RSS

Into the Mystic

24 Sep

Because I feel like it….and it’s in my Top 10 all-time favorites.

Van the Man, from Moondance

Van Morrison Live

Not the easiest song to cover, but this is the best one I’ve heard.

Jakob Dylan and the Wallflowers

We were born before the wind
Also younger than the sun
Ere the bonnie boat was won as we sailed into the mystic
Hark, now hear the sailors cry
Smell the sea and feel the sky
Let your soul and spirit fly into the mystic

And when that fog horn blows I will be coming home
And when the fog horn blows I want to hear it
I don’t have to fear it

And I want to rock your gypsy soul
Just like way back in the days of old
And magnificently we will flow into the mystic

When that fog horn blows you know I will be coming home
And when that fog horn whistle blows I got to hear it
I don’t have to fear it

And I want to rock your gypsy soul
Just like way back in the days of old
And together we will flow into the mystic
Come on girl…

Too late to stop now…

 
20 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2007 in van morrison

 

20 responses to “Into the Mystic

  1. Colette

    September 24, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    ahhhhhhh……if Van the Man had just written THIS SONG ONLY he’d be in the musical pantheon.

    and “magnificently….”

    The man always has wonderful musicians with him, playing his splendid arrangements which are so much a part of this song. Loved hearing the young Van & the older: still the same magic bard.

     
  2. morewines

    September 24, 2007 at 11:36 pm

    For crying out loud It’s your Birthday.
    Why aren’t you celebrating?

     
  3. shrewspeaks

    September 25, 2007 at 8:47 am

    Hey…wikipedia says “It is among the most popular songs doctors listen to while operating, according to a survey made by BBC” That is wild. To me though..this song beautifully depicts yerning…and I mean Yerning with a cap Y. That delicate state where anything can stand in a lover’s way and he/she feels invincible because the yerning in their soul is so strong.

     
  4. brc

    September 25, 2007 at 9:26 am

    I’ve always loved this song. It has such a timeless quality about it.

    I’m really impressed with Jakob Dylan’s voice. I think he captures the melancholy of the song really well (though I don’t care for the instrumentals in his version).

     
  5. music maven

    September 25, 2007 at 9:30 am

    Yep. Yearning is a good word. Longing is another. I always loved James Taylor’s Terra Nova because of the “round” at the end and the lyric, “I’ve come home to stop yearning.”

    Alot of this song’s meaning is conveyed in Van’s delivery and his evident emotion. So key. I first heard this song in a movie with Mary Stuart Masterson called “Immediate Family”. She is a young unwed mother giving up her baby to a well-to-do childless couple (Glenn Close and James Woods — odd, I know). She plays this song and tells the adoptive mother that it’s a song her own young mother used to play all the time before she died and it evoked her mother’s memory for her.

    That always stuck with me. But when I heard that song for the first time, I sat through all the credits to find out who was singing it. “Van Morrison?” I remember thinking. “The guy who sings Brown Eyed Girl and Domino?” The next day I went down to the record store (pre-internet) and purchased Moondance and subsequently wore out two cassettes and a CD. For me, Into the Mystic unlocked my world to the wonderfulness that is Van, the Man.

     
    • shelly

      September 22, 2011 at 7:59 pm

      thanks, relive a memory I couln’t remember the movie , thanks

       
  6. Gray Charles

    September 25, 2007 at 9:58 am

    You forgot the other Irish dude.

    Glen Hansard

     
  7. music maven

    September 25, 2007 at 10:14 am

    Ah yes. Haven’t seen “Once” yet.

    Here is The Frames’ Astral Weeks

     
  8. brc

    September 25, 2007 at 10:40 am

    I saw that movie too. As I recall it was full of good music. If memory serves me right, later in the movie when Mary Stuart Masterson ultimately decides to let Glenn Close have the baby they play this:

    http://www.youtube.com/watchv=8ZX1o_2aUaY&mode=related&search=

     
  9. brc

    September 25, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Let’s try that link again:

     
  10. morewines

    September 25, 2007 at 10:59 am

    I have Moondance. Great CD.

    Love this place.
    No 1/2 ton pink elephants here.

     
  11. music maven

    September 25, 2007 at 11:10 am

    No elephants but lots of Tigahs! Whoo….

     
  12. music maven

    September 25, 2007 at 11:17 am

    brc — love that song! Whatever happened to Johnny Nash?

     
  13. Colette

    September 25, 2007 at 11:29 am

    MM:
    you have to see “Once” — such a sweet, subtle and honest little film, with completely raw and unprocessed music. It’s success is a great victory in the quiet revolution for a new folky tide. Thanks for the link, Gray.

     
  14. music maven

    September 25, 2007 at 11:30 am

    I will add it to my NetFlix queue.

     
  15. Colette

    September 25, 2007 at 11:32 am

    And lest we forget where Mr. Morrison seeks & finds inspiration — this is courtesy of his countryman W.B. Yeats, who also sailed “into the mystic”:

    I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,
    And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made:
    Nine bean-rows will I have there, a hive for the honeybee,
    And live alone in the bee-loud glade.
    And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,
    Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;
    There midnight’s all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,
    And evening full of the linnet’s wings.
    I will arise and go now, for always night and day
    I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
    While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,
    I hear it in the deep heart’s core.

     
  16. music maven

    September 25, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Dear Yeats. Such a bonny laddie.

     
  17. shrewspeaks

    September 25, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    Oh Colette…that is what Sean Thornton says in The Quiet Man…nice!

     
  18. music maven

    September 25, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Wait…The Quiet Man is my all time favorite movie and I’ve seen it like, 50 times. Where does Sean quote Yeats?

    Is it when he first sees White O’ Morning with Michealeen Flynn?

     
  19. colette

    September 25, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    That’s what I love! A popular music blog where you can quote Yeats, and everyone knows what the hell you’re talkin’ about…..

     

Leave a Reply

 
