RSS

Radio Nowhere

28 Aug

ETA:  Lefsetz redeems…I love this guy.  Hell yeah, music should be FREE!

the-boss.jpg 

The Boss is back….with the E Train Band.  And today only, a track from his CD scheduled for release October 2nd is FREE for downloading from iTunes and here.

Thanks to Bob Lefsetz for the heads up on this one.  Seems that Bruce is trying to make a statement?

Radio Nowhere

I was trying to find my way home,
But all I heard was a drone.
Bouncin’ off a satellite
Crushing the last long American night.
This is radio nowhere.
Is there anybody alive out there?
This is radio nowhere.
Is there anybody alive out there?
I was sitting around a dirt dial
Just another lost number in a file.
Been in some kinda dark cove
Just searching for a world with some soul.

This is radio nowhere.
Is there anybody alive out there?
This is radio nowhere.
Is there anybody alive out there?
Is there anybody alive out there?

I just want to hear some rhythm.
I just want to hear some rhythm
I just want to hear some rhythm.
I just want to hear some rhythm.

I want a thousand guitars.
I want pounding drums.
I want a million different voices speaking in tongues.

This is radio nowhere.
Is there anybody alive out there?
This is radio nowhere.
Is there anybody alive out there?
Is there anybody alive out there?

(Sax solo)

I was driving thru the misty rain
Yeah, searching for a mystery train.
Bopping thru the wild blue
Trying to make a connection with you.

This is radio nowhere.
Is there anybody alive out there?
This is radio nowhere.
Is there anybody alive out there?
Is there anybody alive out there?

I just want to hear some rhythm (you swoon.)
I just want to hear some rhythm (you swoon.)
I just want to hear you swoon.
I just want to hear you swoon.
I just want to hear you swoon.
I just want to hear you swoon.
I just want to hear you swoon.
I just want to hear you swoon.

http://www.brucespringsteen.net/

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2007 in music, Music Today, Springsteen

 

14 responses to “Radio Nowhere

  1. shrewspeaks

    August 28, 2007 at 10:05 am

    Just did my part and downloaded. I feel so subversive. I also canceled my Sirus a ways back because it felt souless.

     
  2. Dingo

    August 28, 2007 at 10:25 am

    Im thinking (and maybe its wishful on my part) that the tide might be turning regarding radio and the crap music it plays. I think perhaps we might be seeing the end of a terrible era in music and for my part, a lot has to do with Taylor and Idol. I had stopped listening to the radio for the most part and then Taylor came along and for people like me, who grew up with music during the 60’s and 70’s, it awoke something wickedly strong in me. Something I thought I had lost long ago. I began to listen to music again and more importantly I began to get names of fabulous musicians from good people like you.

    I bought an iPod and now Im a downloading fool who occasionaly buys the whole album if Im so moved and I am so moved much of the time.

     
  3. music maven

    August 28, 2007 at 10:34 am

    Dingeaux, I agree…the drumbeat is getting louder and louder. And, at least for me, Taylor was the little spark that ignited the musical torch. While people can downplay that if they want to, props should go to Taylor for those, like us, who were “awakened”…just as Bruce sings about.

    If I were Taylor, I’d feel pretty dern good about that…even if it’s only 10 people. (although I suspect it’s a few more than that.) For me, music isn’t ALL Taylor Hicks, but I do recognize that he is the catalyst that brought me back to music and for that, I am truly grateful to the young man.

     
  4. Dingo

    August 28, 2007 at 11:02 am

    Agreed DD. Music is definitely NOT all Hicks, especially with the, IMHO, crappy CD he put out but as you said so eloquently, he was definitely the catalyst for me.

    The moment I came alive was when I first heard Taylor sing “A Change Is Gonna Come” in the auditions. That moment for me will go down with other memorable and unforgettable moments like where I was when JFK was shot and 9/11 and when John Lennon died. Thats how much of an impact he made on me. I was in the right place at the right time for once in my life.

    From that point on I was all about the music once again, just as it had been for me in the 60’s. I never went anywhere without my transistor radio. Now its my iPod but there were dozens of blah, boring and downright sh*tty years where the music sucked. Thanks to you and debs and so many others I was able to find many many new singers and musicians who have put the fun back into my life. Once again I stroll away from here with The Beach Boys “I Can hear Music” hanging out in my head. Life is good today.

     
  5. Little Deb

    August 28, 2007 at 11:20 am

    Hey everyone. I’m sure hoping that the tide is turning. I will join you in saying that Taylor Hicks did spark some sort of musical awakening for me also. TH led me to the internet which led me to sites like this one and I’ve learned about a lot of new musicians but I have also really been into listening to old music and music by some older artists that I have never heard before.

    Dingo – nice to see you again. I’ve had this song “on hold” waiting to “see” you somewhere. I think you might like to put it into your “songs to cry to” catalog. Apparently, Warren wrote it shortly before he died.

    Warren Zevon “Keep Me In Your Heart”

     
  6. Dingo

    August 28, 2007 at 11:29 am

    Little Deb, I already have that on my iPod and I love it but I wanted to thank you for a little gem you put out there many months ago by Buffet called “A Pirate Looks at Forty”. Its awesome and I know why you love it. Thanks.

    See? This is what ahm talkin’ about. Sharing music and swapping stories about music.

     
  7. Little Deb

    August 28, 2007 at 11:45 am

    Yep, sharing the music is the coolest part. I do hope Mr. Hicks is aware that he started this trend for a lot of his fans. When I hear a song most of the time it reminds me of something. Either a moment in time, a particular person (as with the Warren song) or a word or conversation will lead me to a song. I fix the hubby breakfast and lunch each morning and as I was buttering the english muffin this morning, I started singing “Oh Do You Know The Muffin Man”. Sometimes it’s corny, but its still music and it almost always makes me happy – or if it’s sad it still brings me feelings or memories. Music being such a strong part of me was kind of dormant for a while and I’m so glad it’s back in my life. As you said Dingo “Life Is Good Today”.

    P.S. I’m going to the Florida Keys for 2 weeks the first of October. 10/01 is my 48th birthday and 10/03 is my 20th anniversary. I can’t think of a better place to spend these special occasions. And yes, I’ve been listening to a lot of Buffet lately.

     
  8. music maven

    August 28, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Couldn’t agree with you guys more. BTW, how about this cover of Pirate Looks at 40? Who knew?

    I would have to vote for Tin Cup Chalice as a Buffett favorite that evokes memory.

    I’ve been thinking about doing some posts on sensory memory, so I think I’ll pursue that. For many folks, including me, music transports them to an exact moment in time…some joyous, some tragic, some life changing.

    Little Deb — My son will be 16 on 9/30 and our 18th anniversary is on 9/30 and our oldest son’s anniversary is 10/1, so have a Land Shark for me when you’re in Key West! Have a great time!

     
  9. Little Deb

    August 28, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Ummm. I’ll take my grandma’s advice about “if you don’t have anything nice to say……” about that Pirate cover. I had actually never heard Tin Cup Chalice before. I must not be a good Buffet fan. I liked it. Thanks.

    I don’t know if I ever posted about it here before, but another Island memory song for me is Leon Russell “Back to the Islands”. I can’t find a version of it to post, but if you can find it, give it a listen. At the beginning, you can hear the ocean waves. It used to be the official sunset song when my parents kept their houseboat in the Keys.

    I’ll have that Land Shark for ya. Another famous Keys drink is the Rum Runner. Haven’t had those in years. We used to call it the “Keys Disease” a/k/a Rum Runner Poisoning. I don’t think I ever want to suffer from that ailment again.

    O.K. – this was supposed to be about Springsteen right? How about this one (since I grew up going “down the shore” in Jersey).

     
  10. music maven

    August 28, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    See my ETA on the front page…I like Lefsetz’s thoughts on the fact that music should be free and shared…money made on the touring/merch.

     
  11. shrewspeaks

    August 28, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    AMEN to that! I guess it all goes back to supporting local acts. I remember living in VA and going to a local club and hearing great bands. This close to NYC…it’s either dismal or you go into NYC.

     
  12. music maven

    August 29, 2007 at 7:22 am

    The winds of change are blowin’, peeps. You can feel it.

     
  13. Colette

    August 29, 2007 at 11:07 am

    If the way my daughter raids my CD collection every time she comes home is any indication, there are a lot of young’uns who agree with all of us — even if it’s not so hip to do so!

    I do have Mr. Hicks to thank for helping me become more engaged in sharing music with other folks via the net, and (indirectly) for finding my way to MM who is such a kind hostess. And for also helping me to plunge into the myspace world and find some great young artists who I otherwise would never have stumbled (happily) over.

    I’m with Dingo on the disappointing quality of Taylor’s record — he lost me with that, and I hope he takes a cue from Ben Harper’s new recording etc. and gets back to where he once belonged.
    Little Deb, I know you love BH but please give those Beach Boy and Buffalo Springfield tunes I posted a listen just to hear where the Eagles and others came from. I’ve never been in the “Brian Wilson is God” camp, but his genius with melody and vocals is just exquisite…..
    Music is a fabulous continuum…..

     
  14. jenniesaunt

    October 31, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    MM said:
    Taylor was the little spark that ignited the musical torch. While people can downplay that if they want to, props should go to Taylor for those, like us, who were “awakened”…

    That’s worth repeating…It affirms Taylor’s “bringing back” statement at Workplay in August’06. Sure hope he reaches his potential with the next CD. As for me, I’m looking forward to seeing Taylor in PR.

     

Leave a Reply

 
