RSS

Dancing Queen….Bjorn Again

14 May

ETA2: Huck is right….THIS is what needs to be done on AI next week. Taylor, bring ’em to their knees.

Sorry, that line was too good not to use.

The Abba Tribute Band

captured by Wildrosegirl76 in Seattle — last stop on the tour.

Yes, you certainly make us proud……BWAHAHAHAHAHA!

Taylor receives 50 MERITS for this.

To quote a wise gentleman, “If I have to explain it, it just ain’t as funny.” But for those of you who don’t “get it”….context.

Don’t forget to watch Leno tonight….

Maybe you’ll catch something like this…..

Thanks for sharing, Gray.

ETA: Nice footage of Hold Onto Your Love in Seattle, attributable to Catchthatgroove.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2007 in gray charles, Taylor, Uncategorized

 

14 responses to “Dancing Queen….Bjorn Again

  1. brc

    May 14, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    Ya gotta love the guy for his sense of humor. Somehow this was just the right ending to the tour. I feel a strange sense of closure.

    I wish we would see a little Tupelo Honey on Leno.. but I doubt it.

    Thanks everyone for sharing.

     
  2. Dingo

    May 15, 2007 at 9:20 am

    Well, many of you know i have been one of Taylor’s harshest critics but I stayed up way past my bedtime to see him on Leno and he was freaking fantastic. I dont know, maybe Im just going through withdrawals of not seeing my guy around every corner and hating idol this season but I thought he was perfection.

    Im hoping like hell that with his next CD and his next tour he will do the songs in the manner that I have come to love from him. I want the soul back. I want the growls and the gutteral sounds and the idiosyncratic ahhhh’s and stuff that he gives me when he is in full Taylor mode. I want music like “Cant You See” for example. I want performances like HN. Well its his own fault dammit. He spoiled me and I cant ever go backwards now. I hated that damn CD.

    PS-Im aware that I have punctuation “issues”.

     
  3. huckleberryfriend

    May 15, 2007 at 9:28 am

    I wonder how hard it was for Taylor to sing the song straight last night? No tags, no repeats, no changing the words. etc. After 50+ concerts I’ll bet it was hard to hold back.

    Anyway, I thought his performance last night was great and probably shows us what he will do on Idol next week.

     
  4. Althea

    May 15, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    I really, really needed this laugh today. Taylor’s love of music is so contagious! He is so generous with the stage and giving credit to others.
    Dingo, You always make a helluva lot of sense(with or without punctuation issues) from the beginning I liked but never loved Taylor’s new CD. You verbalized exactly my feelings but I never had the nerve to speak up. You would think at 47 I’d have grown out of being such a “people pleaser”!?!

     
  5. music maven

    May 15, 2007 at 12:56 pm

    Huck — I was thinking the same thing and when he sang “When I come home….”, I was expecting to hear “when I come home….” again.

    I thought he was good but I’d still like to hear him do something more compelling like “Can’t you see” or “Ain’t No Sunshine” or “People Get Ready”.

     
  6. jenfera

    May 15, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    MM, as much as he could sing the hell out of those songs, I think it was wise for him to showcase his original stuff. Otherwise he could be pigeonholed forever as a “cover artist” (or worse). An extention of the AI effect.

     
  7. huckleberryfriend

    May 15, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Did you all see the video of the other song he did last night (Soul Thing)? Now that’s what he should do on Idol.

     
  8. Dingo

    May 15, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Althea, never be afraid to voice your opinion. Hey, I took a lot of heat when that boy’s CD came out and I tried, I really really tried to love it but hell, I couldnt even bring myself to like it much less love it. I use it as a doorstop these days and take the stuff I really dig from his live concerts and appearances off the net. The boy has such an enormous reserve of talent and I cant wait to hear it on a well produced CD. Anyways, speak your mind cause the majority may not agree with your sentiments but there will always be someone in the shadows cheering you on cause they thought the same thing but was afraid to vocalize it. Dont let ’em bully ya.

     
  9. music maven

    May 15, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Dingo…PLEASE click the link on my ETA2 above on the post. Huck is sooooo ko-RECK. THAT is what, I think, we all want from Taylor Hicks.

     
  10. Dingo

    May 15, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    DD, I saw that vid of Taylor doing Soul Thing (which, BTW I have always thought was the one that should have been released had he not screwed it up so badly on that CD)and I went all gah gah again over my boy. I thought I was “over” him. I thought the passion was gone cause honestly I have not seen enough HN at Rehearsals moments as I would like to but last night on Leno, well damn if that boy didnt do me all over again. I have said it a hundred times. You cant allow me to listen to something like “Can’t You See” and then give me a crappy CD like the one he made. I know what he is capable of, I aint settling for what I got. I hope to gawd that boy tears the house down on idol the night he does what he does best and pleaseeeeee dont let him sing that crappy song JTFTW. ACK!

     
  11. texastaylorfan

    May 15, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    I loved Taylor’s shout out to Gray and the on-line Soul Patrol when he sang Dancing Queen. What a great ending to this tour.

    He looked and sounded awesome on Leno last night.

    And I LOVE his CD.

     
  12. brc

    May 16, 2007 at 7:15 am

    Thanks for the link to the Tonight Show website MM. I have been so busy with work that I actually fell asleep with the TV on waiting to see Taylor on Monday night and missed it (such a sad statement on my life that I can’t stay awake until 11:30).

    This was the only television performance of his that I actually liked. Every other show he has been on has made me cringe. Especially when he sang JTFTW.

    Dingo I’m with you. The HN rendition at rehearsals.com is still his hottest performance EVAH.

     
  13. leejolem

    May 16, 2007 at 9:34 am

    I am so looking forward to Taylor’s AI performance. I hope he burns up the stage. In the car the other day I was listening to a cd of his AI performances. I realized that’s what I missed at the Columbus concert–his “unhs”, growls, etc… I did like his cd, but loved YASB, Something, Trouble, Hollywood Nights (on rehearsals.com), etc… He was letting loose, but still was kind of sanitized. I’m hoping on his summer tour dates he’ll let loose and be a little silly (Dancing Queen), a little broken-hearted (acoustic The Fall), and a little gritty (Hollywood Nights).

     
  14. leejolem

    May 16, 2007 at 9:35 am

    Dingo, you won’t believe it but 2 of his hottest numbers at the concert were The Maze and Give Me Tonight. I was shocked, but they were great live. He totally took them up another notch and they were hawt and sexy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
