RSS

Happy Anniversary, Baby

04 May

My parents would have been married 55 years today.

m-d-honeymoon-car.jpg
May 4th, 1952

My Daddy passed away in September of 2005. Sweetly, my mother still sleeps with his picture on his pillow in their bed. It’s touching, yet extremely sad for me. They lived a charmed life, for sure and had their “time” in the sun. Both of them always said that they certainly lived and had no regrets. They loved each other deeply and were a great example.

When I asked my Mother, years ago, what “their” song was, she answered Stardust. Daddy was ambivalent. He wasn’t as enamored with “Frankie” as Mamma was. Heh. However, she was emphatic and as always, he gave in and agreed with her. If it made her happy, it made him happy.

So today, I salute them. With Stardust and wonderful memories of a great life.

Stardust – Frank Sinatra

However, I would be remiss if I didn’t include this for Daddy. He was a Jo Stafford freak. It was the one artist that I can remember him actually talking about (besides Al Hirt and Harry Belafonte). One of the songs that was popular when they married all those years ago was You Belong to Me, sung by Jo Stafford. I used this in a video collage I did for them for their 50th Anniversary. He was ill and very tired, but this song brought a huge smile to his face — one that I’ll remember forever.

jostafford.jpg

You Belong to Me — Jo Stafford

 

ETA: For your listening pleasure…..

Stardust – Willie Nelson

 

Stardust – Nat King Cole

 

NOTE:  Temporary Music Files deleted.

 

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2007 in memories, through the years

 

11 responses to “Happy Anniversary, Baby

  1. brc

    May 4, 2007 at 8:04 am

    Well now I’m all verklempt. What an achievement to have been married for 50 years. So glad you got a chance to create a tribute to them before your father passed away.

    Their songs are both so beautiful and so heart-wrenching. My very favorite version of Stardust is by Willie Nelson (couldn’t find a link). In fact his album of the same name is one of my top albums of all time.

    Happy Anniversary to your parents!

     
  2. Rich

    May 4, 2007 at 8:18 am

    brc… You beat me to it – Willie’s take on Stardust is fantastic. I remember listening to it (8 track) in my van on a trip to Nova Scotia in the late 70’s.

    MusicMaven… Must be those cajuns. My parents made it for 50 years too. Some rough times but stuck it out until good times returned.

     
  3. music maven

    May 4, 2007 at 9:15 am

    I loved Willie’s Stardust album…The whole thing. My parents, however, did not. They didn’t like Willie’s rendition, nor his proclivity for wacky tobacky…heh.

    That album was the one that started the “retro” albums. Linda Ronstadt also did some fantastic albums of “standards” — Someone to Watch Over Me is the BEST version I’ve heard. (ignore the video; the audio is pure silk.)

    If you like these standards, I hightly recommend Rondstadt’s What’s New, Lush Life and For Senitmental Reasons CDs.

    And Rich, yes…us Cajuns are a sturdy lot.

     
  4. shrewspeaks

    May 4, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Now, my folks are BIG Nat King Cole fans…so I must offer up his Stardust

    My mom is a big Babs fan (which we have covered), so I offer my Dad’s favorite

     
  5. music maven

    May 4, 2007 at 10:22 am

    Ah, yes. I, myself got to be a huge Nat King Cole fan through “Unforgettable”. I love his silky smooth voice.

    And, PETE FOUNTAIN!! My Dad also loved Pete (I still have a bunch of his 33 LPs…my mother, however hates what she calls “progressive jazz”.

     
  6. Little Deb

    May 4, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    happy anniversary to your folks. Just because we are talking about “old timers”, anyone remember Jerry Vale? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_9jkVm6sS0

    BTW, I absolutely love Willie Nelson’s Stardust. I think his voice gives you that “Rudy Vallee (sp)” sound without playing the old 78. I’m also a big big big big Nat King Cole fan.

     
  7. texastaylorfan

    May 4, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    MusicMaven – I’ll come out of lurkdom to say what a lovely post today. Very sweet.

    Willie Nelson’s Stardust CD has been on my Amazon wishlist for some time, but I always have something else more pressing to order so it just sits there. Maybe I’ll order it next.

     
  8. Little Deb

    May 4, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    texastaylorfan, you need to get the willie album. boy, I am old, since I still say album and still play it on the phonograph. lol

    Thanks for what you do MM/DD.

     
  9. shrewspeaks

    May 4, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Progressive Jazz? Pete Fountain? Heh! That is rich. What is her take on Miles Davis or Brubeck?

     
  10. leejolem

    May 4, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    I first heard Stardust when I did a paper on Hoagy Carmichael for my Humanities class as a Junior in High School. I love any rendition of it. Nat King Cole is also one of my favs.

    On a personal note my song w/my dh of almost 22 yrs is I Still Believe in You by Vince Gill. I’m normally not a country fan, but Vince write some beautiful lyrics. We had actually filed for divorce and went to Vince’s concert together and reconciled (that was 10 years ago). Music can be very healing.

     
  11. brc

    May 4, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    texastaylorfan… you’ve GOTTA move Stardust up to the top of your Amazon wishlist. The whole album is good… seriously… every song.

    shrew… thanks for the Nat King Cole link. That rendition gave me goosebumps.

     

Leave a Reply

 
