RSS

Shrekalicious!

22 May

shrek.jpg

Every once in a while, there’s a movie that changes the landscape. One such movie, is the Shrek series – one of my FAVORITES! Shrek forever changed animated films and fairytales. It’s virtually impossible now for Disney to create a classic fairy tale movie like Cinderella or Snow White, as folks would constantly be wondering “where’s the beef” and expecting pop culture references as well as hip music and double entendres. Last Friday, Shrek the Third opened in movie theatres and took in $122 million, breaking the record for an animation film.

shrek-3-poster.jpg

The Shrek formula has worked brilliantly. It attracts children of all ages with the animation, the story and a bit of juvenile humor; while attracting parents of these children with sub-adult jokes that only the adults “get”. This installment brings more of our favorite characters: Shrek & Fiona, Donkey, and my favorite, Puss — in boots. They are joined by Justin Timberlake as “Cousin Artie”, a play on King Arthur. I won’t give away the plot but looks like there’s plenty of room for the wonderful subtle humor that we’ve seen in previous Shrek pictures.

 

shrek3_21.jpg

 

And, Mike Myers is a genius. As if Austin Powers wasn’t enough, he brings us Shrek. While the Shrek movies are completely funny and entertaining, part of Shrek’s vast appeal is the use of music. So, in honor of Shrek the Third’s opening last Friday…..I give you Shrek, the Music.

Because of the wealth of information, I’m going to break this post up into three sections. The first will be the original Shrek movie soundtrack. What are your recollections of first seeing Shrek and of it’s different humor and wonderful choice of music?

SHREK – The Original — 2.4 million records sold

shrek-1.jpg

“All Star”
(1999)
Performed by ‘Smash Mouth’
I love this song….

“On the Road Again”
(1976)
Written by ‘Willie Nelson’
Performed by ‘Eddie Murphy (I)’

“Friends”
(1969)
Performed by ‘Eddie Murphy (I)’

“Whipped Cream” — The Newlywed Game Theme
(1952)
Performed by ‘Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass’

“Escape (The Piña Colada Song)”
(1975)
Written and Performed by ‘Rupert Holmes’

“My Beloved Monster”
(1996)
Performed by eels

“You Belong to Me” — sound familiar?
(1952)
Performed by ‘Jason Wade (II)’

“Hallelujah”
(1985)
Written by ‘Leonard Cohen (I)’
Performed by ‘John Cale’ but actually Rufus Wainwright version is used in the movie.
Ahhhhhhhhhhhh…..

“Try a Little Tenderness”
(1932)
Performed by ‘Eddie Murphy (I)’

“I’m a Believer” There is just something SOOO right about The Monkees
(1966)
Words and Music by ‘Neil Diamond’ who knew?
Performed by ‘Smash Mouth’

“Meditation”
(1963)
Performed by ‘Antonio Carlos Jobim’

“Welcome to Duloc”
(2001)

“Bad Reputation”
(1981)

Performed by ‘Joan Jett’

“I’m on My Way”
(1988)
Performed by ‘The Proclaimers’

“Merry Men”
(2001)
Performed by ‘Vincent Cassel’

“Stay Home”
(2001)
Performed by ‘Self’

“Best Years Of Our Lives”
Performed by ‘Baha Men’

“Like Wow!”
(2001)
Performed by ‘Leslie Carter’

“It Is You (I Have Loved)”
(2001)
Performed by ‘Dana Glover (I)’

Added Bonus…..Shrek’s Karaoke Dance Party

Isn’t that ending familiar? Seems as though I’ve heard that somewhere……

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
17 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2007 in Movie Soundtracks

 

17 responses to “Shrekalicious!

  1. shrewspeaks

    May 23, 2007 at 5:54 am

    Okay…seriously…I love you. I needed to say that…I am off to contemplate.

     
  2. leejolem

    May 23, 2007 at 9:26 am

    Shrek is the funniest family move since Toy Story. Shrek and Dunkey are like the best buddy movie ever, an Antonio Banderas was born to play Puss, Puss-in-boots. I can’t wait to see Shrek 3 where he meets a female pussy. I hadn’t realized until you posted all the songs that there was so much great music. I only remembered the Smashmouth song and I’m a Believer. I might have to buy the Shrek soundtrack cd’s.

     
  3. brc

    May 23, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    MM I’m having the same problem with this post as I did with the Amos Lee one. It’s so long that I keep thinking I don’t have time. However I respect that you take the time to think through and research posts for us, so I WILL make time.

    I don’t want you to think there’s no Shrek love if we don’t respond right away.

     
  4. music maven

    May 23, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    I hear you, brc. I post some short, some longer (more thorough). It’s just how I’m built. I like the complete subject covered. Point well taken, though. I will try to make sure that I keep including some shorter posts that are easier to comment on.

    Thanks for the feedback.

     
  5. brc

    May 23, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    I actually like the complete subject too. I just didn’t want you to think we were ignoring all your hard work.

    I’m hoping to take the kids to see it this weekend.

     
  6. music maven

    May 24, 2007 at 9:36 am

    brc — you will have to give us a “recap”….heh.

     
  7. manders!

    May 24, 2007 at 9:53 am

    DoublyDeliciousnessDeeeee! I found you!

    I love Shrek! I think I loved it as much for the soundtrack as I did the ‘acting’. The first time I ever heard Hallelujah, I actually cried real tears. I am not sure if that was because I was moved by the song or the scene. (ok, so I am a goober)

    HBO had a “making of” Shrek Third airing recently. If you guys haven’t seen it, but come across it surfing the channels, it’s well worth a half an hour of down time. Young master Timberlake is joining the cast. The whole going back to high school concept is priceless. Oh! The best…. the “princesses” are played by the female cast of SNL. Cheri Oteri is Sleeping Beauty! Why am I thinking of shrewbieshrewbiedoo right now? Hmmmmm. (winks)

    It’s great to see you gals out here yonder in cyberspace. I am adding you to the roll. Hugs!

     
  8. music maven

    May 24, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    manders!
    Great to “see” you too. Hope you’ll come by often. I’ll add Our Pie in the Sky to my blogroll as well. Retro pictures, indeed.

     
  9. Dingo

    May 24, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    OK, that does it. I have not seen Shrek but I have heard really great things about it and now this. It will be the very first film I either rent of see.

     
    • breanna

      May 24, 2010 at 1:35 am

      huh

       
  10. brc

    May 25, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    I told ya I would get to this post sooner or later… it actually didn’t take me very long at all to get through it. I think the physical length of the post is what intimidated me.

    BRC’s whole family hearts Shrek. The stories, the humor and the music appeal to young and old alike. I love that my kids and I laugh at the same scenes for totally different reasons.

    All of the members of my household (except me) have a weird talent for remembering dialogue from movies and TV shows. We have seen the first Shrek so many times that my kids can tell you the jokes before they come on the screen.

    The two SmashMouth songs are favorites in our house. My son has been jamming to these since the first movie came out. And dawg, ya gotta love how they contemporized a Monkey’s classic!

    What am I missing on the “You Belong to Me?” It does sound familiar, but from what?

    I hadn’t remembered that many of these songs were in the movies. Are all of these from the first one? Now I’m confused. When you say you’re breaking it up in three sections… does that mean there’s more coming?

    Anyway, thanks for a fun post. Keep ’em coming!

     
  11. music maven

    May 26, 2007 at 7:08 am

    brc — “You Belong to Me” was included in the Happy Anniversary post as my Dad’s favorite song, sung by Jo Stafford.

    I’m a Believer has been a favorite of mine since I was in Kindergarten. Lerve me some Monkees, of the Davey Jones variety. 🙂

     
  12. brc

    May 26, 2007 at 7:38 am

    I missed the connection to the Anniversary post. Wow the song sounds so differerent when sung by the two different artists.

    So is there a part 2 and 3 coming our way or were your three parts in the original post?

     
  13. brc

    May 28, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Hey there. We took the kids and friends to see Shrek the Third today. Overalll I’d have to say… meh. It was the weakest of the three IMHO in terms of overall “laughoutloudness.” However if you spend time focusing on the little details there is a lot of very clever, subtle adult humor. One example (not a spoiler of anything)… when the kingdom is invaded a storefront called “Ye Old Bootery” has the “B” switched for an “H” and the “Y” changed to an “S” resulting in “Ye Old Hooters.” Also a rousing rendition of “Happy Birthday to Thee.” Lots of fun little things like that.

    In fact, I think part of my problem with the movie is that I think it has less kid appeal than the others. I was with my husband, two 12-year olds and two 6-year olds. Other than hysterics at the word “poop” and some farting and vomiting, there was very little laughter on their part.

    Surprisingly, I didn’t notice much music, though what I did notice was very good. I mean what other film could get away with frogs singing “Live and Let Die,” and princesses turned Charlie’s Angels-types singing Heart’s “Barracuda?”

    If you’ve seen it, I’d be curious what you thought.

     
  14. music maven

    May 28, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    brc — thanks for the recap…

    I haven’t seen it yet, but plan to in the next few weeks. I’ll be posting parts 2 & 3 this week.

     
  15. nolagirl

    May 29, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    Dwain and I went to see it Saturday. Loved it! I agree that I may not have laughed out loud quite as much as 1 and 2, but I definitely did my fair share of chuckling. Funny moment involving Puss in Boots’ classic “pose” – hee hee.

    Better get to it, DD!

     
  16. brc

    May 30, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    This is a fun list of aol’s top movie songs. Somewhere in there is a list of the 19 best ‘toon songs. I just skimmed through but it looks interesting.

    http://music.aol.com/feature/unforgettable-movie-songs-6

     

Leave a Reply

 
