RSS

It’s Rainin’ Men….

10 Aug

Ok, enough of all of the wimmin singers. My tastes in music really run to the masculine side anyway. And, there happens to be some really great male singers out there. I’ve noticed a definite “back to the basics” style of most of the boys out there now, which I thoroughly enjoy. There is real music by real musicians out there who are giving us some really great, memorable music and performances.

It seems to me that music by men is not a typical “macho” characteristic, yet most male performers are so honed in and down right good that they take music to a different level. I think that men in music make a stronger kun-NECK-shun in delivering the message of the music between melody and lyric, but maybe that’s because I am truly touched by sensitive and artistic men.

So I figured that I’d throw a few out there. Such a plethora of testosterone that is simply spectacular, and all are strikingly different.

Of course, there is the Silver Fox — the epitome of passion in music….

TAYLOR HICKS

A nice, new nugget of an old, familiar favorite:

Use Me, Taylor Hicks

Taylor is definitely “all about the music” and his love of music is readily evident and palpable.

Now, onto a few others that might not be as well known to you but are still hawt, in the musical sense, of course…

DONOVAN FRANKENREITER

It Don’t Matter, Donovan Frankenreiter

Donovan is “ungh”. He is a bit of a hippie and not you’re typical media star, but his bluesy-ness is superb. Here’s a bonus of Donovan with JACK JOHNSON.


Heading Home, Donovan Frankenreiter and Jack Johnson

 

 

MATT WERTZ

One of my music geek friends, turned me on to a relatively new artist named Matt Wertz. More to come on Matt, later…

5:19, Matt Wertz

 

 

 

CAS HALEY

Cas is a breath of fresh air from the cheesefest that is America’s Got Talent. From Dallas, TX, Cas is a dedicated husband and father and a rather unique talent. His performances on AGT remind me alot of Taylor on AI….not the “cookie cutter” pop star, he really brings some originality and huge talent. As with Taylor, however, I wonder if Cas can transcend the stigma of reality TV.

Easy, Cas Haley

Oh, if only Taylor had delivered this Lionel Ritchie classic as boldly.

 

 

 

BEN HARPER

Then, there’s Ben Harper. Flying under the radar for a few years, Ben is quite an eclectic talent. Here he is at Bonnaroo:

Burn One Down, Ben Harper

As as added bonus, here is Ben Harper with the Blind Boys of Alabama doing I Shall Not Walk Alone. I was gobsmacked when I first heard this version. Such honesty and sincerity where all of these gentlemen are obviously moved by the music.

I Shall Not Walk Alone, Ben Harper & The Blind Boys of Alabama

 

 

Likely one of the most passionate pairings on a song that I’ve seen in a while, this duo brings this classic to a new level:

RAY LAMONTAGNE & DAMIEN RICE

To Love Somebody, Ray LaMontagne & Damien Rice

Perhaps I like the acoustical nature, ala James Taylor, of these newer artists, but I also love that all of these dudes are incorporating all kinds of instruments including harmonica, slide guitars, stand up bass, etc. Here’s a funky turn from Damien Rice at Abbey Road Studios:

Volcano, Damien Rice

I have a love/hate relationship with Ray LaMontagne. While I find him eerily freakish in stature and demeanor, the man has serious chops and talent.

JAMES MORRISON

This young artist, moreso of all the others, beckons memories of Stevie Wonder to me. He also uses rich instruments…

You Give Me Something, James Morrison

 

 

GAVIN DEGRAW

While many perceive of Gavin Degraw as “commercial” but I happen to think he’s got alot of “soul”…here is Gavin pulling off a classic:

Tracks of My Tears, Gavin Degraw

and I just love this stripped piano, solo version of Chariot:

Chariot, Gavin Degraw

 

 

AMOS LEE

Of course, I love me some Amos. Here’s a recent performance of one of my favorite Amos tunes (for obvious reasons):

Southern Girl, Amos Lee

Why are we not seeing more of Amos?

MARC BROUSSARD

I can’t pass up an opportunity to talk about my “home boy”, Marc. Here’s some relatively new Marc vids:


I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
, Marc Broussard

Donny Hathaway would be proud.


Love & Happiness
, Marc Broussard (For those of you who never could connect to the Yahoo! link.

Lastly, here’s a tasty little bootleg:


Pappa Was a Rollin’ Stone
, Marc Broussard

 

 

JOHN MAYER

And lastly, there’s Johnny Boy. New Yorker, stoner, environmentalist, comedian….and damn-good musician. I have it on good authority that Mayer may actually be a stalker. (BTW, I’ve forgiven him the Jessica indiscretion.)

Talk about an artist that beckons the past….he brings it to life.


Come Back to Bed,
John Mayer with Buddy Guy & Double Trouble

While I highlighted John’s GMA performance with Eric Clapton a few weeks ago, this is a particularly lovely performance of the two guitar impresarios.


Heartbroken,
John Mayer & Eric Clapton

Clapton ain’t so bad, himself.

I’ve gone through many Mayer favorites, but right now it’s this one:


In Repair,
John Mayer

In more ways than one, Johnny Boy, in more ways than one.

So, what musical dudes in today’s music have I failed to mention?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2007 in dudes, Taylor

 

10 responses to “It’s Rainin’ Men….

  1. wompuss

    August 11, 2007 at 4:54 am

    Ummmmm….Lip Boy? (Paolo Nutini)

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    August 11, 2007 at 9:47 am

    Ray…needs a spot light of his own.

    Josh Rouse is rather pleasing as well.

     
  3. what

    August 11, 2007 at 11:25 am

    Cool to see Double Trouble again. Just wish their front man was there with them.

     
  4. Colette

    August 11, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    Lotsa great stuff here! Though I gotta say,as someone who also loves the boys (especially the great one I married): women singers can move me every bit as much! Aretha, Nina, Janis, Ella, Bonnie…..hey, those are some thrilling and sensuous voices….

    That said, I love connecting with these guys — and I’m so happy the folky-bluesy ones are getting more of an airing.

    Here’s someone I like a lot, Leroy Bell. He’s doing his own thing now, but he was a successful songwriter, working often with his producer uncle Thom Bell (Earth Wind and Fire, The Spinners, etc.)

    Here’s Leroy Bell/”I Dream of Peace”:

     
  5. colette

    August 12, 2007 at 11:33 am

    Oh, and thanks MM for the choice John Mayer — to be honest, I’m still sniffing around that “dude.” Not sure what it was (maybe the Jessica crap, which shouldn’t enter into the music, but I’m only human), but Mayer has hit me the wrong way even though I know he’s a fine musician. Nice to see the humility (and the chops) in that cut “In Repair”……

     
  6. sideways721

    August 12, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    Google alerts for Taylor Hicks led me over here today. Love the names you’ve mentioned. Ben Harper is a favorite. Hope to see Taylor go more organic on his next album. I’m a John Mayer fan, very talented guy. Hope I don’t see him on another tabloid cover anytime soon.

     
  7. Colette

    August 12, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    Oh, and here’s another guy getting some ink & deserves it: young, gifted Ryan Shaw. On his myspace page, there are several tunes — the first sounds so much Junior Walker (without the sax):

    singing Bonnie Raitt’s “I Can’t Make You Love Me”:

    by chance, here’s a clip of Ryan tearing it up on “Change Is Gonna Come” this year at Bonnaroo — first a capella, beautiful, then the band chimes in:

     
  8. Dingo

    August 13, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Christ….but I do so love Mayer. He appeals to all of my senses. Every single one of them.

    >>I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know, Marc Broussard>>

    I can never, ever listen to that song without hearing echoes of Blood Sweat and Tears. I can never fully appreciate it done by anyone else. Im very narrow minded in that regard on specific tunes.

    Marty Casey does a fantastic job on “Wish You Were here” but I understand that probably most in here wouldnt like him at all.

    I like Mat Kearney and who knew? but I have come to acquire a new appreciation for Tom Jones’ voice. His duet with Van Morrison on “Sometimes We Cry” is really quite fantastic.

    Thank you ever so much for the loads of music I have found in the last few days here.

     
  9. Colette

    August 13, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    Finally had a minute to watch that Cas Haley clip. Lordy! What a totally cool choice to put a reggae spin on “I’m Easy.” One reality show addiction is all I can manage, but I hope this guy has a lot more of that in him…….and, yes MM, that cheesy TV doesn’t stigmatize him.

     

Leave a Reply

 
