RSS

Boots

05 Jul

Big day today.

Went from this to this:

soft-cast.jpgthe-boot.jpg

The boot. Sooooooo much more comfortable, and….I can take it off and actually sit in the tub. Considering I still have five weeks to go, this is monumentus. I still can’t put any weight on the foot and still have to use the crutches, but “the boot” is much more functional. And, I even have a little “Air Jordan” air pump that allows me to create custom comfort.

So, in honor of “the boot”, here’s a few versions of These Boots Are Made For Walkin’.

Of course, there is the original (and very likely my favorite) from Nancy Sinatra:

Now, Nancy had a #1 hit in the U.S. and U.K. in the Spring of 1966 with this diddy. The writer, Lee Hazelwood, encouraged Nancy to sing it as a 16 year old giving the brush-off to a 40 year old man. I gotta wonder how young Nancy would understand these directions, considering the times. I mean, just how many 40 year old men were dating 16 year olds in 1966? Well, anyway….the soldiers in Vietnam adopted this song as a battle cry when going into combat. For me…I just like to audacity of it.

The song has been covered quite a bit, most recently by Jessica Simpson for the Dukes of Hazzard Soundtrack:

This actually reached #14 on the Pop Charts…Holy Cow, what a leap in the definition of “risque” makes in 40 years. I mean, hittin’ on Willie Nelson? That’s just wrong.

And then there’s Ginger Spice….Geri Halliwell (meh)

However, most likely the most appropriate and funniest…..Puss “in Boots”, of course:

I must say, again, that Antonio Banderas is simply scrumptious.

Arriba!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2007 in that's life

 

13 responses to “Boots

  1. jenfera

    July 5, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    Mmmmm, Antonio!!!

    Glad to see you are making progress, MM! Getting in the tub must feel like heaven. Enjoy!

     
  2. brc

    July 5, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    MM… Glad you’re more comfortable. Hope your recovery continues on-track.

    I like Nancy’s vocals the best and I like the puss-in-boots video the best.

     
  3. Colette

    July 5, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    Love those scarlet toenails!

     
  4. Shrewspeaks

    July 6, 2007 at 5:37 am

    YEAH!!!!!

    For you…Loretta’s Version which I actually like despite the twang…is she the female Johnny Cash or what?

    And because this is the real reason to rejoice I do believe this man was the most versitle musician ever!

     
  5. wompuss

    July 6, 2007 at 6:19 am

    ditto (hip version) I feel your pain >^..^

     
  6. music maven

    July 6, 2007 at 6:58 am

    Womp — sure hope you’re doing better. You’ve been in my thoughts.

    Shrew — I almost included the Loretta version, as I LURVE Loretta, but didn’t want to “over post” as I’m inclined to do.

    And, Bobby Darin…YES!

     
  7. shrewspeaks

    July 6, 2007 at 7:38 am

    Waves at Wompuss.

    This is for you gal…Some Tower of Power

    and

    Another Hip from a Guy Named Huey

     
  8. Little Deb

    July 6, 2007 at 8:44 am

    Good morning. Glad you got the boot thingy. I’m sure the bath was heaven. Hopefully, you’ll be up doing this before you know it.

    Thanks for all the cajun info. I have to catch up on my internet reading.

     
  9. wompuss

    July 6, 2007 at 11:45 am

    DD and shrewbie….love ya gals! ~bed dancin hea~

     
  10. leejolem

    July 6, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    MM, my 15 yr old daughter had to wear a boot for about 6 months d/t reconstructive surgery on both feet. We started teasing her that it was her boyfriend. She would pretend to hug and kiss it. I hope you don’t get this desperate for entertainment in your household! My dh used to dress up as a little cowboy and entertain his family with his rendition of Nancy S’s TBMFW. Would have loved to have seen that.

    Wompuss, hope your recovery is going ok! Sending monkbot love your way!

     
  11. Colette

    July 6, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Go, Loretta! Definitely better. She’s still at it by the way. Sorry her a couple years ago, and Ms. Lynn was still a twangin’ firecracker.

     
  12. Colette

    July 6, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    Hey MM — anyway to edit our comments? Because I’m having some eye problems, it’s hard for me to use this small type without making stupid errors.

     
  13. wompuss

    July 7, 2007 at 6:41 am

    Spank you berry much, leejolem! Recovery is nevah as fast as one would hope, but it’s all gonna be ok soon. Thank god for good friends. Keep them cards and letters coming!

     

Leave a Reply

 
