RSS

Please Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood….

17 Apr

Take from it what you will….

Check out more of ysabellabrave at YouTube.com via Rick’s recommendation.

Or, you might like “The Animals” better….

Baby, do you understand me now
Sometimes I feel a little mad
But don’t you know that no one alive
Can always be an angel
When things go wrong I seem to be bad
But I’m just a soul whose intentions are good
Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood

Baby, sometimes I’m so carefree
With a joy that’s hard to hide
And sometimes it seems that all I have do is worry
Then you’re bound to see my other side
But I’m just a soul whose intentions are good
Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood


If I seem edgy I want you to know
That I never mean to take it out on you
Life has it’s problems and I get my share
And that’s one thing I never meant to do
Because I love you
Oh, Oh baby don’t you know I’m human
Have thoughts like any other one
Sometimes I find myself long regretting
Some foolish thing some little simple thing I’ve done
But I’m just a soul whose intentions are good
Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood
Yes, I’m just a soul whose intentions are good
Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood
Yes, I’m just a soul whose intentions are good
Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood

 
42 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

42 responses to “Please Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood….

  1. Rich

    April 18, 2007 at 6:03 am

    Most of us remember the Animals’ version of this song, but Ysabellabrave’s version is actually based on the original version by Nina Simone (1964). I couldn’t find Simone’s version so if someone finds it, please post a link.

    Ysabellabrave (Maryanne) tried out for Idol 6 and was rejected at initial song. Good voice but not what they were looking for. If the final 10 were what they were looking for, I understand – she can actually carry a tune and communicate the meaning of a song.

    There’s not a lot known about her but the best interview I have seen is Ysabellabrave Talks back http://indiemusicman.blogspot.com/2007/03/ysabellabrave-talks-back.html

    Thanks Double D for sharing Ysabellabrave with your readers. I love her singing for the same reason I love Taylor’s – passion and the ability to communicate the meaning of a song.

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    April 18, 2007 at 8:24 am

    Your post has made me think of this Ray Lamontagne song How Come

    People on the street now
    Faces long and grim
    Souls are feeling heavy
    And faith is growing thin
    Fears are getting stronger
    You can Feel them on the rise
    Hopelessness got some by the throat you can see it in their eyes
    I said how come
    How come
    Everybody on a shoestring
    Everybody in a hole
    Everybody crossing their fingers and toes
    Government man spin his politics till he got you pinned
    Everybody trying to reach out to each other
    But they don’t know where to begin
    I said how come
    I can’t tell
    the free world
    from living hell
    I said how come
    How come
    all I see
    is a child of god
    in misery
    I said how come the pistol now as profit
    The bullet some kind of lord and king
    But pain is the only promise that this so called savior is going to bring
    Love can be a liar
    And justice can be a thief
    And freedom can be an empty cup from which everybody want to drink
    I said how come
    I can’t tell
    the free world
    from living hell
    I said how come
    How come
    all i see
    is a child of god
    in misery
    I said how come
    Its just man killing man
    Killing man
    Killing man
    Killing man
    Killing man
    I don’t understand
    Its just man killing man

     
  3. music maven

    April 18, 2007 at 9:07 am

    Rich — Thanks for the link for ysabellabrave.

    Folks, check out some of her other stuff. I really like her “animation” and her changing hair….HA!

    Shrew…Viva Tinkerbell, baby!

     
  4. texastaylorfan

    April 18, 2007 at 10:06 am

    Hi Deb,

    Since you’re my music blog now, I was wondering if you minded if I posted this here.

    Remember Pandora radio that GC introduced us to? I really like it, and have discovered new artists that I like through listening to it.

    They sent out an email and need help from their listeners. Congress is about to raise the fee for internet radio to a ridiculously high level, according to Pandora. The email is interesting, I encourage everyone to read it. If you want to help in their petition drive, it couldn’t be easier. You just fill in a little info on the side and they send the letter already written (but you can edit it if you want) to your Congressmen. You don’t have to know who they are, it knows from your info.
    Here’s the link if anyone is interested.

    http://capwiz.com/saveinternetradio/issues/alert/?alertid=9631541

    Hope this isn’t too political, but it is about internet radio, which I think a lot of us enjoy. Thanks!

     
  5. music maven

    April 18, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    TTF — Wrong D, babe. That would be Debs. She comes around here every so often and posts over at the Monkbot, I believe (e-maginery). You might be able to catch her there and I’m sure she’s “on it”.

     
  6. texastaylorfan

    April 18, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    DoubleD – I didn’t mean Deb. I know you’re not Deb, don’t know why I typed that. I know Deb’s a different D 🙂 YOU, DoubleD, are my new music blog.

     
  7. Little Deb

    April 18, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    This probably doesn’t fit here, but for some reason the song above lead me down a music trail to this one. It is, after all, a wild world.

     
  8. Little Deb

    April 18, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    And this song is how I deal with being “misunderstood”

     
  9. brc

    April 18, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    dd/mm… I’m not seeing any of the links here, just text. Any suggestions?

     
  10. music maven

    April 18, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    brc… I dunno. i see the links. The look a lighter grey….

    Little deb…

    BRILLIANT. I lurve Harry Nilsson and it’s VERY appropriate.

     
  11. Hickstyeria

    April 18, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    I love Harry too and this ranks as one of my all-time favourites EVER.

     
  12. Little Deb

    April 19, 2007 at 6:37 am

    Since I can’t seem to warm up on Long Island, here’s a song for the day (yes, I’m old)

     
  13. Little Deb

    April 19, 2007 at 6:42 am

    One more “old” warm up song. Bring on spring please.

     
  14. Dingo

    April 19, 2007 at 8:28 am

    About 10 months ago I rediscovered Eric Burdon and since then I think I have downloaded anything he ever did. When I was about 15 years old I had a thing for him and of course, The Animals” then he went on his own with War and did Spill The Wine and I remained a huge fan and then real life kicked in and I forgot all about him. Until recently. Thats the voice Im looking for. Its the quality I adore. The gravelly, smoky, raspy voice of a Burdon or a Van. To each his own but for some reason Im very attracted to that kind of a voice.

     
  15. Little Deb

    April 19, 2007 at 8:38 am

    Wow Dingo. Thanks for the music lesson of the day (for me). I had no idea that it was Eric Burdon that did “Spill the Wine”. And I also love the “raspy voice” in both male and female singers. Remember this one?

     
  16. Dingo

    April 19, 2007 at 8:43 am

    Little Deb, Bonnie Tyler is great isnt she? Thanks for that video. Yep, thats what Im looking for. Whether they be male or female its that quality that always makes me pause and listen. It cuts straight to the heart. There was also Tom Jones who many dont realize was really a fabulous singer and I have listened to his duet with Van Morrison “Sometimes We Cry” oh hundreds of times. It doesnt get any better than that. But you already knew that.Great to see you Debbi. Hope all is well.

     
  17. Little Deb

    April 19, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Yep, I am a Tom Jones fan too. I never quite got the “throw your panties on the stage” thing with him, but liked his singing style.

    On another note, a good “music” friend recently told me about a site that you might enjoy. It’s called wolfgang’s vault and has a bunch of amazing concert recordings on it. Check it out.

    http://www.wolfgangsvault.com/Home.aspx?ef_id=1355:3:3c8f163b6ed50d275ae6a4c1d0075c04_512352375:QATsP9B6B2YAAA3DhhkAAAAK:20070415114349

     
  18. music maven

    April 19, 2007 at 9:28 am

    Good stuff, guys. Does anyone know whatever happened to Seals & Crofts? (Somebody do a little research.)

    Oh, and wasn’t it Bonnie Tyler who had The Worst Music Video EVER?

    Has anybody, besides Rich, explored any more of ysabellabrave on YouTube? Some of her stuff is really good.

     
  19. Dingo

    April 19, 2007 at 9:51 am

    LOLOL at the worst video. Oh ya gotta love the 80’s dontchya.

    Debbi, I love that site and someone gave me that URL a few months ago and I had it bookmarked on my old computer (which, sadly, died yesterday so now Im on my brand new spanking new one). Thanks for reminding me.

    Ysabellabrave, I will check it out.

     
  20. shrewspeaks

    April 19, 2007 at 10:24 am

    Folks the talented and harmonious Seals and Croft are still around with a release as late as 2004. Unfortunately, “Traces” is just what the title implies a tracing of their past hits. No reunioun is slated.

     
  21. Dingo

    April 19, 2007 at 10:27 am

    OK, I’ll say it. I never liked Seals and Croft. Maybe I would like some of their more obscure stuff but I never did like the hits. I was never crazy about The Doobies either. What the hells WRONG with me?!

     
  22. music maven

    April 19, 2007 at 10:38 am

    Maybe that was your “Blue” period, Dingo.

    See for me, I’m that way about Chicago….meh.

     
  23. Dingo

    April 19, 2007 at 10:57 am

    Well, I never thought of it that way but you may be right. I wasnt all that happy back then. Could be, and as for Chicago, same here. I never got it I guess. If it WAS my “blue period” DD, it lasted a longggggg time. Up until 1997 lol.

    OK kids, I have to run now. Be safe and have a good one.

     
  24. shrewspeaks

    April 19, 2007 at 10:57 am

    Dingo you’re just not about the beards and harmony. It’s cool.

    I think Summer Breeze is one of those perfect albums that deserves to be listened to from begining to end…not just for the obvious hit, but for more offbeat chocies like Hummingbird, East of the Ginger Trees and Funny Little Man. When i listen to this album (yes, I must call it by the vinyl version) I am transported back to my youth and a hot summer, sitting on a porch with the fan plugged in and humming in the background. I just sat there in the heat absorbed by the notes. My white gauzy shirt sticking to me, the rustle of hot wind through the trees, and the heady smell peonies wafting from the backyard. I remember seeing the album cover a few years ago when I was cleaning…there was a fudgsicle smear over Crofts profile from that hot summer day.

     
  25. Little Deb

    April 19, 2007 at 11:01 am

    Anyone remember Jimmy’s brother Dan? “I’d really love to see you tonight” “Nights are Forever Without You” “Everything That Glitters”.

    http://www.marstalent.com/bio_seals_brothers.htm

    Oh, and I happen to really like Chicago and the Doobies. But actually I think my “like” is more for the “memories and nostalgia” factor than anything else. After all, “Colour My World” was very romantic, wasn’t it?

     
  26. music maven

    April 19, 2007 at 11:15 am

    Wasn’t that England Dan and John Ford Coley? Wow….that’s going WAY back…BB Jeans, white belts and Hirachis just flashed through my mind.

    I don’t know how I forgot that “Colour My World” was by Chicago as it is one of my Top 10 FAVORITES! Alot about songs, for me, are the memories they invoke. Colour My World was THE song of the summer of 1971 and I was 7. I remember it so vividly. It was one of the first songs that “moved” me, as Dingo is fond of saying. No fudgicle smudges for remembering BUT it IS one of those “date stamp” songs for me….you know, you hear it and big date stamp marks your memory and it pops to your current consciousness.

    Thanks for reminding me of that, LD. I guess I was more thinking of “Saturday”, in all its “pop”aliciousness.

     
  27. Little Deb

    April 19, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    MM I think that most music for me is memories. Or, I use lyrics to say what I want to say (sort of), Thanks for providing a place for me to do so.

     
  28. Sideways

    April 19, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    Shrewspeaks,
    Lovely post.

    music maven says “a lot about the songs, for me, are the memories they invoke.”

    Peace Train by Cat Stevens, The Pretender by Jackson Browne, Poetry Man by Phoebe Snow, Janis Ian’s At Seventeen…….college years,
    my first love and I driving the Pacific Coast Highway just north of Santa Barbara, windows down, beautiful sunny day. I can feel the warm breeze on my face as I’m typing this.

    Around the same time, Saturday Night Fever came out and my disco days started, well sort of.

     
  29. Sideways

    April 19, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    musicmaven, you mention hirachis.
    I had those.
    Do any of remember Famolares? The shoes with the curvy rubber sole?

     
  30. Sideways

    April 19, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    Guess I can’t edit here.

    a you goes in between the of and remember.

     
  31. ivoryhut

    April 19, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Now, any mention of songs evoking memories instantly puts the song “Memories” in my head. And I don’t mean the one that lights the corners of my mind. I mean the one by the Temptations that makes me wind like a spiral stair through time.

    Something about that song just makes me all gooey and nostalgic.

    And because the memories involve being back home, where everyday is a summer day, I hope that means I’m kinda on topic, yes?

     
  32. music maven

    April 19, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    Sideways — I had to look these up. Likely a “northern” thing as I don’t recall these down South.

    Ivoryhut — Glad you’re here. You’re right on the Memories and don’t worry about off topic. If it’s music related, you’re always on topic here.

     
  33. Dingo

    April 19, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    shrewspeaks Says:
    April 19th, 2007 at 10:57 am
    Dingo you’re just not about the beards and harmony. It’s cool.
    ————-

    Well can you please tell me what I AM about cause I dont know except that I like to cry lol. Patty Griffin’s “When It Dont Come Easy” is a crying song so I play it a lot.

    I like beards, I dont love them….oh hell. I hate them.

     
  34. Little Deb

    April 19, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    O.K. I’m old. I was wearing my Dr. Scholls and listening to this.

     
  35. Dingo

    April 19, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    Ew
    Ew
    Ew

    I HATE that song Little Deb. Cut that out!

     
  36. Little Deb

    April 19, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Dingo, I’m probably going to piss you off with this one too. But in my opinion, there is no one to compare (and it is about memories – right?).

     
  37. Dingo

    April 19, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    Debbi, I was never a Streisand fanatic and I have said this many times in the past. There are about 4 whoa moments in my musical life when I stopped what I was doing and I listened intently. She was one of the first. I remember her on the old Judy Garland show, she was an unknown then but the voice. My God it stopped me in my tracks. I was maybe 10 years old.

    So even though I dont particularily like her, I understand what a brilliant talent she is. There will be no debating of that. I dont even have to say IMHO because thats just a fact. Its a beautiful song and I think you may be even sappier than me. Thats going some lol.

     
  38. music maven

    April 19, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    If you’ll backtrack to the original post that opens this blog, you’ll find some Barbra love.

     
  39. shrewspeaks

    April 19, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    But Little Deb used the double wammy…Babs and my man Cavett

    Talk about a 70’s flash…

     
  40. Rich

    April 20, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    Thanks for trying DoubleD but doesn’t look like anyone else here has become a Ysabellabrave fan. One last try http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjEQacZJUZM

     
  41. Francine

    September 7, 2007 at 5:15 am

    She is so misunderstood I see her as a mental case 😦

     
  42. Francine

    September 7, 2007 at 5:31 am

    All of her fans are imaginary at the yahoo office.

     

Leave a Reply

 
