RSS

You Can Lead a Horse to Water….Grace Potter

04 Aug

Once again, Poo Poo Broussard:

Conjures up the efforts of an obsessed friend who can’t get enough of Grace Potter & The Nocturnals, and keeps dragging the proverbial horse to water. Now, I LIKE Grace. Don’t love her, but like her. Rather than try to inadequately describe Grace and get admonished for a deficient presentation of Grace and all of her wiles, I refer you to the great, Gray Charles’ “one time only” post — for the love of Grace.

It appears that he may have evolved into Grace Charles. Now, most of you know I’m just a wee bit jaded and cynical from slaving away on this earth for nearly 43 years, so you’ll understand the context of my snarkiness concerning this:

Hyrid Cars are Sexy

Ahhhh, the idealism of youth. I really want to see that bio-deisel tour bus, especially since it’ll cost her three times more to run and maintain it.

Well, if Grace does STICK TO SINGING, she may well be on her way. Regardless, Gray Charles has only steered me musically astray once, (**cough**Angela McCluskey**cough**). So for him…I ask you to give Grace her due. I’ve purchased a few tracks and she fits in nicely on my New Music Chicks playlist, along with Feist, Sara Barielles and Colbie Caillat.

So, please check out her stuff at Gray’s and consider purchasing her songs via iTunes, if possible — so that we contribute to saving the environment by utilizing electronic media rather than non-biodegradable CDs and cases. If iTunes isn’t your preference, buy from Fred…he’s a good guy.

 
 

33 responses to “You Can Lead a Horse to Water….Grace Potter

  1. Laurita

    August 4, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    Nice nod of the ole noggin’ to grayce charles… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    bought me the new (out 8.7.07) GP&N CD from Fred yesterday and sent a donation via paypal to GC for those hardworkin’ VT firefighters…

    just hope GC and GP aren’t going to take my twenty bucks and run off to acapulco or somethin’, leavin poor missus charles and the things to fend fer themselves!

     
  2. huckleberryfriend

    August 4, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    “Ahhhh, the idealism of youth”

    A different word came to mind, but I guess idealism will have to suffice.

     
  3. morewines

    August 4, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    First of all you can recycle CDs. Here’s
    how.
    http://www.ecoencore.org/whatsells2/?gclid=CIiX04uj3Y0CFQ9nYQodkktWbg

    iPods aren’t any more biodegradable
    than CDs. Yet you can Ecycle them.
    http://www.electronicsrecycling.org
    Batteries in the iPod are not biodegradable either. Batteries can be ecycled check with you local Radio Shack.

    I ordered CDs from Gray because the revenue that
    Gray makes off of Grace Potter CD will be donated to a volunteer Fire Department in Vermont. He has a friend that is a volunteer firefighter there. Use the link on his blog to
    make that happen.
    http://www.graycharles.com/index.php/?p=1172&cp=all#comments

    I’m not fond of MP3s. There is a big sound difference between a compressed MP3 file on an iPod and a CDA file on a CD.

    IMO

     
  4. morewines

    August 4, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    Not only is an MP3 file compressed noise
    is added due to the copyright protection
    added to the file.

     
  5. morewines

    August 4, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    Yes my Toyota Highlander Hybrid is very
    sexy.

     
  6. music maven

    August 4, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    Put down the caffeine.

    The links to Gray’s blog were included in the post, designed for folks to do as they see fit…or not.

    Horse to water…

     
  7. morewines

    August 4, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    Maven,

    I can’t have caffine. Just a couple of things
    I forgot. Shouldn’t be a big deal.

     
  8. music maven

    August 5, 2007 at 7:27 am

    I seriously don’t find a big difference in my iPod mp3s and CD songs that I rip to my laptop or that I play with a player. Admittedly, my equipment isn’t extremely high tech but it’s certainly enjoyable and clear.

    And, I think Gray is just wonderful….not because he’s supporting the Vermot Volunteer Fire Dept., but just because. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  9. shrewspeaks

    August 5, 2007 at 7:46 am

    Morewines click here from ecoworld.

    MM, I agree about lossless quality. In addition Morewines, if you find your quality is lacking you may be using an MP3 encoder rather than AAC encoder which imports all the information for a file. To get to your encoder quality you must select Advanced under the Prefences. Then click the importing…select encoder and setting.

    As for Grace…mheh. Guess I am being stubborn. Now Cat Power was the puddle I was stuck in when Gray was leading us to Grace

     
  10. morewines

    August 5, 2007 at 10:10 am

    Folks it’s a well known fact MP3s are not
    equal to CDA files.

     
  11. music maven

    August 5, 2007 at 10:15 am

    Didn’t say they were, just that I (with obvious less sensitive ear) don’t hear a discernible difference.

    At least not enough of one to overcome my disdain for the messiness of physical CDs and cases.

    To each his own.

     
  12. morewines

    August 5, 2007 at 10:35 am

    Shrew,

    “Political Economy Research Center”
    in the byline right there speaks volumns
    about that Web site.

    I wonder which political party paid for
    that inaccurate Website.

     
  13. music maven

    August 5, 2007 at 10:48 am

    Before this goes any further…

    This post was intended to poke at Gray Charles, not to induce an environmental issue debate. There are political sights for that, so let’s get back to the matter at hand — particularly, making fun of Gray’s Grace Potter fetish.

    I’ll have a couple of scrumptious posts up later.

     
  14. morewines

    August 5, 2007 at 10:59 am

     
  15. Gray Charles

    August 5, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    Poke fun? At me? Really?

    Hmm, perhaps this whole Grace Potter thing is a meta-analysis of some other phenomenon? Perhaps not.

    Still, if you didn’t see the Leno performance check my acocunt on Vimeo later tonight. I think I’ll have it uploaded.

     
  16. music maven

    August 5, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Yeah, I know…it’s like Freaky Friday. A bit of role reversal. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that.)

     
  17. morewines

    August 6, 2007 at 1:17 am

    Gray Likes the mini skirt thing going on. ;D

     
  18. Laurita

    August 6, 2007 at 1:31 am

    “Gray Likes the mini skirt thing going on.”

    Yeah, remember Gray and Dave Letterman losing it over Joss Stone’s mini-dress when she performed on the Late Show in March? they could barely contain themselves from her hotness ๐Ÿ˜‰
    that was some real “meta-analysis”…

     
  19. morewines

    August 6, 2007 at 1:41 am

    “Yeah, remember Gray and Dave Letterman losing it over Joss Stoneโ€™s mini-dress when she performed on the Late Show in March? they could barely contain themselves from her hotness ๐Ÿ˜‰
    that was some real โ€œmeta-analysisโ€โ€ฆ”

    Does that mean Gray is leg man?

     
  20. music maven

    August 6, 2007 at 6:46 am

    Gray is a man. ’nuff said.

     
  21. Gray Charles

    August 6, 2007 at 8:46 am

    Well, hardly. First, I didn’t “lose it” over Joss’ performance on Letterman. I don’t care who you are it’s easy to recognize that the performance was fantastic. Secondly, the fact that both Joss and Grace are attractive women is incidental to my enjoyment of the music. You can believe it or not but it’s the truth. I think I’ve established my music credentials enough for you to believe this.

    Am I being “testy”? Absolutely. That said, it is an interesting “meta” conversation. I read an interesting commentary somewhere else (by a man) that he was afraid that he was observing GPTN through “Grace Goggles” (ie – hot chick) and he was worried that it was clouding his analysis of the music.

    For me, Grace is much more interesting that Joss for a few reasons.
    1) Musically, more interesting
    2) More talented (Piano, Guitar, Voice)
    3) Economically – in fact, one of my first exposures to the band was based on my examination of how bands were still “making it” organically. GPTN never had a strong MySpace presence – they’ve been doing it via the JamBand circuit for quite awhile now.

    Perhaps talent does rise to the top? Don’t be misled by the videos of beautiful Grace. Listen to the music. It’s got a populist rock and roll, blues, soul (dare I say “Americana”) feel that you don’t often here anymore. Maybe that’s why I like it so much.

     
  22. music maven

    August 6, 2007 at 9:26 am

    Ok, you’re right. The man comment was out of line. You’re more than a man…you’re The Music Man. I agree with all of your points on Grace over Joss. Grace is much more “real” to me; whereas Joss has been glossed up and polished a bit over the last year or so.

    As for you ever touting an artist for looks over content, I think not. I mean Grace is a looker but no more so than Colbie Caillat and neither I nor even the great Bob Lefsetz could convince you on her.

     
  23. morewines

    August 6, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Ok Gray,
    You happen to be an online celebrity. People
    may poke fun at you once in a while.
    What are you going to do if SNL does a skit about you?

    I doubt any one so far on this topic has questioned your musicality. I, for one, enjoy
    reading what you have to say about music/musicians. Thanks for taking the time
    to write about music/musicians. ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  24. Gray Charles

    August 6, 2007 at 11:09 am

    I will pull out my ice skates because Hell has clearly frozen over.

     
  25. Dingo

    August 6, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Damn, ahm tryin’ ta like Grace Potter, I really am but it dont come easy for me. I dont dislike her at all, she just isnt resonating that goose bump thingy I get when I hear a song that makes me want to immediately hear it again….like for instance…Patty griffin’s “When It Don’t Come Easy” or her MLK song.

    Im trying to be more worldly when it comes to my music but I seem to be stuck in this “type” of sound that attracts me like a magnet. Its always the same sound.

     
  26. Dingo

    August 6, 2007 at 11:38 am

    So, can you music experts give me a place where I can listen to new music and discover “new” performers?

    I need a crash course in music 101. I love music, its what I wake up to, go to sleep to, cook to, contemplate to, make love to and all things in between but I seem to have this block on the music side of my left handed brain that keeps the music Im attracted to in a very narrow swath. Thats never good.

    Thanks. I need help in the music dept. I know I do and Im askin’ for it. URL’s please and thanks.

     
  27. morewines

    August 6, 2007 at 11:39 am

    ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  28. morewines

    August 6, 2007 at 11:44 am

    “Dingo Says:
    August 6th, 2007 at 11:38 am

    So, can you music experts give me a place where I can listen to new music and discover โ€œnewโ€ performers?”

    Well, you have come to the right place (where have I heard that phrase before :D). This is
    just one of many places.

     
  29. music maven

    August 6, 2007 at 11:54 am

    Gray Charles Says:
    August 6th, 2007 at 11:09 am edit
    I will pull out my ice skates because Hell has clearly frozen over.

    Does that mean the Saints won the Super Bowl?

    Uh, Dingeaux….Look around, cher. Sara Barielles, Colbie Caillat, Grace Potter, and I got more coming… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mixing the old with the new…

     
  30. morewines

    August 6, 2007 at 12:04 pm

     
  31. Dingo

    August 6, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    OK, thanks for the URL and for the specific artists mentioned. I dont come here everyday and so its very possible that I miss some really good shit. Thanks again.

     
  32. Dingo

    August 6, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    Oops! The URL was for hell freezing over. LOL, thought it was a place to find music. I need a glass of wine.

     
  33. eyecandy girl

    October 1, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    The url made the video stick it was like stop start kinda thing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
