RSS

Cars, The Soundtrack

07 Jul

In my never-ending quest to the hinter lands of cable television, I came across the animated flick Cars last night. Because I was exhausted from my first ambulatory week and my boot transition, I fell asleep early into the production. However, through the magic of cable DVR, I was able to catch the remainder of the movie this morning.

Cars is a delightful tale of Lightning McQueen, a cute little red race car rookie who ends up in a Doc Hollywood plot when his 18-wheeler accidentally abandons him in the middle of the desert (Radiator Springs) on Route 66. Owen Wilson voices the lead character and is joined by Paul Newman, Michael Keaton, Bonnie Hunt, Cheech Marin, George Carlin and Larry the Cable Guy, among others. The animation is reminiscent of the Chevron cars from a few years back and the plot is simply charming. It’s a genuinely entertaining movie for those of all ages and I found the music of the soundtrack particularly interesting. Some of my most favorite musical artists are on this soundtrack.

The first song on the soundtrack is Real Gone, sung by Sheryl Crow:

As Lightning and Mack head west, the strains of Chuck Berry’s Route 66 accompany the desert scenery. This soundtrack actually includes two versions of Route 66, with the more rockin’ version coming from John Mayer.

Yes. John Mayer. Who knew?

While doing his community service in Radiator Springs, he’s invited to go on a drive by Carrera Sally to Rascal Flatt’s fun Life is a Highway:

Shrew will enjoy this wonderfully twangy selection of Behind the Clouds by Brad Paisley:

Even the wonderful James Taylor makes an appearance with Our Town, lamenting the changes to Radiator Springs since the Interstate took travelers away from the dusty desert towns on Route 66 for time and convenience sake.

One of my favorites on the soundtrack is Sh-Boom by The Chords. I love this music.

 

The soundtrack rounds out with Find Yourself, again by Brad Paisley.

 

There are numerous scores and even Hank Williams’ My Heart Would Know included on this thoroughly enjoyable soundtrack. While I don’t have little kids anymore, I still like to watch these wonderful Pixar animations….particularly when I’m searching the hinter lands of cable TV.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 7, 2007 in Movie Soundtracks

 

One response to “Cars, The Soundtrack

  1. brc

    July 7, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Great post MM! This is one of my family’s all time favorite animated movies. The music is fantastic as you have pointed out. Each tune stands alone nicely, but when seen/heard in the context of the movie, the music really helps tell the story so well. LIfe is a Highway and Real Gone are favorites and, like you, I lerve Sh-Boom.

     

Leave a Reply

 
