RSS

Christmas Carol Kun-NECK-shun

02 Dec

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…..hope you like the Christmas decorations.To appropriately ring in the Christmas season, I’m starting a new feature. Every couple of days, I’m going to feature Christmas Carols with their associated kun-NECK-shuns. I hope you enjoy it and the season.

Here is Sir Paul McCartney to kick us off…

Wonderful Christmas Time

Released in 1979, Wonderful Christmas Time, was offered as a bonus track on Wings’ Back to the Egg album. The “B-side” of this single is Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reggae. Shortly after this release, McCartney was arrested in Tokyo for traveling with a 1/2 lb. of marijuana and spent 10 days in jail.

kun-NECK-shun: Of course, Paul was one of The Beatles and the writing partner of John Lennon. Lennon and Yoko Ono wrote Happy Christmas in October of 1971 and although it was released for Christmas in 1971, it didn’t receive any significant attention until it was re-released in December, 1980, shortly after John Lennon was killed.

Happy Christmas (The War is Over)

kun-NECK-shun: The Beatles’ created and performed on the Apple label. They also signed, recorded and produced other artists. Among the artists that were part of the Apple label in 1969 was one, James Taylor.

JT does a wonderful rendition of Go Tell it on the Mountain, an old African-American Spiritual from 1865.

Go Tell it on the Mountain

kun-NECK-shun: James Taylor is a close friend of Joni Mitchell, who wrote River — beautifully covered by Sara McLachlan.

River

Originally included on Mitchell’s watershed album, Blue, River evoked memories of Joni’s Canadian winters as she reflected upon them from her sunny California home. Bonus kun-NECK-shun: Stephen Stills and James Taylor performed on the Blue album.

kun-NECK-shun: Sara McLachlan recorded the traditional God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen with Barenaked Ladies.

More to come……….

 
14 Comments

Posted by on December 2, 2007 in christmas, holidays, kun-neck-shuns

 

14 responses to “Christmas Carol Kun-NECK-shun

  1. Sean

    December 2, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    “Lennon and Yoko Ono wrote Happy Christmas in October of 1971 and although it was released for Christmas in 1971, it didn’t receive any significant attention until it was re-released in December, 1980, shortly after John Lennon was killed.”

    Interesting bit of information there.. not something I had ever heard before. It’s such a great song! Paul’s is too.. but they’re so different they can’t be compared.

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    December 2, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    The site looks great! And this is a fabu idea!!!

     
  3. Colette

    December 2, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Really nice redecoration job, MM! Love the new digs!

    Just want to say also what a trip it was seeing all those Jackson 5 clips….my favorite that was a new discovery: their “Rockin’ Robin.” What a joyous song.

    Michael could sing him some EVERYTHING back then. It’s a sad thing how fame can warp and contort and ultimately destroy vulnerable gifted people. Same thing happening, in another way, I fear for Amy Winehouse who just canceled the rest of her tour and apparently was getting terribly erratic onstage (and a mess off).

    Anyway! In a couple weeks I’ll be having my gall bladder removed and taking a few weeks off to mend. Hope y’all send me healing thoughts on Dec. 18, the day of the surgery.

    But I do have something up my sleeve for your musical enjoyment before that. It’ll come soon.

    In the meantime: while I love Christmas music (especially screwy pop versions of great holiday pop), I gotta be true to my people and add a couple of swell Hanukah sides in the name of cultural diversity! Check these out, even if you don’t know a latke from a French Fry:

    The first is a big band version of “I Have a LIttle Dreidel” by the coolest Frank Sinatra-style Jewish cantor I’ve ever heard, Kenny Ellis. Trust me babies, it swings:

    A classic — and the only thing I’ve really loved by Adam Sandler — his immortal “Chanukah Song” from Saturday Night Life:

    Last but not least, a Texas swing band’s version of the Dreidl song — twang it up, boychicks!:

     
  4. Jovanni

    December 3, 2007 at 4:07 am

    I love watching these videos over and over…

     
  5. brc

    December 3, 2007 at 8:13 am

    MM the new look is very festive. I love Christmas music. This will be fun.

    Colette you will be in my thoughts and prayers this month. Sending lots of pre-surgery healing thoughts your way.

     
  6. Colette

    December 3, 2007 at 11:33 am

    Thank you BRC! I’ll be happy for your good vibes for this procedure.

     
  7. Little Deb

    December 3, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    I love the decorations MM. Looking forward to all the Christmas songs.

    Colette, have a Happy Hanukah. My thoughts will be with you for a successful operation and speedy recovery.

     
  8. brc

    December 3, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    Forgot to add that Barenaked Ladies’ version of GRYMG is one of my absolute favorite re-makes of a Christmas song.

    Also wanted to add that Adam Sandler’s Chanukah Song is a hoot. I remember way back when he originally performed it on SNL. My favorite line is the one about Paul Newman and Goldie Hawn!

     
  9. jenfera

    December 3, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    I am ashamed to admit that the only version of I Have a Little Dreidel I have ever heard was on South Park.

    :-O

     
  10. John Salerno

    August 6, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    I wrote this song that plays along this Christmas animation site. It was written before a Christmas party when I first moved from snowy NYC to San Diego and I was confused by the warm, sunny weather on Christmas:)

     
  11. music maven

    August 7, 2008 at 7:11 am

    John’s site….

    http://www.santa.net/index-ca.html

    Nice song, John.

     

Leave a Reply

 
