RSS

Cajun Powah!

02 Jul

marc.jpg

Went back to work today (for most of the day) and what was waiting for me, but my AUTOGRAPHED Marc Broussard CD, SOS: Save Our Soul.

Now, I am fiercely proud of my Cajun heritage and all that entails, but Marc….he’s special. He’s from the Lafayette area, as am I, except I’m from the South side of town where he grew up on the North side of town. Regardless, it’s God’s country. Folks work hard and play harder and music is ALWAYS at the forefront.

Marc’s Daddy, Ted, is a member of the Louisiana Music Hall of Fame as a renowned guitarist for the famous Boogie Kings, headed up by G.G. Shinn and for years, a musical fixture in South Louisiana. While flavored with Cajun French Music and Zydeco, the main focus of this music is Stax and Old Soul. Marc now takes this music to a new and revived level with his new CD, comprised mostly of lesser known covers by signature Soul artists.

One of my favorites on the CD, Love and Happiness, was written and originally released by the Reverend Al Green. Another very interesting throwback to the old South Louisiana bands is Bobby Womack’s Harry Hippie.

Just for me, Marc included one of my absolute favorite songs on this CD, Otis Redding’s I’ve Been Lovin’ You. This is the first song that Mr. D and I ever danced to, so it holds a very special place in my heart. I didn’t think that anyone could do it justice but Otis, however Marc comes close. And, did I mention that he’s Cajun?

So far, the reviews of SOS that I’ve seen are stellar. I mentioned the track listing for SOS in the recent “covers” post, but I failed to extoll how this CD is so artfully seated in “soul”. You can sample all of Marc’s new songs, here. Marc has really stayed true to the music that he loves and this release is really the closest to true soul music that I’ve heard in a very long time. Toby Lightman provides an added dimension on the Staples’ Respect Yourself, as well as one of my all time favorites:

If I Could Build My Whole World Around You

There isn’t a bad song on the CD. Even Marc’s original, Come in From the Cold, is wonderful.

And, Marc’s got serious issues with TPTB in the music industry. He’s vocal about treatment of artists by radio and record companies and the fact that an “artists’ alliance” is sorely needed. This recent article in the Orlando Weekly underscores Marc’s disdain for the manipulation of music:

As far as Broussard’s concerned, he’s got the best job in the world and the business end takes care of itself as long as he stays true to the music. He hires great musicians and lets them loose. Sound simple? Sure. Yet, Broussard’s aware of how people screw up such a simple plan.

“Today, music is, you hire a great fucking drummer and on the record you have some representation of that drummer’s performance, but it’s not that drummer’s performance. He lays down a couple measures of the groove and they take that one section and paste it over and over, and it takes out the humanity.” Broussard pauses. “I’m not into that.”

Marc really is all about the music and has been innovative in finding ways to get his music out to as many people as possible with the belief that if the music is good….really good….people will BUY it.

I did.


 
20 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2007 in Artists, Louisiana, Reviews

 

20 responses to “Cajun Powah!

  1. shrewspeaks

    July 2, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    I.must.own.

     
  2. colette

    July 3, 2007 at 12:02 am

    Man, he sounds sweet. Hope he’s coming my way…These songs must not die! Good folks should be singin’ and swingin’em for ever. Here’s another Tammi/Marvin treat:

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Xz-UvQYAmbg

    Hope you’re feeling better — thanks for all the collaborations!

    Colette.

     
  3. Little Deb

    July 3, 2007 at 8:49 am

    Thanks MM. I like this guy. Hey, would you consider giving a background “definition” of what being “Cajun” is. I’ve always been fascinated by people’s backgrounds, etc. and it seems that people in the south are easier to define in this regard. (I hope I’m making sense.) I was born and spent the first 17 years of my life in NE NJ in a town that had (count ’em) 13 chemical factories. I guess that explains all the dead brain cells. I then moved to South Florida and spent some time in Houston (blegh), Nassau Bahamas (I know you hate that one), Spokane, WA, Aruba and am now stuck in NY. My Mom married a guy from Macon, GA, whose Mother used to wait on the Allman Brothers at the local grocery store. I don’t know, I think I was southern in a previous life. I love the music, I love the food, I love the people, I love the sense of pride and family. What the hell does anyone raised in NJ have to be proud of? The Sopranos? Just kidding to all my NJ Eyetalian friends. O.K., I’ll stop babbling now. The original intent was asking you about your Cajun roots.

     
  4. Cahaba Lily

    July 3, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    Hey Double M! I just got the news today that you had been hurt. Ouch! I read back and found out how it happened. Sending healing beams to you. Let me know when you are out of pain enough to laugh about it. =D

     
  5. music maven

    July 3, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    Ok, Little Deb…Cajuns

    Cajun comes from the word Acadians and was derived from French Settlers who were exiled by the British from Nova Scotia in the 1750’s. Referred to as Le Grande Derangement, many of these French colonists ended up in Louisiana.

    While the title of Cajun comes from Acadians, Cajuns are also descended from settlers who fled the French Revolution and also settled in Louisiana (I descend from both.)

    Subsequently, Cajun actually refers to the people of Southwest Louisiana that are from French, Spanish, Irish, and German descent although the French culture is the pre-dominant underlyer.

    Cajuns generally reside in Acadiana, which refers to the 22 parish area that Cajuns dominate. There are 9 core parishes of which, Lafayette Parish, is the center. Lafayette, LA is the “Hub City” for Acadiana and Cajun Mecca. It is my hometown, as well as Marc Broussard and Julianne Moore. (I actually grew up in the country, south of Lafayette.)

    Cajuns are renowned for working hard and playing harder. We have distinct music steeped in French culture, as well as influences of African and Creole (Zydeco). We have a festival for just about everything and the absolute BEST food in the whole world. We are fiercely proud and competitive people and our “community” has the highest retention rate of keeping our population within 50 miles of home, of the entire country. We love the outdoors…fishing, water sports, hunting,sports, etc., and are usually always laughing.

    Hope that gives you a complete explanation. BTW, I think Shrew will have something to say about the benefits of NJ.

     
  6. music maven

    July 3, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Oh, Lily…I’ve BEEN laughing about it. For those who know me, they are not at all shocked that it happened by me falling off a barstool.
    Unfortunately, I wasn’t drunk…yet. Therefore, I felt the whole terrible mess. Getting better every day, though. Thanks for the concern.

     
  7. shrewspeaks

    July 4, 2007 at 5:41 am

    (Waving my third arm at Little Deb) Hey, I grew up in Oakland, NJ which is close to NY state boarder and a strange mix of mulletts and very high property taxes. After college I moved with my folks down to Westfiled, NJ a very “tony” area with soccer nannys and men being dropped off at the train station by their BMW weilding wives. A very difficult place to be single…and still am there for the next month or so before I move to Lambertville, NJ a tiny hamlet along the Delaware River…sneeze and you are in PA.

    So as you can see I am slowly making my way south towards what MM calls “God’s Country”. Seriously, it is hard not to love the cajun offerings, great music and food, but beyond that a self assured frankness that comes from the very best place in their heart, a sense of humor born out of reality and lastly a generousity that knows no bounds. I am proud to call one cajun a friend of mine, even if she can’t drink and navigate bar stools.

     
  8. shrewspeaks

    July 4, 2007 at 8:51 am

    Oh…and even though I am toying with my very first house purchase…I bought Broussard. Great stuff (better be since it may just be the last musc I buy for a while)

     
  9. music maven

    July 4, 2007 at 10:21 am

    You are too kind, Shrewbie Doobie Doo.
    Little Deb — Here’s the Swamp Pop discussion from the Gray Charles Archives that gives some in-depth information on the Cajun culture and some of the musical influences on Marc Broussard.

     
  10. Colette

    July 4, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    good times! Great music on this top by music documentarian: “Always For Pleasure.”

    here’s a Cajun favorite: Queen Ida — old-school Zydeco gal accordionist and singer from way back. she explains the history and style of Cajun Zydeco music here:

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=YP1SU9VW_yo&mode=related&search=

    and I tried to get Gray Charles to link to one of the best, geechie-goochie swamp rockers of all, hellboy Tony Joe White — he “made the alligators look tame,” as the song goes….

     
  11. colette

    July 4, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    sorry that first sentence came out screwy. meant to recommend renting the Les Blank music documentary film, “Always For Pleasure.” All about Cajun food and music and life, with Zydeco accordionist Clifford Chenier and his clan.

     
  12. huckleberryfriend

    July 4, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    Cajun History from Mulate’s web site http://www.mulates.com/history.htm

    Swamp Pop Sound – Rod Bernard and Cajun Rock & Roll

     
  13. music maven

    July 4, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    I actually know Rod Bernard. 🙂

     
  14. colette

    July 4, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    Love all this stuff! Rod Bernard seems entirely the Real Deal, and it’s just fun finding sharing these goodies with fellow music fanatics!

    LES BLANK MOVIE CLIPS:

    Must encourage you all to look at Les Blank’s fantastic, funky, loving roots music films. Not just the one mentioned earlier, “Always for Pleasure,” at shot at New Orleans Mardi Gras years ago.

    Apropos this exchange: “J’ai éte Au Ba” is about Cajun culture and music.

    Les (who strangely enough, lives in Berkeley, CA) has so many great movies — the first I saw was “The Blues According to Lightnin’ Hopkins,” which just places you there on the front porch, with Lightnin’ as he plays incredible blues guitar, and talks, and sings.

    Less is an American treasure who markets his own indy films to keep alive, and I suggest buying some on DVD! Here’s a URL for the Berkeley library’s site on him with links to great clips of his movies:

    http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/MRC/flowervideo.html

    His own company, Flower Films, also has a link there.
    Enjoy, ragin’ Cajun fans!

     
  15. shrewspeaks

    July 5, 2007 at 10:55 am

    Can’t. Stop. Listening.

    Love IT!

     
  16. music maven

    July 5, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    Isn’t the Toby Lightman duet “boss”? Don’t care what “you know who” says….

     
  17. Laurita

    July 10, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    A week late getting to this, but better —…

    I “actually know Les Blank”! took him to a baseball game once, and have done some film stuff with him..
    He’s an amazing guy, and just made another great new doc about tea!
    Do check out his site when you have a chance… he’s made dozens of incredible films over the years 😉

    Meanwhile, I do very much like my new “S.O.S.” (signed!) CD and also the “Bootleg Vaults” Bonus CD that came along with it..

    I’m really looking forward to seeing Marc and Shannon McNally at the Fillmore here in San Francisco as part of his “Soul Revue” tour on August 16th..
    (btw, still looking for a friend to join me for that show.. haven’t found anyone yet- if free, email me at Laurirose at mac dot com)

    P.S. DD, have you ever posted anything about SHANNON McNALLY? I just did a search on her last name here, and didn’t find anything..
    She opened recently for Gray’s old girlfriend Grace Potter, and is doing the second half of this tour w/Marc, replacing Toby… McNally has also toured with Willie Nelson, Stevie Nicks, John Mellencamp, Ryan Adams, Robert Randolph and the Family Band, and Rufus Wainwright.

    I’ve got all her CDs, and especially love the new one, “Geronimo,” and her ‘covers’ CD called “Run for Cover”… she lived in New Orleans for the last several years, and lost her home during Katrina…

    http://shannonmcnally.com/

    Also lots of good clips on YouTube…

     
  18. nolagirl

    July 12, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    Finally got a moment to download the album. Just like y’all do — LOVE it! I’m really drawn to Harry Hippie – had never heard of that song before. And Let the Music Get Down in Your Soul is kickin’ too.

    I see Marc will be in BR and in AL in late August… Will you be off your crutches yet DD??? 🙂

     
  19. music maven

    July 12, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Actually, I should be crutch free by late August, but Cousin Marc will be at The Blue Gill, here in Mobile, on Saturday, August 25th….I’m working on Mr. D….

     
  20. nolagirl

    July 13, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    I might have to go see him in BR. My D will be out of town that weekend on a scuba diving trip. Definitely something to put as a maybe on my calendar…

     

Leave a Reply

 
