RSS

“One Small Step…”

20 Jul

moon-walk-49807-sw

40 years ago today, the now infamous Neil Armstrong uttered those famous words and in doing so, declared a de facto victory in the “space race” and fulfilling JFK’s goal of putting a man in space by the end of the decade.

I was nearly five years old when Armstrong took those fateful steps and it is one of my earliest memories.  Oddly, I remember watching it on that big, old console TV with Walter Cronkite commenting.

It was one of those “American” moments where everyone comes together for common support, regardless of affiliation.  Like the 1980 USA Hockey Team vs. USSR and the days after 911, Americans were united in their awe and pride during these sweltering days of July four decades ago.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have such a commonality again, for something so positive? 

There’s just something about that big old light in the sky that inspires, with music being no exception.  Over the years, many a song have been dedicated to the moon and its alluring and romantic qualities.  In honor of the moon and man’s seeming conquering of it 40 years ago, here is Music Maven’s Moon Playlist:

  Fly Me to the Moon, Frank Sinatra

  Paper Moon, Nat King Cole

  Blue Moon of Kentucky, Patsy Cline

  Harvest Moon, Leon Redbone

  Moon River, Audrey Hepburn (“Breakfast @ Tiffany’s”)

  Moondance, covered by Michael Buble’ because Van Morrison is an anti-internet Nazi

  Bad Moon Rising, Creedence Clearwater Revival

  Moonshadow, Cat Stevens

  Yellow Moon, The Neville Brothers

  Shame on the Moon, Bob Seger

  Dancin’ in the Moonlight, King Harvest

  Cajun Moon, Ricky Skaggs

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2009 in on this day, through the years

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to ““One Small Step…”

  1. huckleberryfriend

    July 20, 2009 at 9:48 am

    You’ve got to include the Marcels – my favorite moon song. Love Doo-Wop. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BHzWj2tWXY

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    July 20, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    I am just over the moon about this post. Yuck, yuck, yuck. Some of my favorite songs on this…

    Dancing In the Moonlight…I can just smell the summer air everytime I hear that song. Whenever I am blue I play it to try and lift my spirits.

    Paper Moon…you can’t get smoother than that…Nat King Cole the true race barrier break through star.

    And you can’t get cooler than Moonriver! MAN!

     
  3. music maven

    July 20, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    Yacht Rock, baby. (DitM)

     
  4. colette

    July 20, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    it’s amazing how many great tunes have been written about the moon! great post.

    I was a total hippie at the time of the Neil Armstrong moon walk. I went with my friends up to the top of Mt. Tamalpais, in the Bay Area, and we stared at the moon while hearing the whole thing broadcast on somebody’s transistor radio. It was pure magic….

    here’s one to add: KD Lang and Tony Bennett singing “Moonglow,” from that beautiful album they made together….

     
  5. little Deb

    July 21, 2009 at 9:16 am

    I started a thread on moon music at the boogie board yesterday. Thanks for finding the Leon Redbone song – I couldn’t find that one. I also couldn’t find Rodney Crowell’s version of Shame on the moon (which I love). Even thought it’s not really about the moon, I have to add one of my favorite Elton John songs.

    And a little bit of WTF.

    I was on vacation at the Jersey shore and we were watching it on this crappy little tv in the hotel room.

     
  6. colette

    July 21, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Little Deb! was wondering where you’d gone…

     
  7. little Deb

    July 21, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Hey yourself colette. I was impressed with your restraint at MJ’s regarding a certain review a while back. LOL

     
  8. kanniduba

    July 22, 2009 at 5:40 am

    Another fabulous post by the fabulous Music Maven.
    *bows and chants “I’mnotworthyI’mnotworthy”*

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

