RSS

Save a Horse, Ride a Cowboy

09 May

I was recently directed to a FABULOUS blog, Confessions of a Pioneer Woman. It is a wonderful life chronicle of Ree, a wife and mother of four who lives on a cattle ranch where she and her husband, Marlboro Man, are raising their four “punks”. She’s a superb photographer and quite witty. I highly recommend her blog. Go to the archives and read to catch up, however be careful….it’s like the best book you’ve ever read. You won’t be able to stop.

Additionally, “The Duke”, John Wayne would have been 100 on May 26th. Best damn Cowboy EVAH.

john-wayne-7228.jpg

In honor of The Duke, Ree, Marlboro Man and “The Country Side of Life”, here are some of my favorite Cowboy Songs….in various forms. (Uh, and yes, I was country, when country wasn’t cool.)

Any of your favorites that I missed?

Save a Horse, Ride a Cowboy -Big & Rich

Country Boy Can Survive – Hank Williams, Jr.

Cowboy Take Me Away – Dixie Chicks

This is one of Mr. D’s favorites of all time. Reminiscient of Gene Autry, Roy Rogers and The Lone Ranger, it brings him back to the cowboys and indians of his youth (spent in Cajun Country, LA)

My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys – Willie & Waylon

The Cowboy Rides Away – George Strait

Workin’ Cowboy – Neil Young and Willie Nelson

The Highwaymen

Cowboy Man – Lyle Lovett

Good Ride Cowboy – Garth Brooks’ Tribute to Chris Ledoux

Thank the Cowboy for the Ride – Chris Ledoux

Cattle Call – Riders in the Sky

Mamma Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up to be Cowboys – Waylon Jennings

Shoulda Been a Cowboy – Toby Keith

and, the piece de resistance…..

Rawhide – The Blues Brothers

Yeeeeeee-freakin’ HAAAAAAAA!

NOTE:  Temporary Music Files deleted.

 
34 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2007 in Country

 

34 responses to “Save a Horse, Ride a Cowboy

  1. brc

    May 10, 2007 at 8:08 am

    Thanks for the link to the Pioneer Woman’s website. I can’t wait to explore it further. Though I already have blogs that entertain me with witty writing and great photos 😉 a girl can never have too much!

    As for the country — heavy sigh — I think I was talking on the phone when the Good Lord handed out the country music appreciation genes. Do you think it has something to do with growing up in the suburban midwest?

    I did listen (or try to listen) to all of your links. I enjoyed the Dixie Chicks and My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys. And who could not like Mama Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys? The rest just wasn’t workin’ for me.

    I like Carrie Underwood. Does that count?

     
  2. jenfera

    May 10, 2007 at 8:19 am

    I’m with brc. Carrie Underwood is okay (Well, Before He Cheats is okay), the Dixie Chicks are okay (Well, Not Ready To Make Nice is okay) but that’s about it for me.

    I saw Keith Urban recently on a James Taylor tribute show and that was better than any of the “crossover” stuff of his that they play on Top 40 radio. The commenters on YouTube say he was sick as a dog for this performance. Maybe that helped. 😉

     
  3. shrewspeaks

    May 10, 2007 at 8:21 am

    Twang scares me…The Allmans and the Eagles are as close as I get to it…even twang James Taylor makes my stomach churn and prickly sweat appear.

    So I levy a challenge…try to make me appreciate C&W music. What am I and my good cyber buddy brc missing?

     
  4. shrewspeaks

    May 10, 2007 at 8:22 am

    Sorry Janfera you were posting at the exact time I was 😉

     
  5. brc

    May 10, 2007 at 8:38 am

    What’s with all the winky-faces today?

     
  6. shrewspeaks

    May 10, 2007 at 8:58 am

    Don’t know :p

     
  7. Jenni in KS

    May 10, 2007 at 9:07 am

    So, so many country favorites here, but I guess you were going for the ones that are specifically about cowboys. Although, “A Country Boy Can Survive” isn’t just about cowboys. I really enjoyed all the old cowboy pictures on the “My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys” video. I’ve got some of my favorites on a playlist on my blog, but it seems all of the songs I want aren’t available through Project Playlist. One of my all-time faves is Clint Black’s version of “Desperado”. The original is great too–love the Eagles–but I love Clint Black’s voice and it seems to suit the song better, IMO.

     
  8. music maven

    May 10, 2007 at 10:10 am

    Well, in many ways, today’s Country is yesterday’s Pop. Country music today is not Loretta and Conway. Faith Hill and Tim McGraw would likely have been Pop Artists in the ’70’s and James Taylor definitely would have been a Country artist if he had started out in the ’90’s.

    Maybe it’s more of a Southern thang.

     
  9. music maven

    May 10, 2007 at 10:17 am

    Jenni–thanks for chimin’ in. Yes, I do love Desperado by Clint myself. I really like the duet that he and Lisa Black did, too, on When I Said I Do.

     
  10. huckleberryfriend

    May 10, 2007 at 10:20 am

    How about Marty Robbins – El Paso – a ballad about a cowboy.

     
  11. huckleberryfriend

    May 10, 2007 at 10:28 am

    And if you think you don’t like country, please check out Angela and Zac Hacker on Youtube. Angela won this year’s Nashville Star and brother Zac was runerup. By the way, they are from Alabama, further proving that Alabama is something special for music. They both infuse a lot of blues into their songs. IMO, this year’s Nashville Star’s contestants just blew away this year’s AI contestants.

    Here’s a song written and sung by Zac –
    If It Wasn’t for the Whiskey

     
  12. brc

    May 10, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    So one of my best friends in the whole world is a RABID country fan. Several months ago he spontaneously drove from Chicago to Nashville to be in the audience of Nashville Star. I watched the show that night mostly to see if I could see him in the audience. I had such a hard time watching it. I’m still not sure if it was because of the music or the contestants or because Jewel had zero personality as a hostess.

    So at Huck’s suggestion I did go to Youtube and listen to both Zac and Angela. A few things come to mind…

    Jewel is much better one on one than she is as a hostess.

    They both have very nice voices but it didn’t do anything for me. I just don’t have the ear for it.

    The distinction between country and other genres sometimes isn’t very clear.

    I didn’t mind If It Wasn’t for the Whisky, but I also didn’t feel that it was what I would consider traditionally “country.” It had a sort of soulful feel to it. In fact I could picture Taylor singing it and me liking it better (but then I have a slight predisposition already).

    So I tried I really did. It just ain’t my thang!!

     
  13. music maven

    May 10, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Huck — LERVE me some Marty Robbins! BTW, El Paso was a Pop hit, as well, back in the day.

    Um, brc, do you like Taylor’s “Georgia”? or “The Deal”? or “Hell of a Day”?

    Those are all basically Country. I think that there’s a built-in bias towards Country that many tend to not like it because of it’s stereotype.

     
  14. brc

    May 10, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    I guess that’s what I meant when i said the distinction between genres isn’t all that clear. I love “Georgia” but would never have thought of it as “country.” I also love “Hello Lonely” which actually does sound more country to me now that we’re talkin’ about it.

    So am I biased? I don’t want to be biased 😦
    I hope I can see past stereotypes.

     
  15. texastaylorfan

    May 10, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    Here’s a country fan!
    I LOVE Toby Keith. One of my favorites. I haven’t ever seen that video though, and didn’t realize that song was that old. Not too crazy about his 80’s lookin’ hair style in that, but I love his voice and his songs. He’s a good songwriter, imo.
    I feel very diverse in my musical taste since my favorites are (in order)
    Taylor Hicks
    Delbert McClinton
    Aretha Franklin
    Toby Keith
    Bill Withers and my new addition
    Susan Tedeschi

    Loved your post today, MM

     
  16. texastaylorfan

    May 10, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    I guess I should have said I have WAY more favorites that I could list, but it’s carpool time. (and who cares, anyway?) 😉

     
  17. leejolem

    May 10, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    I’m not a big “cowboy” song fan (what my grandma used to call country & western ala Porter Waggoner), but I do love Garth Brooks. Taylor’s performance style and charisma sometimes reminds me of Garth. I’ve seen Garth in concert 3 times, and he puts on one helluva show! What song of Garth’s does he sing “god bless Chris Ledoux”? Didn’t Chris L. pass away last year?

    MM, enjoyed the links. George Strait is pure country and pure class.

     
  18. shrewspeaks

    May 10, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    See for me I can put my finger right one it…I hear TWANG ~ I run. No ifs ands or buts. If there are songs by C&W artists without twang I am fine with them…but if I am open-minded say “Hey, *insert country star name here* isn’t half bad, I could sit through a concert.” and go see them at some point in time through the show they will play something with and expose me to twang which is the audio version of repeatedly dunking a ferrel cat in a bucket of water. Neither smart nor pretty.

    Just say no to twang.

     
  19. leejolem

    May 10, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    Shrew, I’m with ya on the twang. On Taylor’s original of Soul Thing I couldn’t stand the “it ain’t no country twang” and they played the corny ba-dee-dah-dee-dah-dah guitar part. How about Garth on The Dance or The River?

     
  20. brc

    May 10, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    huff ** puff *** huff *** puff *** sound of Shrew, brc and leejolem running from twang 🙂

     
  21. music maven

    May 10, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    Yankees.

     
  22. music maven

    May 10, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    Leejolem — The Chris Ledoux song you refer to is “Good Ride Cowboy” (in the video included above – ahem) and the phrase was “Just Ledoux it”. He also sings of Chris Ledoux in “Much to Young to Be This Damn Old”….”a worn out tape of Chris Ledoux, lonely women and bad booze”.

    Now, who can’t love lyrics like that? Twang…pfft.

    Soon, I’m going to do a REAL Country & Western post that’ll be TWANGALICIOUS! Yankees.

     
  23. texastaylorfan

    May 10, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    lol mm.

     
  24. shrewspeaks

    May 10, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    Aya-yup. Lobster eatin’, blueberry pickin’, cranberry saucin’, twang hatin yankee! Dats Me!

     
  25. music maven

    May 10, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Don’t forget subway-ridin’, snow-shovelin’, and meat-boilin’…..Damn Yankees. I mean, who in their right mind BOILS meat? I will NEVER understand how we lost the war. Evidently too many men and not enough women involved in the whole planning thing.

     
  26. shrewspeaks

    May 10, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    Or it could have been all the repressed anger from the boiled meat?

     
  27. music maven

    May 10, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    BWAHAHAHAHAHA! Now THAT, right there, is funny….don’t care who ya are!!!!

     
  28. jenfera

    May 11, 2007 at 8:12 am

    I’m joining brc, leejolem, & Shrew on the run from twang! Powered by corned beef!

     
  29. texastaylorfan

    May 12, 2007 at 11:51 am

    I know nobody’s probably reading this thread anymore, but seriously people BOIL meat? What kind of meat is boiled?
    Really?
    Well, I’ll take twang over snow shoveling and boiling meat any day!

     
  30. music maven

    May 12, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Tex — I HEAR YOU! They boil meat for New England Boiled Dinners. Take perfectly good beef and boil it….CAR-AZY.

     
  31. brc

    May 12, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Hey texastaylorfan… how the heck are you? Any ideas yet on that domain name you bought?

    Not sure what those New Englanders do, but here in the good ole Midwest we grill our meat!!!! Yum.

     
  32. Watch Year One

    June 20, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    The style of writing is quite familiar to me. Have you written guest posts for other bloggers?
    p.s. Year One is already on the Internet and you can watch it for free.

     
  33. buyticketsite

    April 28, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    I’m not a big “cowboy” Fan but will have to say my country favorites are carrie underwood & the Dixie Chickes.

     
  34. Eagles Dixie Chickes

    April 28, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    I’m not a big “cowboy Fan but will have to say my country favorites carrie underwood & the Dixie Chickes

     

Leave a Reply

 
