RSS

Run, Baby, Run

26 Sep

So, it’s official. I am “released” from the doctor’s care. I’m still limping a little, but me and my new hardware are adjusting. Thought y’all might get a kick out of seeing the x-ray. If you look closely, just to the right of third screw from the top, you can see the fracture.

foot-xray.jpg

It’s been a long, hot summer that I’m glad is over. Hopefully, the healing process will continue and I can be back playing golf next spring. I’m still a little apprehensive about shifting weight onto my right leg, but I’m sure confidence will return over time.

In honor of my “independence”, here are a few musical selections:

The March, Robert Randolph and the Family Band

Walkin’ After Midnight, Patsy Cline

Run, Baby, Run – Taylor Hicks

Walkin’ to New Orleans – Fats Domino

Born to Run (Acoustic) – Bruce Springsteen

Walk the Line, Johnny Cash

Running on Empty – Jackson Browne

Walkin’ in Memphis – Marc Cohn

Run, Run, Run – Velvet Underground

 
23 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2007 in that's life

 

23 responses to “Run, Baby, Run

  1. Shrewspeaks

    September 26, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    Wahoooo!

    Happy Dance!

     
  2. later

    September 26, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Great songs! Enjoyed the one of Taylor Hicks especially!

     
  3. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 6:59 am

    Good morning MM. So glad you’re doing well. Belated Happy Birthday to you also. Hate to do this to you, but I couldn’t resist a little musical humor this morning.

    And here’s a serious one for your continued recovery and a birthday wish.

     
  4. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 7:07 am

    I’m having fun with the running/walking songs.
    Sorry for this one shrew.

    Ernest Tubb

    This is one of my favorites.

    Lou Reed

    Yes, I’m Old.

    Love Unlimited

     
  5. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 7:09 am

    Here’s one from one of my favorite female singers.

    Kathy Mattea

     
  6. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 7:11 am

    Here’s one for those southern rockers.

    Skynrd:

     
  7. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 7:15 am

    Put on you’re 70’s dancing shoes

    The Blackbyrds

     
  8. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 7:19 am

    One more. Sorry for being a blog hog. I’m having way too much fun with running/walking songs.

    Tom Petty

     
  9. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 8:10 am

    Sorry for ET twice. Can you delete a comment here?

     
  10. music maven

    September 27, 2007 at 8:17 am

    later…welcome. Glad you like my weird associations.

    Thanks, LD. What a delightful plethora of “walking” tunes…

    I dig Kathy Matea, too. Is it just me or is there something scary about Ernest Tubb? Maybe it’s the teeth or maniacal smile? Talented dude, but skeer-ree.

    Shrew — that, was hilarious. Bet he’s popular at Halloween.

    Hey, anybody know if jenfera is going to Big E?

     
  11. jenfera

    September 27, 2007 at 8:24 am

    I have it on good authority that I am indeed going to the Big E!
    😉

    The Big E is right in my hometown. We have friends coming up from New York state to visit and go the fair with us. We shall see if Taylor is in the cards or not. My husband is not a fan. Our guests don’t know him one way or the other.

    I am looking forward to seeing the Royal Canadian Mounties in action even if I don’t get to see Taylor!

    Congrats on your healing, MM! Here’s my contribution to the walking songs:

    U2 – Walk On

     
  12. brc

    September 27, 2007 at 8:44 am

    Yeah!!! MM’s back on her feet full strength.

    Love the Run Baby Run. I’ve heard Taylor sing that many different times and that’s one of the best renditions ever. Do you know which show that’s from?

     
  13. music maven

    September 27, 2007 at 11:23 am

    brc – Foxwoods, CT April 2007

     
  14. Colette

    September 27, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    Congratulations, MM! And wow, Debbi, pour it on…..

    I’ll add a little Beatles to that! They go with everything….


    ated&search=

    And some Nancy Sinatra too — I expect a photo of you in stiletto-heeled boots soon:

     
  15. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    Can I add a few more without getting kicked off????

    Sorry again shrew

    George Jones

    Chet Atkins (I was looking for the Tanya Tucker version)

     
  16. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    here’s the chet atkins (sorry)

     
  17. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    tony bennett

    The Shangrilas

     
  18. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 12:38 pm

     
  19. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 12:51 pm

    nat king cole

     
  20. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    I’m doing the wrong link things – sorry

    George Jones

    Chet Atkins

    Tony Bennett

    The Shangrilas

     
  21. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    Bob Seger

    (good, now I can blame it on colette. My brain is just on musical overdrive today.)

     
  22. Little Deb

    September 27, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    James Taylor

    The Eagles

    Paul McCartney

    Last one, I promise. MM are you going to have to go to physical therapy as part of the recovery process? If so – here ya go.

    Have a nice evening everyone. I’m off to start a pot of gumbo for dinner.

     
  23. morewines

    September 27, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    Bet you will start setting off alarms at airports.
    😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
