RSS

Belief?

22 Apr

I like John Mayer. I think that he’s a really good songwriter and I have thoroughly enjoyed Continuum. So, I picked one of my favorites from the CD to put out here and get your opinion as to what the song means. I know….everyone wants to say it’s about the Iraq war, but I think it goes further than that. I know it has a bit of a different message for me. Here’s a very nice acoustical version of Belief and the lyrics follow — give me your interpretation of what John’s trying to convey by this song or what it means for you.

Also, if you haven’t checked out John Mayer’s Blog….please do so here. If you scroll down a bit, there’s a very interesting Q&A from a fan that won an “interview”. Interesting concept. Mr. Mayer is an “out-of-the-box” thinker and basically, a totally funny dude. But, Jessica Simpson?

Is there anyone who ever remembers
changing their mind from the paint on a sign?,
is there anyone who really recalls
ever breaking rank at all
for something someone yelled real loud one time?
oh, everyone believes
in how they think it oughta be
oh, everyone believes
and they’re not going easily

belief is a beautiful armor
but makes for the heaviest sword
like punching underwater
you never can hit who you’re trying for
some lead the exhibition
and some have to know they tried
it’s the chemical weapon
for the war that’s raging on inside
oh, everyone believes
from emptiness to everything
oh, everyone believes
and no one’s going quietly

we’re never gonna win the world
we’re never gonna stop the war
we’re never gonna beat this
if belief is what we’re fighting for

we’re never gonna win the world
we’re never gonna stop the war
we’re never gonna beat this
if belief is what we’re fighting for

is there anyone you can remember
ever surrender with their life on the line?

we’re never gonna win the world
we’re never gonna stop the war
we’re never gonna beat this
if belief is what we’re fighting for

we’re never gonna win the world
we’re never gonna stop the war
we’re never gonna beat this
if belief is what we’re fighting for

what puts a hundred thousand children in the sand?
belief can, belief can
what puts a folded flag inside his mother’s hand?
belief can, belief can

ETA: The Heart of Life is Good

I have to find out who John’s guitar player is…..I lurve him.

I hate to see you cry
Laying there in that position
There’s things you need to hear
So turn off your tears and listen

Pain throws you heart to the ground
Love turns the whole thing around
No, it won’t all go the way, it should
But I know the heart of life is good

You know it’s nothing new
Bad news never had good timing
But then the circle of your friends
Will defend the silver lining

Pain throws your heart to the ground
Love turns the whole thing around
No, it won’t all go the way, it should
But I know the heart of life is good

Pain throws your heart to the ground
Love turns the whole thing around
Fear is a friend who’s misunderstood
But I know the heart of life is good

I know it’s good

 
54 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2007 in John Mayer, Music Today

 

54 responses to “Belief?

  1. brc

    April 22, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    dd/mm I have only recently become familiar with John Mayer (and no I really haven’t been hiding in a cave in case any of you were wondering). So far I like what I’ve heard. I love the song “Gravity” but hadn’t heard this one before. You asked for our interpretation of the song (can I preface this by saying I never really did well in English class when the teacher asked us to interpret poetry)…

    When I listened to the song and read the lyrics the main thing that came to mind for me was religion. In particular, the line “belief is a beautiful armor but makes for the heaviest sword” stuck with me. It is truly shocking the atrocities that have come to pass (and still do) in the name of religion.

    Maybe he’s even just talking about close-mindedness in a broader sense? That people are unwilling to listen to or entertain the ideas and thoughts of those who don’t have the same opinion/belief as they do. Worse yet, those of differing opinions/beliefs are vilified and wars begin. And if we can’t find a way to open hearts and minds, peace will continue to be elusive.

    Well there, I said it. I gave it a shot. Feel free to agree or disagree with my interpretation. I look forward to reading yours. And I’d be interested to see if John Mayer has offered up any insight into what he had in mind when he wrote it.

    BTW… his blog looks really interesting. And thanks for making me use my brain today for something other than how to make PB&J for lunch when I was out of bread (I used hamburger buns!)

     
  2. Squeebee

    April 22, 2007 at 11:28 pm

    Interesting topic, Double to da D. It reminds me a bit of an earlier post of yours about the Amos Lee interviews. In one of the clips he was talking about how his song “Freedom” didn’t have some huge global theme, but was really just about two kids punching each other in the stomach. I think it is common for artists’ songs to be shaped into the “poster song” for a group’s cause of choice.

    To me, this song is about beliefs in the broadest sense, just like John said. Political, religious, whatever. I like the first bit where it says,

    ” Is there anyone who ever remembers
    changing their mind from the paint on a sign?,
    is there anyone who really recalls
    ever breaking rank at all
    for something someone yelled real loud one time?”

    I often wonder how many people’s views are actually changed due to public protests. I wonder how easily one’s main framework of belief can be changed. I know in my own experience, it takes a long, long, time and much research in order to change my mind on basic beliefs. A change in belief is not something that can be forced upon a person or a group.

    So my though on what Mayer is trying to say with this song is this: If we start conflicts (of any sort) in order to impose our beliefs on a person or group, it will be in vain. If, however, we try to ensure basic human rights, rather than impose a belief system, we will hopefully be more successful.

     
  3. shrewspeaks

    April 22, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    Belief…no matter how strong…may not ever be the truth. How aweful to move hundreds or thousands of souls based on a belief that is not rooted in the truth.

    Funny thing is…it is so easy to cultivate a belief yet so hard to find the truth.

     
  4. music maven

    April 23, 2007 at 7:00 am

    brc — John talks a little about his thoughts on “Belief” at the intro of this video. While it’s not much, I think he’s saying this is a much broader message than just one of war.

    I have some thoughts but want to hear everyone else’s.

    Squee — I have to say that the opening lines provided me with a “lightbulb” moment.

     
  5. Dingo

    April 23, 2007 at 8:10 am

    First of all I LURVE Mayer and I think my fav tune off the album if “Gonna Find Another You”. OMG I love everything about him.

    On to the topic. No, I have never changed my mind based on a song. I was born into a Union loving, tree hugging, liberal family. I got most of my values right there and if anything, they got stronger as I got older.

    If you believe it….its the truth.

    >>>f we start conflicts (of any sort) in order to impose our beliefs on a person or group, it will be in vain. If, however, we try to ensure basic human rights, rather than impose a belief system, we will hopefully be more successful.>>

    Squee, holy cow that was beautiful.

    Um, now is as good a time as any to admit that my computer crashed and burned a few days back. I lost everything, all my vids and all my songs cause Im a dope but thats another story.

    My point is that the very first song I re-downloaded was…..gawd help me…..SEXYBACK by Timberlake.

     
  6. shrewspeaks

    April 23, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    Dingo…
    1. So sorry about the ‘puter…buy an external hard drive and back up at the very least every month Gal so you won’t have to be forced to give Timberlake any more risdual rights than he deserves 😉
    2. “If you believe it….its the truth.” I am struck by this statement. So, if someone believes fully in something than it is truth? I am not buying that…It is still just a belief. So much is misconstrued between belief and truth.

     
  7. Dingo

    April 23, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    I am struck by this statement. So, if someone believes fully in something than it is truth?
    ——————

    Shrew, I think its the truth to whom ever believes it. Maybe I dont believe it but if they do then to them its true. A woman who has anorexia nervosa looks in the mirror. She weighs 75 lbs but to her, in her eyes, she is fat. The truth is that she is morbidly and rail thin but to her the truth is that she is fat and overweight.

    Religious beliefs are the toughest cause you really cant prove anything. its a belief and if you believe that God had a Son named Jesus then its true. First you must believe that there is a God. You see what Im saying?

    I may not believe in a God.
    You may believe in a God.

    Neither can prove it. Its based on belief. Does that make sense?

     
  8. brc

    April 23, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    DoubleD I guess I didn’t interpret his statement at the beginning of the video as meaning that it specifically wasn’t about war, nor was I necessarily indicating that I thought it was. I thought his intro was just saying he wrote the song from a “macro” perspective.

    I guess I was thinking in terms of people holding so strongly to their beliefs that they were unwilling to be open-minded to the beliefs of others (whether they be religious, political or otherwise)… and the conflicts (be it war or neighbors holding grudges or TH fans duking it out online) that result.

    And regarding the “truth” discussion, I think what someone believes is usually their truth… but not always the universal truth. I’m not even sure that makes any sense. I haven’t had my afternoon coffee yet!

     
  9. brc

    April 23, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    Um.. when did Gray put the archives back up? I just noticed the link on the left. Was that there this morning?

     
  10. Dingo

    April 23, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    And regarding the “truth” discussion, I think what someone believes is usually their truth… but not always the universal truth. I’m not even sure that makes any sense.
    ————–

    BRC, thats what I was trying to say but in my usual long winded way. Thanks.

    Can you give me GC’s URL? I lost it in my computer crash. If his archives are back up I wanna take another look. Thanks.

     
  11. Dingo

    April 23, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    Nevermind, I found it. Im so damned smart lol.

     
  12. brc

    April 23, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    I don’t want to hijack this discussion (’cause it’s a good one), but I would like to talk GC with you guys at some point. DD will you let us know when/where this might be appropriate?

    Now back to our regularly scheduled programming…

     
  13. Rich

    April 23, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    Isn’t belief all we have?

     
  14. music maven

    April 23, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    Well, Rich, that’s interesting.

    I’ll give you that all encompassing answer of “it depends”. Maybe it’s the subtle difference between belief and faith.

    I think the point is that everyone is entitled to their beliefs….those things that are ingrained in us through our exposure to certain messages, values and lessons.

    However, where the problem lies is when we try to IMPOSE our beliefs on others. I think that’s the crux of what Mayer is trying to convey here….not just in the lyrics but in the music. He is almost begging with the guitar playing for people to just listen…chill…and listen.

    I think the last verse is just an example of what happens when beliefs cause people to be intolerant of one another. I can believe something vehemently, however it’s not my right to try and force others to believe the same thing. Nothing wrong with exposing others to beliefs, i.e., Christian missionaries in Third World Countries and let them come to the belief on their own. After all, that was Christ’s way, himself. Don’t mean this to get into religon, just an example.

    I also think that John Mayer is trying to say that people use their beliefs to entrench themselves and find “a cause”. Particularly those who have a “free voice”, feel that it’s necessary to have an argument over religon, politics, race, children’s soccer strategy, etc. — down to telling people what they should and should not do and how they should and should not act. That’s where beliefs derail the greater good. Particularly well brought across by:

    belief is a beautiful armor
    but makes for the heaviest sword
    like punching underwater
    you never can hit who you’re trying for
    some lead the exhibition
    and some have to know they tried
    it’s the chemical weapon
    for the war that’s raging on inside
    oh, everyone believes
    from emptiness to everything
    oh, everyone believes
    and no one’s going quietly

    It’s easy to hide behind the armor of belief to wield the sword of hate and violence.

    So, to summarize, I think John is really trying to promote tolerance. While we all have beliefs and convictions, we should be able to have civil discourse without killing the other person, figuratively or literally.

     
  15. brc

    April 23, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    Rich, you gotta give us a little bit more. What do you feel the song is trying to say?

     
  16. jenfera

    April 23, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    Hey, that’s Dundie Winner John Mayer to you and me. Scroll down to December 14th.

    As for Jessica, I have to think that she has very different public and private personas. I just don’t think a guy who is seemingly as brilliant as John could suffer someone as ridiculous as Jessica’s public persona for very long. Maybe they are having a big laugh at the press right now. Hmmm.

    As for the song, I’m not very good with the deep thoughts stuff, but I am buying the broad interpretation of tolerance and understanding.

     
  17. shrewspeaks

    April 23, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    I guess we are all agreeing on the same points using different language. Belief is personal…certainly can be shared…but it is trouble when people act on beliefs like they are “universal” truths.

     
  18. Rich

    April 23, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Well. I think all your posts, and especially MusicMaven’s last post, nailed what the song is saying. I just think the premise of the song is invalid. I think it is quite simplistic.

    Reality is whatever each of us thinks (believes) it is. Each of us builds his/her own reality in his/her mind based on sensual inputs. As we are exposed to new information, some of our beliefs may change, new beliefs are added, and some may be discarded.

    So that is why I suggested that beliefs are all we have.

    But what about national beliefs? As a nation, do we have a set of collective beliefs? I think we do. Things such as the country should have a stable economy, employment opportunities should be available to all who want to work, all citizens are equal under the law, that the government will protect its citizens from outside forces. etc.

    So I think Mayer only addresses our individual beliefs and ignores our collective beliefs. And I think that if and when necessary, certain collective beliefs must be fought for.

     
  19. music maven

    April 23, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    I hear you, Rich. You make a very interesting point and I’m inclined to agree with you. If our founding fathers wouldn’t have had strong beliefs, America would never have been created. Without strong beliefs the Berlin Wall would never have fallen, Communism and the oppression of that mentality would not have fallen and Apartheid would still be running strong in South Africa.

    I guess, once again….it’s not black and white but shades of gray.

     
  20. Rich

    April 23, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Just got to sneak this in. DoubleD. If you haven’t listed to YsabellaBrave’s latest you really gotta hear it. Warning – you won’t be able to get it out of your head.

     
  21. brc

    April 23, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    I think Shrew’s right. I think we’re all saying basically the same thing…. it’s just that dd/mm really has a way with words (um, not that the rest of you don’t).

    “We should be able to have civil discourse without killing the other person, figuratively or literally.” — Amen

     
  22. Rich

    April 23, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    Well, I had written a really brilliant post but I lost it (my mouse clicks all by itself sometimes). So let me just ask this question.

    Would you kill to protect your child? What belief would determine your action?

     
  23. brc

    April 23, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    I think that’s a different question. Isn’t the question really would we kill to defend our beliefs?

     
  24. music maven

    April 23, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Agreed brc. I wouldn’t kill to protect my child’s beliefs or my beliefs about my child but I would kill to protect my child from being killed. (I think—who knows what one would do until they are faced with the situation.)

    I don’t believe that people should break laws, commandments, whatever, to impose their beliefs on others, but I do think that beliefs ignite changes that should be made sometime. And yes, I think that you have to fight, sometimes, for your beliefs and you’re own protection…so I get where Rich is coming from.

    Have I mentioned that I’m a Libra, so I see both sides of EVERYTHING, nearly all the time?

     
  25. music maven

    April 23, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    BTW, Rich…you get 2 demerits for putting that song in my head before bedtime.

     
  26. Rich

    April 23, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    brc… I had an answer for you but came to my senses just in time. After all, its all about the music.

     
  27. brc

    April 23, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    Well I don’t know about the rest of you, but I found this 24-hour discussion very satisfying. Thanks for a thought-provoking post MusicMaven.

     
  28. Sideways

    April 23, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    I checked in here a couple times today. John Mayer’s Continuum has been the only CD in my car’s CD player for months. (Well, I did put on the Blues&Soul Cd of Taylor’s a few times). I don’t know what to say about John, I feel very strongly about him, his social/political awareness, his beliefs, etc. I just can’t write about him because I won’t do it justice.

    About him and Jessica S., you know, my teenage daughters and I had a discussion today on our way to orthodondist/allergist appts.,the mall, etc. ( there was a staff development day at school) …. One said “opposites attract.” One said, ” Jessica is not what she was like on her Newlywed Show. It was an act.” I think it’s a bit of both. Just because she is a pretty blonde, er, was, (she is now a brunette) does not mean she is not deep. It’s like she had to go brunette and start dressing “grungier” to achieve some credibility. Does that make sense? Hey, looks they’re happy, it’s all good. 🙂

    2. brc
    I’d like to talk about GC as well. Sorry musicmaven if I’m out of place. Tell me please.
    I have met so many wonderful SP’s along the way, but over the past couple days, I was called a rumor gossip mongerer because I posted that “Gray Charles did not renew his contract.” Not here, but on THHQ.

    I’m not wrong about that, am I? I know negotiations continued; to try and make something happen so GC could continue in some form. In the end, it just couldn’t. Simple as that.

    Hope that Gray is watching Jay Leno tonight. Joss Stone is performing.

     
  29. shrewspeaks

    April 24, 2007 at 6:23 am

    Now, Rich…”a mother to kill to protect her child” isn’t that a universal truth?

     
  30. music maven

    April 24, 2007 at 7:15 am

    I’m not speaking for Rich but what I think he’s saying is that beliefs are what drive us all. They drive the righteous and the not so righteous. I believe, however, that the majority of people are basically good.

    See my edited post for an illustration…The Heart of Life (is Good).

    The problem is the 5-10% of people who skew to anger and hate, negating civility and respectful alternatives.

    Sideways — Regarding the GC situation/conversation…I just don’t know what more can be said. I think that you are correct and that those of us who were there, know exactly what happened. In the end, I know who I am, what I said, and what was meant….and I’m good with that.

     
  31. Rich

    April 24, 2007 at 7:32 am

    shrewspeaks … If it is a universal truth, how could parents in China kill or allow to be killed their female child?

     
  32. music maven

    April 24, 2007 at 7:50 am

    Ok…these can be very sensitive issues regarding beliefs, that certainly we might not all agree on. As long as the discussion remains respectful and not contentious, I’ll go with it. But, I know that passionate discussions sometimes derail and if it does, I’ll stop it.

    Yes, I am like that.

    Now, beliefs are powerful….but do some people act against their core beliefs? You better believe it. Even Peter denied Christ 3 times….

    Under oppression and coersion, beliefs may get imposed upon others, but I don’t believe that any mother has a core belief that killing a child is good.

    Even in the good old U.S.A., we’ve had atrocities (like slavery) that brought people to war over their “beliefs” — brothers against brothers, in some cases. We blindly turned our collective eyes to the atrocities of the Holocaust during WW2 because of our “belief” that it was better to not get involved.

    Those beliefs turned out to be wrong and looking back, we wonder how it could ever have happened. With the benefit of hindsight, many “beliefs” wouldn’t be beliefs at all.

     
  33. brc

    April 24, 2007 at 8:25 am

    I tend to think of myself as a very tolerant and civil person. I recognize and welcome that other people have different opinions, beliefs, values, etc. than I do.

    But this discussion has got me thinking about whether I’m really open-minded… that is, once I have my opinions and beliefs am I willing to entertain other people’s points-of-view? When I say “entertain” I don’t mean just listen, I mean am I open to changing my opinion or belief? Or am I usually pretty set on thinking that my perspective is the “right” perspective? Rather than listening am I just preparing my defense?

    I’m kind of just thinking out loud here. Do you all feel that you are truly open-minded? Is there a difference between tolerance and open-mindedness?

     
  34. shrewspeaks

    April 24, 2007 at 8:41 am

    brc…I am following you here and I always have that fear. I oft times wonder would I have the courage to stand up for a belief. I will read a book about slavery or the suffragette movement and wonder would I join ranks of Emmeline Pankhurst. I would like to think so…but I am not sure.

    Rich – point taken, I guess I would say the will of the beliefe there is more powerful than the universal truth.

     
  35. brc

    April 24, 2007 at 8:57 am

    Shrew, you make a good point. How far would we go to stand up for a belief we have? But on the other end of the spectrum is the question… how open are we to the beliefs and opinions of others?

    As Rich stated… “as we are exposed to new information, some of our beliefs may change, new beliefs are added, and some may be discarded.”

    I think this is true. But I’m just wondering how “open” I truly am to the beliefs of others? When I listen am I listening to internalize or am I listening to defend my point of view? Maybe beliefs and opinions are very different in terms of what it takes to get them to change? I happen to be of the democratic persuasion politically (more of a belief thing). It would be hard for anyone to convince me otherwise. But I guess it might be easier for someone to sway an opinion I had about something.

     
  36. azure

    April 24, 2007 at 10:03 am

    I’m reading these comments, and thinking about the last time I read a “paper” discussing this topic and these “points” in particular.

    It was only a short time ago (maybe 6 weeks) and it was a paper my 16-yr. old was working on for a tenth-grade theology class.

    At the time I remember thinking how very lucky he was to be in this school, with these teachers, discussing topics as important as personal beliefs, values, truth, tolerance and understanding.

    Because good teachers and thoughtful people are allowed to discuss important issues and nurture young minds, I have to believe that there’s hope for the future.

     
  37. Rich

    April 24, 2007 at 10:12 am

    So is there ever a time for war or is it always possible to reach some kind of compromise? I think Mayer is suggesting a compromise is always possible. While that is a noble thought, I just don’t know if man is wired that way.

     
  38. shrewspeaks

    April 24, 2007 at 10:54 am

    Rich – interesting question…is war only used in stalemates?

     
  39. music maven

    April 24, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Unfortunately, war is not reserved for stalemates. If that were true, we’d likely have had much fewer wars.

    I think that compromise is attainable when REASONABLE people are involved. When you have lunacy and people who are delusional, then I don’t think compromise can ever be found. Mostly because once one side agrees, the other side will change the terms of the compromise.

    And so it spirals downward….

    OK. I’m looking for some levity. I need some humor, stat.

     
  40. music maven

    April 24, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    I think I found the humor I was looking for.

    Check out John Mayer’s Grammy Interview with Ryan Seacrest

    Love how he punks Ryan….

    Ryan: Are you happy?
    Mayer: Of course I am. Look what I just did to you.

    BWAHAHAHAHAHA

    BTW — The translation is: “She’s very beautiful and you are the last to know. Jessica is a great girl and I’m very happy with her.”

    Ok, ok. I’ll give Jess a shot.

    If any of you read the interview that I pointed to at JM’s blog, I’m wondering if he was playing about the stoner stuff to gain “street cred”. I thought someone might point that out.

     
  41. brc

    April 24, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    DD… is it possible to put a link somewhere in the header or left column to go straight back to your home page? I ask because when there are multiple conversations going on (like today) I have to keep hitting the back button to get back there in order to see if there are new comments in previous threads.

    Did that sound like I was very inconvenienced by hitting the back button? It’s not a big deal, I’m jus’ wonderin’.

     
  42. brc

    April 24, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    Um.. nevermind (cheeks turning red)… I just realized that I can click on the words MUSIC MAVEN at the top to achieve my goal.

     
  43. Sideways

    April 24, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    Tolerance vs. open-mindedness

    If I’m open-minded, I’m receptive to an idea/belief/argument. Tolerance is just that, to tolerate.

    Also, doesn’t open-minded imply being more liberal in regards to something?

     
  44. double d

    April 25, 2007 at 6:45 am

    Interesting, Shrew. This photo shows anguish to me. Perhaps that’s an apt description for our beliefs sometimes.

     
  45. shrewspeaks

    April 25, 2007 at 9:06 am

    First MM thanks for the link back…

    DD – When I titled this…I meant it to reflect the burden placed on belief and the responsibility to do right by fellow man.

    Sideways…which is more nobel? Being open minded to an idea or tolerating one that you have no belief in for your fellow man’s sake?

     
  46. Sideways

    April 25, 2007 at 9:43 am

    Shrewspeaks,
    Tolerating an idea that one has no belief in for fellow man’s sake is pretty damn noble!

     
  47. shrewspeaks

    April 25, 2007 at 9:50 am

    Yeah Sidewise, I concur…I think “tolerate” gets a bad wrap…you know what I mean.

     
  48. music maven

    April 25, 2007 at 9:55 am

    I think the issue is open-mindedness provides for an opportunity to have a belief changed or modified, where tolerance is being polite with no intention of “change”.

    However, being tolerant and claiming open-mindedness is insincere. Perhaps we should say that people should be open-minded to tolerance?

    This is all semantics. It all comes back to “The Golden Rule”/Karma/What Goes Around Comes Around/The Law of Sowing & Reaping —

    treat others as you want to be treated.

     
  49. shrewspeaks

    April 25, 2007 at 10:42 am

    I hear ya MM…I guess I have grown fond of tolerance in my office. You get my drift 😉

     
  50. brc

    April 25, 2007 at 11:02 am

    Wow you guys are really deep 😉

     
  51. music maven

    April 25, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    Oh, you just haven’t seen how “shallow” we can get yet…wait until tomorrow.

     
  52. Rich

    April 25, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    music maven … I came across this and thought you might be interested. Very strange but fascinating.

    >>The Case of the Outside (Soul Superstar) Artist is an odd one: A record collector who is a DJ by night and a private eye by day stumbles across a rare batch of records at a flea market. Recorded by an unknown singer, Mingering Mike, the records are exquisite in realistic-seeming details: gatefolds, label logos, complete lyrics, artwork. They are also entirely hand-made, with painted sleeves, interiors, and actual platters made out of cardboard. Intrigued, the DJ-detective buys the lot and begins his search for Mingering Mike himself, eventually finding a man who never intended to sell his very personal quasi-recordings—they only showed up at the flea market because he was behind payments on his storage unit. >>

    http://www.themorningnews.org/archives/galleries/mingering_mike/02mm.php

     
  53. shrewspeaks

    April 25, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    Rich…I love that Joseph War “Into it” was discovered with shrink wrap on it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
