RSS

The Healing Game

26 Jun

Well…made it through the surgery and doing pretty good.  A plate and six screws heavier, now starts the healing game.  Brought to mind, Van the Man’s The Healing Game.  The title song off his 1997 album, it’s about the lost art of street singing in Belfast, Ireland.  From Guiness to Yeats, the Irish heal best.

Here I am again
Back on the corner again
Back where I belong
Where I’ve always been
Everything the same
It don’t ever change
I’m back on the corner again
In the healing game

Down those ancient streets
Down those ancient roads
Where nobody knows
Where nobody goes
I’m back on the corner again
Where I’ve always been
Never been away
From the healing game

Where the choirboys sing
Where I’ve always been
Sing the song with soul
Baby don’t you know
We can let it roll
On the saxophone
Back street Jelly Roll
In the healing game

Where the homeboys sing
Sing their songs of praise
‘Bout their golden days
In the healing game

Sing it out loud
Sing it in your name
Sing it like you’re proud
Sing the healing game
Sing it out loud
Sing it in your name
Sing it like you’re proud
Sing the healing game

Sing the healing game
Sing the healing game
Sing it in your name
Sing the healing game….

 
16 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2007 in Artists

 

16 responses to “The Healing Game

  1. Colette

    June 26, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Great song to heal by! Feel better soon……
    And you might take this to ease the pain:

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    June 26, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    in honor of your plate and six screws I offer this

     
  3. Little Deb

    June 26, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    Sorry about your mishap MM. Hope you have a speedy recovery. Here’s a “bones” song for ya.

     
  4. Little Deb

    June 27, 2007 at 9:07 am

    Hopefully, you didn’t have this kind of “doctor”.

     
  5. music maven

    June 27, 2007 at 9:23 am

    Shrew gets 3 merits for Dr. Feelgood–

    Little Deb gets 1 demerit for overstimulating my Darvocet mind.

    Here is MY favorite Doctor.

     
  6. shrewspeaks

    June 27, 2007 at 9:49 am

    and here I thought this guy was your favorite doctor

     
  7. music maven

    June 27, 2007 at 10:18 am

    Ahhhh, yes. The great Dr. House. Another 3 merits for you, Shrew…

    i heart hugh laurie.

     
  8. shrewspeaks

    June 27, 2007 at 10:20 am

    I likee you on darvocet!

     
  9. Little Deb

    June 27, 2007 at 10:23 am

    Since I’m already in trouble, here’s another one for the pain med mindset:

    I think I remember the effects of the morphine drip when I had my hysterectomy and broke my wrist. Kind of like anyone who says they remember being at Woodstock couldn’t possibly have been there.

    Seriously, hope you’re doing well.

     
  10. Little Deb

    June 27, 2007 at 10:33 am

    Boy, it’s amazing what you can find on the internet. Hopefully, you’re being one of these while you’re laid up.

     
  11. Little Deb

    June 27, 2007 at 10:37 am

    O.K. This is the one I have been trying to think of for two days.

     
  12. leejolem

    June 27, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Ewwww–that sounds painful, MM. My daughter had to have reconstructive surgery on both feet and was basically in a wheelchair for 2 years. She had plates and screws put in both feet. I feel for you–hope you’re up and about soon!!!

     
  13. Dingo

    June 27, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    Glad to hear your on the mend DD, sending healing thoughts your way.

    I swear, in my old age, Van Morrison makes me orgasmic when I watch and or listen to anything he does. Its like I have been awakened once again to his music which I had somehow misplaced or forgotten during my life and now? Well now I have found it again and man, its better now than ever.

     
  14. wompuss

    June 27, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Dang, DD…we both be laid up at the same time…sending warm healing thoughts your way

     
  15. Colette

    June 28, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Yessss….Aretha. Did y’all know Re Re has her own new “doctor feelgood”? Yes, she’s getting married again! The guy looks good in news photos, and Re is on a big diet to fit it into her svelte wedding dress. Best of luck, Lady Soul: let’s hope this one is the charm……

     

Leave a Reply

 
