RSS

Rate-A-Record – Bubbly – Colbie Caillat – 3.5 Stars

29 Jul

Ok. I heard you. While most liked Colbie’s sound, nobody was overly impressed by the song or the video.

As for my opinion, I liked (not loved) the song, and it reminded me alot of Feist’s 1-2-3-4 — maybe that’s why I liked it better than most of you Feist-haters. Like Feist, Colbie’s sound has a certain Cat Power influence even if some of you Cat purists disagree.

As for Bubbly, it’s certainly listenable and enjoyable. Bob Lefsetz has a very high opinion of this song and hears Colbie as reminiscent of James Taylor, Carole King and a “California” Norah Jones. If you go a little deeper into Colbie, you’ll find a couple of other tunes that are very honest and clear. That, I do like about her. Maybe it’s the acoustical nature of it, but the stuff she does with Jason Reeves does harken those old JT/King collaborations.

Realize

Droplets with Jason Reeves

Magic with Jason Reeves

As for the video, I LOVE IT! Maybe it’s my anguished desire to live on a private stretch of beach in a cabin just like this one, but I totally identified with the scenery and vibe. I particularly liked the soft lighting. Separately, I would give the video a 4.5, just for the beach feel. However, videos do not make the music, so it’s a 3.5 on the song alone. I must throw in that I think Colbie’s music overall is a 4.0.

Lastly, if Colbie Caillat is being regarded as a new “hot” artist, maybe the tide is turning away from some of the drivel that is currently being played on today’s radio. Even if these “viral” listeners are MySpace youngsters, it shows that the next generation might be looking for better quality music that can actually be heard and appreciated.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2007 in Artists, chicks, Music Today, rate a record

 

13 responses to “Rate-A-Record – Bubbly – Colbie Caillat – 3.5 Stars

  1. morewines

    July 29, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    Music is art. Art is like wine. There is some
    wine that some people will like and some of it they won’t. It’s a personal thing.

     
  2. music maven

    July 29, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    Yes, but some palates prefer Cakebread Cellars Chardonnay to YellowTail Chardonnay. While there’s a market for everything, not everything is readily accepted (i.e., to sustain the artist).

    My point here is that the masses seem to be embracing a kinder, gentler artist that provides real music that can be heard and appreciated. This “viral” case doesn’t involve a hard bass line and explicit lyrics. Progress.

     
  3. morewines

    July 29, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    Cakebread is good but over rated and over priced.

     
  4. music maven

    July 29, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    Exactly. The analogy continues….

     
  5. Gray Charles

    July 31, 2007 at 8:57 am

    “Cat Power Purist”? “Cat Power Influence”? Where?

    Maybe Colbie is a reformed (well, sort of reformed) alcoholic but I don’t hear it.

     
  6. music maven

    July 31, 2007 at 9:25 am

    I knew you would chime in. Although my basic ear is not as highly trained as the great wizard’s, many of these folk chicks are emulating Cat Power and yes, to me, remind me of her — particularly the Diamond Commercial.

    (Do so wish that I could find the full version of “How Can I Tell You” — think you can come up with that, great wizard of Id?)

     
  7. Gray Charles

    July 31, 2007 at 10:45 am

     
  8. Gray Charles

    July 31, 2007 at 10:51 am

    How about

    Hanging On The Telephone?

    This post, http://www.matadorrecords.com/matablog/?p=392, however, is a beautifully heartfelt essay by the folks at Matador Records on that matter and makes it clear that you’ll NEVER be getting a full version of that song.

    swear to god, the next person that interrupts Patrick’s busy day asking about this commercial is gonna rue the moment they ever turned on the TV set, because I am going to show up in their living room and deliver my own extra special rendition of “How Can I Tell You”, followed by such classics as “The Wreck Of The Edmund Fitzgerald”, “In The Year 2525”, “Losing My Religion”, “Needle Up My Cock” and of course, “MacArthur Park”.

    I’m not kidding around. Don’t make me drop the Gordon Lightfoot bomb.

     
  9. music maven

    July 31, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    WAAAAHHHHH!

    Can’t they creatively “loop” the thirty seconds, like six times and release it? for free?

     
  10. Gray Charles

    August 1, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    I’ve got the 30 second thing.

     
  11. music maven

    August 1, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    Lay it on me.

     
  12. Gray Charles

    August 1, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    On the way

     
  13. olivia

    September 7, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    hey,
    i would be ever so grateful for an audio file of the 30-second “How Can I tell You” by Chan Marshall….

     

Leave a Reply

 
