RSS

Taylor Time

03 Apr

Once again time for our weekly feature of Taylor Hicks music.

whatthe.jpg

Somehow

 

Finally, Somehow makes an appearance on the tour. In Boston, at the Avalon, Taylor Hicks performed the song that he wrote over 10 years ago that is arguably his best. This song is hauntingly beautiful and has true depth. Lyrically, this song is so appropriate and fitting to all those performances in dives with ten people, making enough to maybe pay the bar tab. Fitting in that the song is so true and believable for this young man and sung with so much feeling and emotion, that you know it’s real.

Quite possibly my favorite of all of Taylor’s music. I’ve wondered for a long time as to exactly what this song means to him. I think it talks to the loneliness and solitary nature of the road and fighting to be heard and accepted. I think it also illuminates the nature of the sometimes one-sidedness of the artist giving and the audience taking without giving back. While Taylor gets a lot back from audiences now a days, perhaps he’s also having to give more to get it. Such a sad and melancholy song. I sincerely hope that this isn’t how Taylor is feeling these days, but more that he wanted to keep the surprises for the tour “fresh”. Regardless, sure wish I would’ve been in Beantown to hear it tonight.

Could this have been a cryptic nod to a dedicated blogmeister?

There’s too many things
left to be unsaid
some live in a dark hole
sometimes in my head

but I’m all right
I’ll get by
somehow

you want to feel their emotion
sometimes even hold their hand
but they’re giving nothing in return
to suit their own demands

but I’m tired
and I’ll get by
somehow

look at the people around you
stabbing at your heart
but you still smile in kindness
for not knowing who they are

and their stories have ended
and they’ve lit up the town
and it’s time to go home
as they go and lay their bodies back down

you want to feel their emotion
sometimes even hold their hand
but they’re giving nothing in return
to suit their own demands

but I’m tired
and I’ll get by
somehow

look at the people around you
stabbing at your heart
but you still smile in kindness
for not knowing who they are

and their stories have ended
and they’ve lit up the town
and it’s time to go home
as they go and lay their bodies back down

there’s too many things
left to be unsaid
so I live in a dark hole
sometimes in my head

but I’m all right
I’ll get by
somehow

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2007 in Taylor, taylor hicks

 

11 responses to “Taylor Time

  1. Hickstyeria

    April 4, 2007 at 1:56 am

    I love that photo of Taylor – there’s so much energy to it, he’s so ‘electric’ and so amazingly photogenic.

    I’m very fond of ‘Somehow’. Love that and ‘Son of A Carpenter’ – ‘I can feel your pain, yeah’. Would love to hear him sing both live.

    If this is what he can write in his ’20s, what’s he going to show us when he’s in his ’40s with more life experience under his belt?

     
  2. music maven

    April 4, 2007 at 6:49 am

    Yes, I quite like this photo as well. It illustrates him well. I’m very anxious to see/hear if Taylor really has some gems “in the vault” that he’s been deferring to a later date. I hope so.

     
  3. Little Deb

    April 4, 2007 at 7:00 am

    Very cool way to start the day. I have never heard this song (can’t get the stuff on GC to play for me). So I wake up and read that he sang it last night and decide to visit here to see if I can find it somewhere and there it is. Then I start to listen and think “I wish I could find the lyrics somewhere since I’m really into knowing lyrics” and scroll down and there they are. Thank you Maven, you read my mind this morning.

    Somehow is a beautiful song. I love the lyrics and I love the sound of his voice on this one. I can only hope Taylor sings this when I see him in NY this weekend.

     
  4. shrewspeaks

    April 4, 2007 at 11:03 am

    I wonder why it took until Boston for Taylor to sing this on his tour? And if he is playing with it for CD 2?

     
  5. leejolem

    April 4, 2007 at 11:15 am

    I agree with you DD–I hope he sang Somehow because he wants to keep the tour fresh, and not because it reflects how he’s feeling now with his relatively new found fame. I’ve always wondered if these lyrics– “You want to feel their emotion. Sometimes even hold their hand, but they’re giving nothing in return to suit their own demands” were referring to a single individual or possibly an audience/crowd.

    The pic is breathtaking. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that he sings Somehow or The Fall in Columbus, OH.

     
  6. Little Deb

    April 4, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Hey Maven. Is there a way to contact you/e-mail you on here? I have a question.

     
  7. nolagirl

    April 4, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Wow, I hadn’t read that he had done “Somehow.” Well, at least we know it IS possible that he’ll do it live – that’s a good sign for the rest of us that may see him again live one day.

    I like your tin foil approach with regard to the “blogmeister” — VERY interesting, Tin Foil Hat Lady!

    It was nice hearing the song tonight. I haven’t had my CD with it on it in rotation in a loooong time. I missed the song, believe it or not!

     
  8. shrewspeaks

    April 5, 2007 at 10:42 am

    You know…I have been listening and re-reading the lyrics since you posted this. This song is just simply put superior to some of the more banal offerings on the current CD. However, this with The Right Place and the unreleased (and unheard by me, talk about musical faith) John Mayer collaboration make sense to me as a vision/direction of where I hope he is going.

    Yet, where does music like this fit in the “modern whomp” classification…or was that classification (as I suspect) a marketing ploy gone wrong. *steps away from dead equine*

     
  9. jenfera

    April 5, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    Way back when I delurked over at Shelley’s, it was during the lyrics vs. melody discussion. I love Somehow, but I never really paid attention to the lyrics. Thanks for posting them here, DD; I am glad to finally really “hear” them and think about it. Because, if I’m being honest, on some of his other originals, I have not been blown away by his lyrics. I love the music to Hell of a Day, Soul Thing, and Heart & Soul but a lot of the words seem cliched and unoriginal. This one is really poignant.

     
  10. nolagirl

    April 5, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    Modern Whomp? Huh, never heard of it. 😉

    Shrew, what is this you speak of???

    Ditto on the JM collab — I can’t even imagine where those two would go with a song. Mmm, mmm good.

     
  11. My Kids Planet

    August 16, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.

     

Leave a Reply

 
