RSS

Memphis on My Mind

24 Oct

memphis1.jpg

Of the cities I’ve lived in, Memphis was my favorite. It’s just too far from “home” and from the water, but a great city. It’s on my mind.

Walkin’ in Memphis, Marc Cohn

I loved Memphis in May, The Pyramid, Mud Island, and The Redbirds. The people are inviting, genuine and eclectic. The skyline is dynamic and downtown has seen a pretty amazing transformation.

Memphis Skyline, Rufus Wainwright

Memphis’ musical history started with W.C. Handy, “King of the Blues”, and was elevated to new heights by Elvis Presley and Sam Phillips. Via Sun Records, Memphis produced Jerry Lee Lewis, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins and “The King” himself.

Memphis, TN, Chuck Berry & John Lennon

Memphis continues to be a “crossroads” from East to West, North to South, where music, good food, and great people meet.

I’ve Been to Memphis, Lyle Lovett

While different from Nashville in the type of music produced, Memphis is a “music” city….just a little more nitty gritty.

Music Makin’ Mama from Memphis, Hank Snow

A storied and turbulent history produces a spirit of perseverance there…an air of survival. It’s truly a Gateway to the Deep South.

My Heart’s in Memphis, Irma Thomas

From B.B. King to Stax superstars, Memphis has produced music that has shaped musical history with its wondrous “soul”.

Memphis Soul Stew, King Curtis

With fond remembrance of a great old, new city….I kinda feel this way:

Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again, Bob Dylan

Is everything old, new again?

 
18 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2007 in Memphis, that's life

 

18 responses to “Memphis on My Mind

  1. shrewspeaks

    October 25, 2007 at 6:14 am

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    October 25, 2007 at 7:49 am

    poop..the above link didn’t work…
    Here it is

     
  3. Little Deb

    October 25, 2007 at 8:11 am

    Morning! I gotta add a little twang to this.

    Pam Tillis – Maybe It Was Memphis

     
  4. music maven

    October 25, 2007 at 8:12 am

    Good one, LD. I’m a big Pam Tillis fan.

    However, I prefer… THE MAN.

     
  5. shrewspeaks

    October 25, 2007 at 8:29 am

    little deb…I thought I liked you…heh

     
  6. shrewspeaks

    October 25, 2007 at 8:30 am

    Hey Little Deb..I thought we were friends.

    Twang indeed.

     
  7. shrewspeaks

    October 25, 2007 at 8:31 am

    MM…now THAT is what I am talkin’ about. Whew.

     
  8. jenfera

    October 25, 2007 at 8:55 am

    One night and Memphis and I was hooked! I wanna go back.

     
  9. music maven

    October 25, 2007 at 9:44 am

    Thanks for that link Jen! BTW, I’m trying to comment over there again…under an assumed name. Don’t know if I went into moderation but it’s not showing up.

    WAAAAAA! I want to comment on the Onion Rings!!!

    The only thing better than onion rings are Memphis Fried Pickles.

     
  10. jenfera

    October 25, 2007 at 9:50 am

    Arrgh – need an edit button – obviously, I meant “One night IN Memphis” not AND Memphis. I am not even sure what that means.

    Well, angelfromlsu, your comment is not in moderation. They just do not appear right away, like on these nice WordPress blogs.

    Fried pickles, eh?? I’d try ’em. Sounds freaky though!

     
  11. music maven

    October 25, 2007 at 10:20 am

    Ohhhh, yeah.

    Fried Pickles

    RECIPE

     
  12. Little Deb

    October 25, 2007 at 10:56 am

    Ya gotta watch this. I was looking for a version of Johnny Cash “Going to Memphis” and fount this clip. It’s Johnny impersonating Elvis. Pretty funny. Oh, and shrew, Can we still be friends? I am from Jersey after all.

     
  13. Little Deb

    October 25, 2007 at 11:09 am

    Hey has anyone ever heard of Uncle Kracker? This is called Memphis Soul Song. I kind like it.

    sorry shrew

     
  14. shrewspeaks

    October 25, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    Must combat Twang Ahh, that is better

     
  15. Colette

    October 25, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    Oh, mama! That Dylan song is one wild & woolly piece of great poetry…

    wish my lord & master REv. Al Green had recorded a Memphis tune. He’s a resident, and his church is there…

     
  16. shrewspeaks

    October 25, 2007 at 12:49 pm

     
  17. shrewspeaks

    October 25, 2007 at 12:49 pm

     
  18. Little Deb

    October 25, 2007 at 4:01 pm

    Boy, I can’t type today. This one should wake everyone up.

    Seven thirty seven comin’ out of the sky.
    Oh! wont you take me down to Memphis on a midnight ride……….
    Creedence – Travelin’ Band

     

Leave a Reply

 
