RSS

Thankful

22 Nov

 

 

stained-glass.jpg

“Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name!” —Psalm 100:4

The first time I heard this song, over a year ago, I completely identified with it. Jonny Lang shows his versatility and sincerity in this wonderful tune.

ThankfulJonny Lang

Someones standing in a welfare line
Or off the freeway with a hungry sign
Someones stressing bout to lose their mind
I gotta be thankful, thankful

Someone just became a single mother
Someone just lost a sister or brother
Its so important that we love each other
And be

Thankful, thankful
Ive gotta take the time to say, that Im
Thankful, thankful
For every single breath that I take
Ive gotta be thankful, thankful

Someones sitting in a prison cell
Wasting away in their own personal hell
Everybodys got their own story to tell
Ive gotta be thankful, thankful

Man, I used to think I didnt have a lot
Now I realize just how much Ive got
Now every day Im gonna take the time and stop to be

REPEAT CHORUS

Any one of these so easily could have been me
But if it had not been for grace and mercy who knows where Id be

I’ve been riding on this roller coaster ride
Round and round Ive seen the up and downside
And I’m here to tell you that the secret of life is being

While it’s easy to find things to complain about on a daily basis, there is so much to be appreciative of today.

* Considering the unbelievable terror of six years ago, we haven’t experienced any real terror strikes.

* Personally speaking, I’ve been given a chance for a career change.

* For the most part, everyone’s healthy.

* For the first time in 10 years, my Mother is visiting for Thanksgiving.

* Our family is full of young, promising people.

For example, here is a rising star in young 17 year old Arielle Boutin, who is from Lafayette, LA and on scholarship at the Boston Conservatory of Music. She happens to be Mr. D and I’s great-niece. (GEAUX Arielle!!!!)

I hope that you are all feeling as blessed in this life as I am today.

Blessed – Martina McBride

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2007 in blues, holidays

 

5 responses to “Thankful

  1. Shrewspeaks

    November 22, 2007 at 7:32 am

    Awe Music to the Maven…What a wonderful post! I wish you big thumbs and all the leverage on the wishbone pull of life.

    Your words make me take stock in all the glories I do have. Hapy Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

    (“the wishbone of life”?)

     
  2. morewines

    November 22, 2007 at 11:13 am

    Everyone should take just a moment and think
    about what they have.

    Best wishes of the Season.

     
  3. brc

    November 22, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    While our year has been a difficult one… we are thankful as we know it could have been much worse.

    I am thankful that…

    Despite diagnoses of cancer, my husband and mother have recovered and are doing great.

    My daughter was diagnosed in August with a form of childhood epilepsy, but she is handling it like a trooper and we are thankful that it seems to be a type that only happens during sleep — making it much easier for her in terms of leading a normal life.

    I have rediscovered my passion for photography thanks to my friend Shrew.

    I have a lovely family, good friends and a special group of cyberbuddies who support each other in their various interests.

    We do indeed feel blessed. Happy Thanksgiving to all of you.

     
  4. jenfera

    November 23, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I was surrounded by family and a bounty of food. I was very thankful.

    Beautiful post, Maven!

     
  5. Colette

    November 24, 2007 at 12:19 am

    Tough year for me, but BRC you beat me by a mile….Good wishes to you & yours for a very happy, very healthy coming year.

    And I was touched by the Jonny Lang song. Something about that kid really moves me. Thanks for posting…

     

Leave a Reply

 
