb! You and DD have turned me on to some incredible music and I thank you again.

    Thats quite a boat song list ya got there. Safe and happy trails on that sucker.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

