RSS

Never Can Say Goodbye

28 Nov

ross-presents-jackson-5-350.jpg

So, it appears that the Jackson 5 — complete with Michael — will be coming to a city near you in 2008 on their “Reunion Tour”. Evidently, Michael’s vast empire has eroded to the point where he’s going to have to get back out on the road. Can’t say that I’m sorry as the J5, in their prime, were BOSS.

Color me crazy, but I would definitely pay to see Jackie, Tito, Jermaine, Marlon, and the Gloved One, once again. You see, in 1970, when I became musically aware, these guys were rivaled only by The Osmonds. Each had Saturday morning cartoons that I NEVER missed.

Of course, this was before Michael’s solo career and subsequent change from black to white.

j5era1.jpg invincibleera1.jpg

Scary, I know. But in the ’70s the J5 were the epitome of Pop Music Dynasty and Michael was the Prince (no pun intended).

While their body of work is not put up against the greats of the era like The Beatles or The Stones, The Jackson 5 were just as important to music during the same time frame. Their music was fun, endearing and exposed their extreme talent. Whatever happened to cause Michael’s foray into nutdom is unfortunate, but he was an integral part of a revolutionary band of brothers that produced some pretty phenomenal stuff….and dance!! OMG….

I Want You Back

I’ll Be There
Talent.

Let it Be
More talent.

Ben
I remember watching this in ’72 on the Sonny & Cher show. I was mesmerized.

Rockin’ Robin
One of my absolute favorite songs…2nd grade, on the swings…

Got to Be There
Hard to believe that this kid is like 12, singing this with such presence.

Pappa Was a Rollin’ Stone
Ah yes, 1977….when there was no such thing as political ko-RECK-ness.

J5 + 2 on Carol Burnett (Is it just me or is Michael way too comfortable playing Diana Ross?)

ETA:    The Love You Save — per brc

Blame it on The Boogie

Shake Your Body (Down to the Ground)

No matter what zaniness the years has brought the Jacksons, it’s hard to ignore the obvious talent and dedication that this family had to performing music. It will be interesting to see if they can fill up the auditoriums and if anyone really cares anymore.

Never Can Say Goodbye

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2007 in motown, oldies

 

8 responses to “Never Can Say Goodbye

  1. shrewspeaks

    November 29, 2007 at 12:21 am

    Sign me up!!!!…Ben the two of us need look no more…

     
  2. Little Deb

    November 29, 2007 at 10:44 am

    Hi there MM. I love I’ll Be There the best, but could not forget movin’ and groovin’ to Dancin’ Machine.

    I would love to go see their reunion, but can we get Michael to do some reconstruction surgery? Do they do nose augmentation or nose implants? And, maybe he can go to a tanning salon for a while before the tour? It just won’t seem right watching them do all those classics with the way he looks now.

     
  3. brc

    November 29, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    Now that there is a FUN post MM. I always loved the song Ben, but to this day can’t help thinking about the little boy in the movie and his rat.

    I know the tour is the whole group, but you gotta give MJ props for his Thriller album. That album defined my college years.

    Also, you missed my favorite J5 song of all time… Stop the Love You Save:

     
  4. music maven

    November 29, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    Righto, brc….I was remiss in omitting one of the best. I rectified on the main page. 🙂

     
  5. Jan

    November 30, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    If they some to Austin, I’ll be there.

     
  6. Jan

    December 1, 2007 at 12:13 am

    I have been watching all the videos and I have to say that I am completely blown away by I’ll Be There. Wow. Holy Shit. Who is the Jackson singing that is not Michael? There is so much talent in that family.

     
  7. sondan

    December 1, 2007 at 1:31 am

    I was right there watching those cartoons with ya dearie. Plus I recall a friend’s dad took me and my little friend to see the J5 on there first tour to a theatre in the round – but there was nothing to see but girls screaming and nothing to hear but girls screaming and my friend’s dad saying he couldn’t wait to get home (LOL)

    But I would love to see them perform again. Family voices always seem to blend so well together in harmony — whether they be Jacksons, Sylvers, DeBarges, Osmonds, Sledges, Isleys, etal.

    Let’s just keep out fingers crossed that this tour really happens. Jermaine has made this same announcement many other times over the past decades.

     
  8. music maven

    December 1, 2007 at 9:11 am

    Jan, I believe that’s Jermaine. He is also the driver in putting the reunion tour together.

    In later years, Randy also joined the group and of course, Janet.

    While their father has often been portrayed as a tyrant, he certainly recognized the talent of his children and got the most out of it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
