RSS

What Fall feels like….

03 Oct

Tupelo Honey, Van the Man

Ok, so Mobile, AL days are still 85 degrees, but the nights — oh, the glorious nights — are in the low 60s. The humidity has dried up and there’s a slight breeze. A few trees have started to take on yellowish and red tints and of course, college football is in full swing.

Fall is my absolute favorite season, no matter where I’m living. When I was in Louisiana growing up, Fall meant the build up and excitement of my birthday and back to school with friends, football games, victory dances and lazy Sundays at the park with music blaring from our parked cars.

When I moved to Baton Rouge, Fall was the bustling weekends of housework and handy work with the doors and windows open letting the fall air waft through. Again, music from the stereo providing the comforting accompaniment while we went about changing diapers and making our home improvements.

In Memphis, Fall took on a whole new meaning. A real season….with glorious colors and much more subtle temperatures. Early soccer games and late afternoon bar-b-ques with music piped outside to enjoy a tranquil evening and dinner with friends on the patio.

Through each Fall, Tupelo Honey has been there — encapsulating what Fall feels like for me. This rich song has the lyrics and the melody that garner the exact feelings of the season. But then, that’s what music does, right? Creates a memory. Invokes a memory. Pays tribute to a memory.

You can take all the tea in China
Put it in a big brown bag for me
Sail it right around the seven oceans
Drop it smack dab in the middle of the deep blue sea
Because she’s as sweet as tupelo honey
She’s an angel of the first degree
She’s as sweet as tupelo honey
Just like honey from the bee

She’s as sweet as tupelo honey
She’s an angel of the first degree
She’s as sweet as tupelo honey
Just like the honey, baby, from the bee
She’s my baby, you know she’s alright…..

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2007 in memories, that's life, van morrison

 

8 responses to “What Fall feels like….

  1. Little Deb

    October 3, 2007 at 8:41 am

    I do like autumn. Since moving to NY, I do have a lot of fun going to pick apples and pumpkins, making a scarecrow to put on the front lawn and stacking the firewood.

    This classic always brings up a memory for me. Growing up in NJ, my aunt lived with us and she was a Nat King Cole nut. I remember this song playing while we would be baking apple pies……Miss you Aunt Margie.

    Nat King Cole – Autumn Leaves

    Just a few other songs that remind me of fall:

    The Byrds – Turn, Turn, Turn

    The Brothers Four – Try to Remember (I know it’s October, but it’s a pretty song)

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    October 3, 2007 at 8:57 am

    Little Deb…I had no idea you were a Joisey Girl!

    Last Autumn…I brought the whole Astral Weeks cd to Paris with me. I played it non-stop. To me…autumn will always mean Van and Astral Weeks.

    It’s amazing how a certian tune like Tupelo Honey wih the sweet melody can evoke a whistful expression of leaves falling or refreshing off shore breezes.

     
  3. music maven

    October 3, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Ahhh, Shrew….off shore breezes….

    Summer Wind

    …sing it to me, Francis.

     
  4. morewines

    October 3, 2007 at 11:32 am

    Fall to me is Grape harvest time as the leaves on the grapevines turn burgundy, yellow and orange. The excitement of what the wine will be from these vines when released in a few years. Picnics in these colorful vineyards with great wine from past Falls and harvests. The smells of fermenting grapes floats through the air. Nothing like a walk through a barrell room for more wonderful smells.

    With my screen name what else could Fall mean to me. 😀

     
  5. morewines

    October 3, 2007 at 11:33 am

    Oh almost forgot. and some damn good music to go
    with the wine.:D

     
  6. jenfera

    October 3, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    I have grown to appreciate fall more now as an adult. As a child, all it represented was colder weather and back to school and responsibility. I still don’t like the colder weather (not that it has really hit here yet), but I do like starting to let things go outside. Close the pool, don’t worry about the garden and the weeds. Get cozy inside and listen to some good tunes!

    One of my favorite songs ever is actually more about fall than of the summer in the title. Beautiful video too.

     
  7. Little Deb

    October 3, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    Yep shrew. Born in joisey city, and raised in beautiful downtown Linden (you know – the town that has all of the factories in the state of NY located there). I graduated hs in 77, my Mom sued my deadbeat Dad for all the child support he never paid and gave me the money. I bought a brand new Fiat Spider convertible and Mom and I got on I-95 and kept heading south until the road stopped.

    Jenfera, I love Boys of Summer.

    Flying south in the morning. I’ll miss this place for 12 days. I will have a rum runner for everyone here though.

    This is corny, but I like John Denver and have been singing this one all day.

     
  8. Colette

    October 4, 2007 at 2:38 am

    We’ve nearly skipped fallthis year and gone right into winter. Through the rain, though, there are gorgeous bursts of color from golden, orange and red-leafed trees.

    Here’s my favorite cover of Van’s sublime song, by the marvelous bluesy jazz singer Cassandra Wilson:

     

Leave a Reply

 
