RSS

TGIF

08 Jun
 
15 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2007 in Artists, that's life, weekdays

 

15 responses to “TGIF

  1. jenfera

    June 8, 2007 at 7:48 am

    Love The Cure! I forgot how much I liked them until Blake Lewis sang LoveSong on AI this year. Then I went YouTubing and rediscovered all these great songs like Lullaby, Just Like Heaven, Pictures of You (okay, the HP commercial already made me conscious of that one again!).

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    June 8, 2007 at 8:59 am

    OOOooo and don’t forget….

    LOVE CATS

    PS- Am I the only one finding the term “old school” which we invented applied to our videos of youth?

     
  3. jenfera

    June 8, 2007 at 9:22 am

    Totally forgot that one, Shrew!

    As for Old School, that’s just wrong. But I guess it must just mean it is our time to start saying things like, “Back in my day…”

    Back in my day, they knew how to make a music video! They had one camera angle and really bad effects and we liked it! Back then, men knew how to wear make up, I tell you!

    My Depends are itchy.

     
  4. shrewspeaks

    June 8, 2007 at 10:25 am

    Jen remember when we only had 120 TV channels and HBO was subscribed to because of the movies you could get? Until “First and Ten”…damn Delta Burke and her sholder pads!

    Remember the lustful glee over walkmans and “gasp” compact discs?

    And the excuse “I couldn’t find a phone” worked.

     
  5. leejolem

    June 8, 2007 at 11:37 am

    Shrew, I miss my shoulder pads and my MTv. Where have all the videos gone? I can only stand so much Real World/Road Rules-the Gauntlet.

     
  6. jenfera

    June 8, 2007 at 11:57 am

    lee, Real World/Road Rules is quality entertainment like The Cosby Show or something compared to Engaged & Underaged! (Or is it Underaged & Engaged?) Either way, scary stuff!

    Shrew, I remember when there were only 13 cable channels and you had to press the little buttons on the box. No remote!

     
  7. music maven

    June 8, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    Wow…you guys really had it rough.

    Try TWO channels with a third (NBC) available when the weather was really bad. I had never even heard of “The Wonderful World of Disney” until I moved to the “big city” when I was 22.

    Remote? I, being the youngest punk, was the remote. And we actually had KNOBs on our TV…a huge console that had to weigh 400 lbs.

    8 track tapes and AM Radio…we really are spoiled now. No wonder we’re all so over stimulated.

     
  8. jenfera

    June 8, 2007 at 12:56 pm

    MM, the best I can do is during the pre-cable days, we got 5 stations with one of those giant antennas on the top of the house. There was this dial thing on top of the TV that went, “ker-chunk, ker-chunk, ker-chunk” as the antenna moved around, I guess, trying to get better reception. We had ABC, CBS, NBC, PBS and one independent station out of Boston that showed Bruins games and old movies.

    Oh, and I remember our first VCR that had the pop-up top where you put the tape and a corded remote!

     
  9. shrewspeaks

    June 8, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Ahhhhh….Jenfera had a Zenith too…anyone remember the TV repair man and his box of tubes?

     
  10. shrewspeaks

    June 8, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    Like Woah man

     
  11. jenfera

    June 8, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    The Animalympics keep coming up! (I think Q mentioned them in a Monkbot thread recently.)

    I do not remember the box of tubes, but I do still have one of those big wooden console TV’s. It does technically work, but not very well. It is sitting in the guest room unplugged, waiting to be disposed of eventually.

    By the way, today is Nick Rhodes’ 45th birthday, and Prince turned 49 yesterday.

     
  12. Little Deb

    June 8, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    I think I must be older than everyone here today, so I won’t go into what kind of tv we had. The funny thing about the 8 track tapes is that to this day when I hear certain songs, while I’m singing along, I automatically sing/hear the kerplunk noise when it changed tracks in the middle of a song. The same goes for songs I hear that had skips in them on my old albums. I’ll sing/hear the skip/repeat part automatically.

    A wonderful memory of “not being connected” was when we lived in the Bahamas for three years in the 80’s. It was just before they started getting satellite and cable over there. We had one tv channel, one radio channel and no cell phones. We lived in a caretaker’s cottage on a 7 acre estate that was right on the ocean. We were there for three glorious years and I never missed all the “modern conveniences” one bit. We grew our own vegetables and my husband would go out in the Zodiac with his spear gun to “shoot” dinner.

    Now that’s a nice memory to start the weekend with.

    Have a great weekend everyone.

     
  13. music maven

    June 8, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    Little Deb gets 2 demerits for continually rubbing it in that she lived in the Bahamas.

    Little Deb gets 2 merits for the 8-track click reference.

    To this day….When I hear “Witchy Woman” on the Eagles Greatest Hits, I feel the urge to punch a button twice to get to the beginning of “Desparado”.

     
  14. shrewspeaks

    June 8, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    haaaa…mine was…

    Woah, Lido woooooooooooooooo-caCHUNK-aaaaaaaaah

     
  15. morewines

    June 9, 2007 at 10:11 am

    The Cure is great. Saw them a few years ago
    at the Shoreline Amphitheatre, Moutainview, California. That was in my Rockmed days. (Volunteer medical team at concert venues.)

    They are always dress in goth attire and they
    appear very solemn. However has you can see and hear on this video their music is nothing near
    solemn.

    Here are samples from their Greatest hits
    CD. It’s a great CD. I do have a habit of
    spinning that one on Fridays on occasion.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/recsradio/radio/B00005R09Z/ref=pd_krex_dp_a/104-2030266-5169516

     

Leave a Reply

 
