RSS

A Star is Born

22 Mar

astarisborn.jpg

Ok, so here’s the deal. This site is intended to talk music. Various aspects of music, old and new, as well as the music business. It’ll be updated as I have time and inclination. Hope you join me for some music appreciation and introspection and maybe even a few laughs.

To kick things off, let’s take a look at that fantastic Soundtrack “A Star is Born”.

One of the first “musical” movies I ever experienced, A Star is Born, was a diversion during a summer visit to my grandfather and his wife…yes, my step-grandmother. She had grandkids (my step-cousins) who were a little older and a LOT cooler than me. Thankfully, they took me in and treated me kindly. Two of them took me with them to see Streisand and Kristofferson on a HOT summer day in 1976, between our swimming at the local public pool and obscessing over Leif Garrett — hey, I was 12, OK? When we sat in the dark and dank theatre that was roughly 50 years old, complete with broken chair arms and sticky floors, the cool air was a welcomed respite from the humid air of that small South Louisiana town.

Shortly, I was mesmerized by Streisand’s compelling voice and the wonderfully raspy Kris Kristofferson. Rumor has it that he actually worked the oilfield in South Louisiana in the early ’60’s, therefore a sort of “home boy”. The music in this movie is so fitting and so natural that I rarely realized that the story was being played out in song. From Watch Closely Now to the finale of Evergreen, the songs of this movie draw you in and have you rockin’ along.

First, if you haven’t seen this movie, get thy self to Net Flix and order — pronto! You’ll thank the Music Maven, I promise. Second, the soundtrack is still available on iTunes, so check it out. I should mention that most of the songs on this soundtrack were penned by the prolific songwriter, Paul Williams. Shame that most people remember him as “Little Enus”.

Here’s the playlist….

Watch Closely Now

Queen Bee

Everything *

Lost Inside of You

Hellacious Acres*

Evergreen

The Woman in the Moon*

I Believe in Love*

Crippled Crow*

With One More Look at You/Watch Closely Now*

Evergreen Reprise

*denotes Music Maven favorite

Here is the classic, Evergreen….beautifully done sans over production:

Note:  Temporary music files deleted.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2007 in Movie Soundtracks

 

6 responses to “A Star is Born

  1. bamaborntxbred

    March 23, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    Of course I’ve heard Evergreen before…who hasn’t? I’ve never seen the movie…but now I MUST!!! I always forget how compelling Babs is until I see her again.

    And, I freaking LOVE musicals!!

    Wonder if my local B-buster has it. (I don’t have NetFlix or and IPod…sad…)

     
  2. music maven

    March 23, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    Yes, Bama, I’m about 100% sure that Blockbuster will have it. You’ll LOVE this movie….very ’70’s but still very relevant. This is Barbra in her prime.

     
  3. shrewspeaks

    March 26, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    First…Sorry I was late posting…this weekend was a big one for Beau…he has graduated to being “crateless”!

    Babs! My mother is a huge Babs fan. I was trying to get hold of the Judy version and to a point by point analysis of the music from both movies, but some how life got in the way.

    I do find it interesting how broad our music tastes are. The fact that we can appreciate this type of song and performance next to harder core blues etc.

     
  4. music maven

    March 26, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    Kudos to Beau!!! Rosie and Domino are still pissed at me for being gone and I’m gone again.

    Shrew, I’m a big “old movie” buff….However, I almost can’t watch the original Star is Born because of “tragedy”…the newer version is tragic as well, but it’s somehow less painless.

    BTW, my mother thought she was the next Judy Garland in high school, so I’m VERY familiar with Judy….perhaps a little retrospective on Judy should go on the list for Music Maven…

    Yes, music is good when it’s good…no matter the “genre”.

     
  5. Stasigr

    October 29, 2007 at 11:34 am

    Hello, very nice site, keep up good job!
    Admin good, very good.

     
  6. ooopinionsss

    December 3, 2008 at 9:23 am

    How you think when the economic crisis will end? I wish to make statistics of independent opinions!

     

Leave a Reply

 
