RSS

1982

26 Mar

One of the things that you get to do (or eventually have to do) when you move every five to six years, is go through “boxes in the attic”. Recently, after being six months in our new house, it was time to, once again, try to whittle down the accumulated “junk” of over 20 years to be put back in storage for the next move.

After going through the fourth box of my son’s baby spoons, Disney videos and Kindergarten “projects”, I came across an old familiar picture album. Coming apart at the binding from the heat of the attic, the pictures protected, however, by the plastic sheeting of the pages, the album evoked a reflective mood.

Then there she was. Staring back at me, like “Where ya been?” That graduation picture from 1982….25 years ago….I had trouble wrapping my head around THAT!

Young Music Maven

 

Twenty-five years ago, this young girl’s life was all in front of her. When this picture was taken, I was six weeks removed from a very nasty car crash. Thankfully, the 30 or so stitches I took from hitting the windshield (stupidly, no seat belt) of that ’81 Chevy Chevette (a/k/a Piece of Shit) were skillfully applied by a plastic surgeon right above my hairline and didn’t show. After 25 years, that scar is now slightly below my hair line.

 

Sort of a metaphor for the passing of 25 years. The scar on that girl “moved” with the years….through marriage, divorce, re-marriage, professional acclaim, motherhood, loss of grandparents and parents, etc., to finally settle in a place where the scars show a little, but can be appropriately concealed by strategically placed bangs.

 

Pictures certainly evoke memories, but for me this picture pops the music into my head. While 1982 isn’t a year of musical epiphanies, for those that were between the carefree of childhood and the harsh reality of adulthood there was bell weather music. Here’s to the silver anniversary of adulthood…let’s hope that in 25 more years, that scar’s not in the middle of my forehead.

J. Geils Band’s Freeze Frame – Our Senior Anthem and a Class Trip favorite….over and over and over.

On that Senior trip to Destin, FL, when Destin was still just a quaint fishing village, I watched MTV for the first time (hey, we didn’t even have cable…) I was a HUGE Men at Work fan and was totally hooked on this video and I thought Colin Hay was totally hawt. Who Can it Be Now?

Dazz Band Let it Whip – Many, many a Friday night dance….

Pat Benatar Love is a Battlefield — ok, I REALLY wanted to be Pat Benatar.

Here’s a bonus Pat Benatar – Hell is For ChildrenPat RAWKS!

 

The original girl band (and prolly the best) — The Go Go’s – We Got the Beat

 

Hugely into Jackson Browne — Somebody’s Baby

 

Dr. Rick on General Hospital, Rick Springfield (who I thought was MEGA-HAWT in ’82) Don’t Talk to Strangers

The most popular phone number in 1982, 867-5309 by Tommy Tutone

The great Hall & Oates with Maneater

I should warn you all that I’m a HUGE Steve Miller Band fan….you’ll likely see alot more of SMB…..This is Abracadabra (or is it a strange morph of Turn Your Love Around?)

Wouldn’t be complete without Journey — Open Arms.…sidenote, our class song was Don’t Stop Believin’ (buncha pot heads…)

No explanation needed….John “Cougar” Mellencamp’s Jack & Diane

The great Stevie Nicks and Leather & Lace (still one of my all time favorites….lurve the raspy voice).

The Solid Gold Dancers, finally, y’all showed up….George Benson and Turn Your Love Around on Solid Gold.

The incomparable Willie Nelson and Always on My Mind…ok, Willie in a “wifebeater” is just not right.

Sir Paul and the King of All, Sir Duke in Ebony & Ivory…POPALICIOUS!

and finally, the number ONE song of 1982…..Rosanna by Toto

 

GEAUX SPARTANS!

Note: Temporary music files deleted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2007 in that's life, through the years

 

14 responses to “1982

  1. pistolpete

    March 26, 2007 at 7:39 am

    I graduated in 1982 as well. Your walk down musical memory lane took me back. Has it really been 25 years?

     
  2. music maven

    March 26, 2007 at 7:57 am

    Yes, time has flown. Seems like yesterday I was watching Larry Bird and Michael Jordan in the final four. heh.

    Pistol Pete….interesting. GEAUX TIGERS!?!

     
  3. lauri j

    March 26, 2007 at 9:22 am

    I still love “Don’t Talk to Strangers” and Rick Springfield is back on General Hospital – still a hot Noah Drake – even with his new handsome son Patrick Drake. Great casting. I like Rick’s newer music too but that song is timeless!

     
  4. music maven

    March 26, 2007 at 9:27 am

    lauri j….it does seem that what goes around comes around. Haven’t heard Rick’s new stuff but will have to investigate.

     
  5. shrewspeaks

    March 27, 2007 at 12:22 am

    Argh Rosanna…please I had finally blocked that one from my mind.

    1982 was the year I discovered that I liked some harder country…

    Eddie Rabbit

    JUICE

    NEW Wave
    Wild

    the quality of this cracks me up

    And this guy

    I would spend hours plugged into my record player. I was the only middle school kid in my neighborhood with a musical fasination that ran that deep. I was 13 for most of that year, yet when I visited friends houses I was the creepy kid talking with the parents about their record collections and who they saw in concert.

    1982 was also the first time I saw Woodstock the movie. This is a huge thing…for it was the first time I saw Joe Cocker, Richie Havens and Sly and The Family Stone. BLEW ME AWAY and changed my musical life!

     
  6. shrewspeaks

    March 27, 2007 at 12:23 am

    Blast…lost my post! I will have to do it tonight!

     
  7. shrewspeaks

    March 27, 2007 at 1:22 am

     
  8. jenfera

    March 27, 2007 at 1:36 am

    All I can think of when I hear Freeze Frame is roller skating in my parents’ basement. In fact, I am sure I probably roller skated to most of the songs on this list at one time or another.

    Love the blog, mm. The little smiley at the bottom is particularly comforting. 🙂

     
  9. shrewspeaks

    March 27, 2007 at 2:28 am

    1982 – I discovered that Country Music could be cool…a big deal for a girl from NJ

    Rainy Night – great live!

    Juice

    That gritty could be great…
    Romeo Void

    That Smooth was sweet…
    Leader of The Band

    That Steve Winwood is truly brilliant…
    While You See a Chance

    Continued in next post…

     
  10. shrewspeaks

    March 27, 2007 at 2:29 am

    But beyond all of these timely references…the summer of 1982 I was 13. I was obsessed with the sixties and I finally saw Woodstock the movie.

    I saw beyond Wavy Gravy yelling “There’s some bad acid goin’ round” right to the music…these three changed the way I heard music for the rest of my life.

    Richie Havens

    Sly

    Joe

    1982…musically a big year for me. That was the year I became one of “those kids” that would raid my friends parents record collections. I remember being at a slumber party and staying up late talking music with my friends mother about the concerts she went to…she played for me Aretha, Nina Simone, Santana and many, many others. I still remember, Bethany, my friend coming in from the den where all the “normal” little girls yelling at her mom that her music was too loud. I was ostracized by that crew of girls the rest of that year. Did I regret it? Not one bit! I don’t know where Mrs. Dressler is today, but I must say what a cool, cool lady.”

     
  11. music maven

    March 27, 2007 at 5:17 am

    Shrew — Eddie Rabbit…yep, yep…remember him well.

    Dan Fogelberg and Steve Winwood were two others that my bro turned me onto. I loved Fogelberg’s stuff and Leader of the Band was a favorite. I also like Another Auld Lang Syne and Beggar’s Game — brilliant.

    Winwood and Arc of a Diver is one of those just “Wow” albums. Bunches of good stuff: Secondhand Woman, Slowdown Sundown, Dust.

    Isn’t it wonderful to have a Music Maven? I had several that introduced me to different types of music, but that’s a different post for another day.

     
  12. nolagirl

    March 28, 2007 at 8:30 am

    Looking very forward to hearing about your “music mavens,” Music Maven. 😉

     
  13. Shelley

    March 28, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    Freeze Frame was amazing…as was We Got the Beat…and everybody knew Jenny’s number…but the best (which was made new again by Sugar Ray and still holds a candle to much of the songs out there today, IMO) is Abracadabra.

    Great share, DD.

     
  14. leejolem

    March 31, 2007 at 9:29 am

    MM/dd, My boyfriend (now DH) at the time loved Pat Benatar, and I was so jealous of her. I thought she was soooo hard rock. I was very clean cut and goody two shoes. I was more of an Amy Grant/Barry Manilow/Dan Fogleberg/Commodores type girl. He actually got me into Pat B. It’s funny because my husband’s musical tasts have so influenced our daughters’. They love Pat B, Meatloaf, Blondie, Fleetwood Mac. The Commode-doors (as dh calls them)–not so much.

     

Leave a Reply

 
