RSS

If I Can Dream? Holy Carp….

25 Apr

I haven’t been watching American Idol, I swear. But, because of the charity deal I figured I’d give it a go this week. I tuned in on Tuesday for the performances and again tonight for the Extravaganza. It was pretty entertaining until about the hour and a half mark when Ryan announces Celine Dion and the original American Idol.

elvis-68.jpg

I about peed my pants when Celine comes out along side the 1968 freakin’ Elvis from the ’68 Comeback Special singing If I Can Dream.

Now folks, I’ve been pimping this song and this performance since May 8th, 2006 at Graycharles.com….Here is my di-RECK quote:

Double D # 22 May 8th, 2006 at 3:11 pm

I just FEEL that Taylor will sing If I Can Dream. It is right up his alley…calm start, building to crescendo and it’s Elvis at his grittiest.

“There must be lights burning brighter somewhere
Got to be birds flying higher in a sky more blue
If I can dream of a better land
Where all my brothers walk hand in hand
Tell me why, oh why, oh why can’t my dream come true

There must be peace and understanding sometime
Strong winds of promise that will blow away
All the doubt and fear
If I can dream of a warmer sun
Where hope keeps shining on everyone
Tell me why, oh why, oh why won’t that sun appear

We’re lost in a cloud
With too much rain
We’re trapped in a world
That’s troubled with pain
But as long as a man
Has the strength to dream
He can redeem his soul and fly

Deep in my heart there’s a trembling question
Still I am sure that the answer gonna come somehow
Out there in the dark, there’s a beckoning candle
And while I can think, while I can talk
While I can stand, while I can walk
While I can dream, please let my dream
Come true, right now
Let it come true right now
Oh yeah”

Of course, Taylor opted for In the Ghetto and Jailhouse Rock, leaving If I Can Dream to Elliott.

This Elvis performance is my FAVORITE, and I’m a HUGE Elvis fan. In 1968, Elvis was BACK, baby! Newly married with a new baby girl, he’d lost weight and was in “fighting shape”. The sex appeal oozed out of him, as did his talent. This turned out to be the last real hurrah for Elvis and he was magnificient in the finale, donned in the white suite with the red lighted Elvis behind him…..simply, UGNHH! Talk about the kun-NECK-shun…Elvis defined it.

So, tonight I throw these up for your perusal and commentary.

The One and Only….E

Wannabe E

Sorry, no comparison. None.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2007 in Elvis, Music History, the king

 

14 responses to “If I Can Dream? Holy Carp….

  1. shrewspeaks

    April 25, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    Oh boy…do I know exactly what you are saying. That moment seemed ill fitting at best. (TV history my aunt fanny! Tell that to Natalie Cole and her Daddy…now THAT was cool ummm some 20 YEARS AGO!!!)

    The song and E’s performance is amazing…in the gospel call to action tradition. It needs no embellishment. Why not say the Presley Foundation believes in this cause so…for the first tme in 38 years the whole song blah blah, blah.
    OR
    They could have given Annie another tune…she was great!

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    April 25, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    Oh and what was with “Staying Alive”?

     
  3. music maven

    April 26, 2007 at 6:05 am

    It might have been ill fitting, but it was great! I loved it. I thought Celine did a fantastic job signing to something that wasn’t there…or was he? Hmmmmmm.

    The Stayin’ Alive thing was confusing but I thought a few of them were pretty funny.

    I even like Carrie’s song but I thought the “fakeout” at the end was terrible. Poor Jordin. She thought she’d been robbed. Chris lives to sing another week then he’s going bu-bye.

     
  4. Dingo

    April 26, 2007 at 8:01 am

    Talk about the kun-NECK-shun…Elvis defined it.
    ————

    DD, I think till the day I die I will always remember your take on the word connection by typing it the way you say it. That has found a life of its own on most every other blog if you havent noticed.

    I remember the Elvis songs we trotted out for T to sing at GC’s. You were right as usual. He would have killed on that one as most every other Elvis tune he would have selected.

    I had the priviledge of seeing E about 4 months prior to his death. He was freaking beyond words to describe. Even in his obese, bloated state, the voice was as powerful as ever and I remember being both shocked at how he looked and stunned at how beautiful his voice was and when he sang the lyrics to “Dixie” I had tears in my eyes for many reasons. Im a Northerner if that makes a difference.

    Anyhow, Elvis was…..well, he was Elvis.

    I didnt watch Idol. I stopped after Sanjaya got booted. I love that boy.

    Dont start.

     
  5. Dingo

    April 26, 2007 at 8:34 am

    I thought that was one of E’s weaker performances. The song didnt do him justice as I believe out of all of them, he was for me, the best vocalist. His voice was pure as the driven snow and smoother than silk. I was a big E fan but must admit to splitting my vote the first few weeks between Bucky and T before throwing the Busckster under the bus and going T all the way lol.

    OK, I promise not to mention season 5 again in this thread lmao. I will be able to keep it cause I will be away for a bit.

     
  6. shrewspeaks

    April 26, 2007 at 9:20 am

    I guess I need to hike up my cynacle slip cause it is showing. I just didn’t need the gimmick to enjoy an Elvis performance. I found Josh Grobin and Annie Lennox much more touching and momentous than a trick of editing.

     
  7. Althea

    April 26, 2007 at 9:32 am

    If the money goes as intended then the “Idol Gives Back” idea was a great one. I Loved the Earth, Wind and Fire performance at the beginning but after that it didn’t seem to flow. Hopefully they collected a lot of money and it will go to worthwhile causes.
    Oh, I will add this then rush off to work.
    I don’t get Elvis, I am 47 so I do have a vague recollection of the Elvis mania and was perplexed by it then. Don’t get me wrong I don’t hate or dislike Elvis and his music it just doesnt do anything for me. I know this may get a few people going but here goes, I find Elvis too artificial and dull.
    There I said it, Bye.

     
  8. music maven

    April 26, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Althea gets 1 demerit for her drive-by diss of Elvis. Most people see the 1977 Elvis, I will always see the 1957 Elvis.

    (Consider me going…heh)

    Seriously, tell me that THIS is artificial and dull.

    Be advised….eventually, there WILL be an Elvis introspective on this blog.

     
  9. Althea

    April 26, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Sneaked back in to a computer at work. I accept my demerit. I am not brave when it comes to Elvis fans. The Soul Patrol don’t even come close. I have a friend who didn’t talk to me for three weeks when I made a slightly less then tasteful joke about how the King died.
    An Elvis introspective, I’ll be here. But please tell me this won’t include his (cough, cough) movie career.

     
  10. Lab

    April 26, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    Double D….can’t wait for the Elvis introspective. 🙂

    And another one for your viewing pleasure. There just ain’t words for this.

    Now that, right there,(tm DD) is music the way it was meant to be played, sung and felt.

     
  11. brc

    April 26, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    I’m looking forward to watching the show on tape. My son taped if for me while I was at Taylor’s show last night. The Elvis – Celine song seems to be the watercooler discussion everywhere today. Can’t wait to see it.

     
  12. music maven

    April 26, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    Lab — Lurve that “jam” session from the Special. It was said that Elvis was severely nervous about this special and his “comeback”. Hence, he had gotten into terrifically good shape and decided on the black leather because his physique was in such good shape. Also, they hired girls to come and sit by the stage and rock out.

    I’m not the velvet painting kind of fan, but I have tremendous respect for Elvis’ musical accomplishments and how he treated his fans. He was regularly seen riding around Memphis and would regularly give gifts to various folks around town. In Memphis, he is a god.

     
  13. Lab

    April 26, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    DD…he was the same for the peeps in Tupelo. Never forgot where he came from and it was always there in his music. The gospel flavor remained as well. I’ll stop now…but it’s truly fascinating.

     
  14. music maven

    April 26, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    Yes, Lab. He remains a very fascinating piece of Americana. Elvis was a good ole boy who never forgot where he came from.

     

Leave a Reply

 
