RSS

Music Alert!

04 May

ETA2:  The AT&T Blue Room is supposed to archive some of the performances from JazzFest, shortly.  I’ll link to them once they’re up.  NOLAGirl couldn’t get me an actual picture of Johnny Boy from her camera, but she did from her newspaper.  😉

Ain’t he cute?

cache_30002.jpg

ETA: Here’s Bonnie Raitt’s GREAT finale from Sunday with Ivan Neville, Jon Cleary, Irma Thomas and several New Orleans Musicians….

Oop-oop-pa-doop Medley

The AT&T Blue Room will broadcast JazzFest in New Orleans, live Saturday, May 5th and Sunday, May 6th from 1:00pm to 7:00pm CST.

Click here for the site.

There is a really great line-up. Here is the schedule with some linked performances for preview.

Saturday, May 5th

01:00 PM Theresa Andersson
01:20 PM Rockin’ Dopsie, Jr.
01:30 PM Marcia Ball
02:00 PM Buckwheat Zydeco
02:15 PM Henry Butler
03:05 PM Subdudes
03:20 PM Zachary Richard
03:30 PM Galactic
04:15 PM Jon Cleary
04:45 PM New Orleans Social Club
05:30 PM John Mayer
06:15 PM Norah Jones
06:25 PM Rod Stewart

Sunday, May 6th

01:00 PM Franklin Ave BC/Darrell McFadden
01:10 PM Irma Thomas
01:45 PM Allen Toussaint
02:55 PM Luther Kent
03:00 PM Johnny Rivers
03:03 PM TBD
03:35 PM Brad Paisley
05:00 PM Mahalia Jackson Tribute
05:05 PM Bonnie Raitt
05:45 PM Joss Stone
07:00 PM Harry Connick Jr. (OMG, He’s SOOOOO cute!)

It’s gonna be a HOT one in the Big Easy…………

 
24 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2007 in Festivals

 

24 responses to “Music Alert!

  1. nolagirl

    May 4, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    Ummm, if you see some weirdo with an LSU hat (who is VERY pale, mind you) dancing, just turn away! 😉

     
  2. music maven

    May 4, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    Yeah, nolagirl will be dere!!!!

    We want a FIRSTHAND, detailed report on Johnnie Boy. Grab a pen and pad and gimme a set list. I’m betting on Bold as Love, Gravity, and I’m Gonna Find Another You fo’ sho’.

    Have a Big Ass Beer for me, dearie.

     
  3. brc

    May 4, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Wow! What a lineup. Thanks for the info.

    Do I detect just a teensy bit of fangirliness there MM?

     
  4. music maven

    May 4, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    Sawry….I dunno what red-blooded American woman could watch that HC Jr. vid and not say, “UGNH!”.

    Come By Me, indeed.

     
  5. shrewspeaks

    May 5, 2007 at 8:02 am

    How are the fair grounds? I saw the extreme weather and I was worried that my favorite contemporary artist, JM would have been blown away!

    and second…

    WAAAAAAAAAAAAILLLLL, I so want to be there. Big ass camera lens in one hand and big ass beer in da other.

    On a side note…anyone think a MusicMaven internet radio show broadcast once a week for an hour a good idea?

     
  6. music maven

    May 5, 2007 at 8:13 am

    It’ll be sloppy but the weather’s gone. Mud central for dancin’ but I’m sure folks will improvise.

    Oh, and did I mention that Harry Connick, Jr. is HAWT in that vid….MERCY!

    Internet radio show, hmmm? Who I do dat? If someone can gimme di-RECK-shun, I’ll consider it. Dunno if I can commit to a weekly but could do “special events”.

    NOLAgirl’s assignment for today is a GOOD picture of John Mayer…..AND, Harry Connick, Jr. And no Kodak disposable crap, either. Get some good ones, girl. We’re relying on you.

     
  7. music maven

    May 5, 2007 at 8:16 am

    BTW, I just linked to Theresa Andersson. Check her out. Very Susan Tedeschi.

     
  8. brc

    May 5, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Ok MM, I’m seein’ a whole different side of you today (picturing MM playing HC jr. video over and over… weak in the knees… heart beating rapidly… cursing at herself that she’s not gonna be at the NOLA Jazz Fest tomorrow evening) 😉

     
  9. brc

    May 5, 2007 at 8:49 am

    Oops. Forgot to add that I’m in on the MM radio show fer shure!

     
  10. music maven

    May 5, 2007 at 10:04 am

    brc — Harry is just DA BOMB!

    Check out this Interview on Imus. Not many people can dominate Imus, but Harry does…..woo!

    I love that he puts his own vids up on Youtube.

    More to come on that note……

     
  11. brc

    May 5, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Oh I don’t disagree that he’s one hot dude. I just haven’t “seen” you get all fangirly before… it’s cute!

    Great interview. He’s a funny guy and very quick on his feet.

    I love the “Hear Me In The Harmony” song too. Thanks for the links.

     
  12. music maven

    May 5, 2007 at 11:41 am

    brc — what can I say…I’m a sucker for Piano players from Louisiana.

     
  13. Laurita

    May 5, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    hey you all!
    MM radio, i’m all over it- pls consider.. 😉

    (sorry, couldn’t resist the smiley, i’m in a great mood thinking of nola, etc.)

    i’m jealous too! wish i was in nola.. it’s been 10 years since i went to jazzfest- it was so awesome, despite pouring rain the whole time!

    i’d be eating at my favorite restaurant Uglesich’s, which I thought had closed but apparently is open again… used to literally be a little shack:
    http://www.uglesichs.com – do you know it, mm?

    anyone who’s ever in nola, check it out! their fried green tomatoes, grits, shrimp, bloody mary’s, etc. are to die for…

    meanwhile, i got my 1st solo TH concert this coming Wed. in S.F. at the famed Warfield, where a mini-earthquake is going to be started!
    (how about Taylor Hicks at Jazzfest one of these years, jammin with some of the other folks? That would be pretty cool…)

    mm, thx so much for this link to the AT&T Blue Room site.. I signed up for their newsletter to hear about more stuff like this in the future.. I wish there was a way to download this stuff as mp3s- is there?

    meanwhile, talking bout all the amazing music in nola, i’ve been attending the SF Int’l Film Festival for the last week, and saw an incredible film called THE OLD, WEIRD AMERICA: HARRY SMITH’S ANTHOLOGY OF AMERICAN FOLK MUSIC – extraordinary:

    http://fest07.sffs.org/films/film_details.php?id=73

    would love to see you do a page on the HS Archives someday, MM:

    http://www.harrysmitharchives.com/

    gotta run to see some more films.. Eat an oyster po-boy for me!
    xoxo, L

     
  14. brc

    May 5, 2007 at 7:20 pm

    My post disappeared 😦

    I didn’t even put in any links.

    I’m too tired to re-do it. Maybe it got caught in the spam filter for some reason… MM???

     
  15. music maven

    May 5, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    It was in spam and I accidentally deleted all. Crap. Sorry, brc.

     
  16. brc

    May 5, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    No problem. I’ll try to reconstruct it…

    I loved John Mayer’s performance. The dude can really play the guitar. I caught his first four songs…

    Belief (I think he did this for you MM though I liked the acoustic version you posted last week better).

    No Such Thing

    Good Love is On the Way

    Don’t Trust Myself (He was in a zone on this one and his drummer was jammin’ with a cig hanging from his lips)

    I had to leave after this one. Did anyone else catch the end of his performance? What else did he sing? I was hoping to hear Gravity and Waiting on the World to Change.

    I also missed Norah… how was she?

    I made it back just in time to see Rod Stewart. Unfortunate timing on my part. IMHO he was baaaaaddd! (the bad bad, not the good bad).

     
  17. nolagirl

    May 6, 2007 at 8:42 am

    Man, talk about pressure! For starters, I didn’t even bring my camera b/c among all the other accoutrements we toted in, I knew it would just be a pain. Second, it was SO PACKED that there was no way to even get a semi-decent pic. (we were far, far back but with the 2 big screens and the ginormous sound system, it was just fine!).

    So, JM came out with the band before him (Galactic – a local jam band) and played with them on their last tune, a Led Zeppelin one. Then they went away and did the set change before JM came on for real.

    Brc I believe you got the first half right. He also did a Ray Charles song, “I Don’t Need No Doctor,” which I was not familiar with, but it was hot.

    He then did Gravity (the couple standing in front of us could NOT keep their hands off each other the whole time, which was amusing, but I have to say I *was* envious when they were slow dancing to this one). Such a great song.

    He did “Slow Dancing in a Burning Room” then “Waiting on the World to Change.” Showing how aware he is, JM said “Now, y’all better sing along with me, even if you don’t agree with the words.” Very smart for a Yankee knowing he’s in a very red state. 🙂 It was fun when EVERYONE did the “1, 2, 1, 2, 3, 4” part in the beginning.

    During the show he dedicated a song (can’t remember which one) to a girl up front with a sign that said “I missed my college graduation to be here.” He said that was alright, cuz she’d be getting all the education she needed right here this weekend. It was cute. Then later on he was ad libbing in a song (again, bad memory here!) and threw in a line about the girl missing her college graduation. Such a witty one, that JM.

    He came back for the encore and I THINK (God, I am so bad!) did “I’m gonna Find Another You.” It was awesome, naturally. He brought up how awesome it was to be “headlining” such a huge festival, saying he remembers being the band playing at 11:30 a.m., looking at the schedule to the block at the very bottom and wishing that was him and his band!

    He had locals in the band and introduced them each. Don’t know how that works or why he didn’t have his own band with him. But that was pretty cool.

    And no, there was no sighting of Jessica Simpson. My friend’s boyfriend was pretty bummed about that. 🙂

     
  18. music maven

    May 6, 2007 at 9:07 am

    Thanks for the recap, NOLAGirl. All that sun and all that beer aren’t conducive for remembering details…Sounds like Johnny Boy enjoyed his NOLA performance.

    And, did you stick around for Mrs. Taylor Hicks….uh, I mean Norah Jones?

     
  19. nolagirl

    May 6, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    I don’t think Norah played yesterday … I see Rod Stewart as listed for Saturday too, but I’m almost positive that was LAST Saturday. The other big headliners along with JM were Allman Brothers Band (feat. Derek Trucks, which I wanted to see, but couldn’t do both) and John Legend.

     
  20. music maven

    May 6, 2007 at 7:20 pm

    WHAT?!? You mean AT&T had erroneous information!?!

    That’s it. I’m suing. Dern monopolies.

     
  21. brc

    May 6, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    They must have been at different stages within the venue because I (unfortunately) saw Rod Stewart’s performance when I got back from the grocery store. Unless they were showing a taped performance… it said LIVE on the screen.

    You mean I missed John Legend??????????? Bummer.

    Did anyone see tonight’s performances? I was sorting for our church rummage sale all afternoon and evening and didn’t make it back in time to see MM’s crush — HC Jr.

     
  22. music maven

    May 6, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    brc — I watched ALL of HC Jr.’s set. If I couldn’t have loved him more, he said this:

    “Folks. I will spend the rest of my career, wherever I go, telling people about the great City of New Orleans. How they need to come here. To help us. To experience us. You have a commitment from me that I will NEVER stop talking about how great New Orleans is.”

    Now, THAT, right there, is awright.

     
  23. nolagirl

    May 7, 2007 at 11:11 am

    Awwww, love that HC Jr.

    MM – Did you hear about Alvin Batiste?

     
  24. music maven

    May 7, 2007 at 11:27 am

    NOLA — Hadn’t heard but went to NOLA.com and saw that he passed away yesterday of a heart attack….wow. He was supposed to play with Connick that afternoon. Another legend lost.

     

Leave a Reply

 
