RSS

The News That’s Fit to Print…and then some.

19 Dec

ma-rant.jpg

Up until last Friday, I somewhat chose my words carefully on this blog as to never have my opinions or thoughts adversely affect my employer if some internet nut ever connected the dots between me and my job and decided on some inane act of revenge. (Don’t laugh….I’ve seen it happen to a good friend.) While I’m not in the CIA or anything like that, I take my responsibilities to the folks who pay me very seriously and would never want to jeopardize their business or reputation by someone hiding behind a keyboard in dark room somewhere looking to settle a score for something I said on this blog.

However….last Friday was my last day of employment with my employer. I still love them all dearly but it was just time for a change. I’ll eventually be working in an independent roll for another company, but for the next few weeks I am unemployed. Unemployment provides me with the opportunity to say a few things that I have been biting my tongue about. So, allow me this rant. Just for today. And, maybe tomorrow.

Today’s rant is about delusional people.

I am so sick of reading and hearing the opines of delusional people. While some are harmless, like Alabama’s fans thinking that Nick Saban is the re-incarnation of The Bear; other “theories” can and do cause irreparable damage to people’s reputations, careers and lives. Take the Les Miles to Michigan situation. On the morning of the SEC Championship, before the game, Kirk Herbstreit of ESPN quotes a “reputable source” and says that it’s a done deal. Les Miles is leaving LSU for Michigan and the announcement would be made before Monday.

Now…I have to question…why? Why make that announcement before the guy is going out to coach a bunch of young men who don’t need to be hearing that their coach is leaving? And, as it turns out….it WASN’T TRUE. However, Herbstreit’s bogus announcement caused Miles to have to distract himself from his pre-game preparation, call an impromptu press conference and effectively take himself out of the running for the Michigan coaching job (his alma mater and dream job), even before getting to discuss an offer with the Michigan administration. Of course, there has been no apology from ESPN or Herbstreit for breaking a FALSE story and potentially jeopardizing a team’s shot a National Championship. I can promise you this….if LSU had lost to Tennessee, there would have been hell to pay at ESPN for that move.

As if that wasn’t enough, even after Les Miles signs his contract extension with LSU, the ESPN minions continued to call him a liar and lump him in with all of the scruple-less coaches who have lied about staying when they were actually going. **cough**Nick Saban**cough**. Matter of fact, right up until the Michigan announcement that integrity deficient Rich Rodriguez of West Virginia would be stalking the sidelines in Maize and Blue next year, ESPN was still berating Les Miles and saying, point blank, that Les Miles was going to be coaching at Michigan next year. Are they trying to affect LSU’s preparation to play Herbstreit’s alma mater, Ohio St.? One has to wonder. Maybe there’s no “motive”, just stupidity or a wanting for there to be a story so bad that you’ll make one up just to have it.

With the proliferation of the internet, in particular, people just say what they want even though there is no basis of truth to their assertions. One such preposterous claim is that these are not the same woman:

ears3.jpg
You tell me….

For those of you who are not enlightened, this is Caroline Lyders — the girlfriend of Taylor Hicks. However, there’s a faction of fandom that is proclaiming that the woman on the left — who happened to accompany Mr. Hicks to Hawaii in May and is currently in Asia with him — is an impostor. As the theory goes, Ms. Lyders was “hired” by Taylor Hicks to pose as his girlfriend to hide the identity of the chick on the beach. Why? Dunno. Makes no sense to me, but there are folks out there hell-bent on “exposing the sham”. They are determined that these two are not the same person. I’m like WTF? Unless that’s her identical twin, it’s her. But nooooooo, they say (among other very nasty things about this girl).

I’m a black & white kinda girl. Logical to a fault. That “conspiracy” defies logic. But, these folks go right along printing fairy tales and trying to get legs underneath the “story”. Despite the rationalization of “part of the sham” each time Taylor is seen with Ms. Lyders, will it ever be true that this lady is, in fact, involved with Taylor Hicks for these folks?

Maybe, like Les Miles, when something happens that is irrefutable proof that what they are doing is really what they are doing, people will just “Let it Be”, no? Sorry, I just had to work The Beatles in — this is a music blog, after all.

As for me, I hope that I can get as much satisfaction in Taylor and Caroline’s happily ever after as I’ve received from Rich Rodriguez’s move to Michigan. Taylor’s looking pretty happy to me…..

Rant over. For now.

 

15 responses to “The News That’s Fit to Print…and then some.

  1. jenfera

    December 19, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    You said it, my friend. Some crazy ladies out there have got way too much time on their hands.

    Speaking of conspiracies and Mr. Hicks, however, I do still sorta kinda maybe think someone in “the biz” doesn’t like him very much. My local ClearChannel radio station had a piece on him in the gossip report this week and it was just that same old recycled “fizzling” comment crap. Where the heck did that come from again? Of course, there was no source named, they just said “some article.” Yup, some misquoted article from over a year ago. And then the DJ’s went on and on about gee, whatever happened to him, I guess he’s just too cocky, blah blah blah. Meanwhile, I want to scream Hey, Maybe It Is Because Big Radio Like ClearChannel Refuses To Play His Music And Will Only Force Feed Us More CreedleDaughtryBack!!!!!!

    Gah! Thanks, I needed to get that off my chest.
    πŸ™‚

     
  2. music maven

    December 19, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    Nice rant, Jen. Yeah, Taylor definitely has an uphill climb, but the more I see of him, the more I realize that he’s on the bronc for the ride. It seems that the Asians love him….you know, in the vein that they adored Elvis, and James Brown, The Beatles, and Ray Charles. Taylor’s making GOOD money, concert halls are packed and he’s working on the 2nd CD.

    It’s really all good. I’m just secretly hoping he sneaks off and marries Ms. Lyders so that all the wimmins find another hobby. Hey, I hear that Blake Lewis is in need of fans…and definitely single. Maybe there can be a re-DI-reck-shun of aff-FECK-shun.

     
  3. morewines

    December 20, 2007 at 12:00 am

    Oh MM please don’t get into that BS. This is exactly what they want.
    Everyone to comment about that BS blog.

    It is very true about posting on the Web and employment. An employer
    will google the Web for info on a prospective employee. They look to
    see if they post on message boards and blogs. I can guarantee you this. Any class you take on writing a resume or use a consultant to help you with a resume will tell you this.

    So heed the warning all.

     
  4. AH

    December 20, 2007 at 4:07 am

    Hey MM,
    read often but post seldom – bad manners I know. Remembering some old “conversations” we’ve had, I can imagine it has been hard for you to be silent. I still believe that calling bs when you find it is a good thing. If all people see/hear is unchallenged bs then it becomes more credible with the gullible. But then if I remember correctly, we always seemed to think pretty much alike so am probably preaching to the choir here.

    Hmmm, am an employer and have sat on search committes for community and education positions. Guess “we be plain” [can’t resist the chance to toss in a T quote] because do not remember anyone ever suggesting checking to see if someone was posting somewhere online. Recently learned a person I know fairly well posts on a board I frequent and neither of us knew the other was there. Wondering how one would find someone without knowing their internet identity I guess. Know a couple HR people at large private companies and will be interested in their take on this. There are some good things about working for yourself πŸ™‚

    Need to go leave the comment in the Dan Fogelberg thread I came here to do before I forget it. lol

     
  5. music maven

    December 20, 2007 at 8:15 am

    morewines — I hear you. I really do, but sometimes it’s just enough. Just like the Les Miles thing….saying something over and over does not make it true. If I tell you your hair is purple when it’s obviously brown, you’re not going to just go along and say, “Yep. Sure is purple.”

    As for the employment thing, I don’t know how an employer would know unless they know your screen name or IP address, unless someone is using their fullname as their screen name. However, I still do feel a responsibility to refrain from writing something that might offend an employer. Just the way I’m built.

    AH — Thanks for commenting. I love that DF song, as well.

     
  6. Little Deb

    December 20, 2007 at 8:16 am

    Hi MM and everyone. Just wanted to wish everyone a Merry Christmas. I can’t comment on your football rant (cause there was no mention of PSU or Joe Paterno – lol). I have seen some of the stuff about Taylor and Caroline and it’s just plain scary.

    I hope it’s ok to go off-topic for two things. I thought you would like to know that Marc Broussard is playing at B.B. Kings in “New York City” (said with a southern accent) on January 13, 2008. I can’t attend, but thought that was pretty cool.

    Second, this is sort of a rant against Clear Channel. You might have heard about it, but if not, Billy Joel has written a new song called “Christmas in Fallujah”. He said that the lyrics are based on many letters he has received from our soldiers over there. All proceeds from the song go to a charity called Homes for Our Troops http://www.homesforourtroops.org/site/PageServer. He felt that it needed a younger artist to perform – one that was closer in age to the soldiers. The young man’s name is Cass Dillon and he’s from Long Island (I kind of like him). Here is a link to the video (the soldiers in the background are real soldiers) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=an7v6I2Bruo

    My rant is that the big NY rock station that plays Billy Joel all the time, refuses to play the song. There have been mentions in the press that Billy was not happy about this (he is treated like a God up here). This morning the DJ announced that you could go to their website to hear the song, but they still won’t play it. Now I’m very patriotic and have a few ex-soldiers in the family and I realize that some of the lyrics might be offensive to some or taken the wrong way – but the proceeds from the song go to a very well respected charity. Sorry for rambling. Back to the regularly scheduled program.

     
  7. music maven

    December 20, 2007 at 10:11 am

    LD — So kewl that ma boy, Marc, is playing NYC. I’ll have to give Cajun Boy in the City the heads up. A good friend of his used to date Marc.

    See, the Billy Joel thing slays me. So, Clear Channel won’t play that song because it might offend some folks (who lean left, no doubt — not that there’s anything wrong with that), but don’t hesitate to play songs with vulgar lyrics and encourage shock jocks to make fun of others and say disgusting things on the air. Whatever. Just another reason that I don’t listen to radio. Thanks for the links, though.

    Now, if Billy Joel truly believes in his song and his want of getting it played, he needs to go on the Today Show or GMA or whatever and talk about radio’s snubbing of his song. But he won’t do that, right? Nope. Because that would be biting the hand that feeds. However, when’s the last time you heard a NEW Billy Joel song? On the radio or otherwise….my take? He’s got nothing to lose in speaking out.

    Just remember….β€œThe only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” — Edmund Burke

    Good people, en masse, do nothing every day.

     
  8. morewines

    December 20, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    My information about posting using your real name on message boards
    and blogs came from a resume consultant that I used. She has been practicing for over thirteen years and holds a M.Ed and a CCDV.

    Employers do look for this.

     
  9. wompuss

    December 20, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    (posting using my real name)
    I was wonderin when I was gonna hear a rant from ya about all the crap floatin around on the Internets takin up space usin up bandwidth. I, for one, believe simply everythang I read on the Internets, don’t you all? ~LOL~
    I say, don’t let it get to ya, folks. The world can be a cruel, evil place. If you give it credence.

     
  10. hickifino

    December 21, 2007 at 12:39 am

    Kirk Herbstreit of ESPN, an Ohio State grad, should be fired. Rumor has it that he used his status as ESPN reporter to get into the LSU locker room before the game. There he told the boys that their coach was leaving, taking the job in Michigan.

    It appears that he did this purposely to rattle our boys and improve Ohio State’s chances. If this is true, Herbsteit is too immature to hold his job. He should be fired.

     
  11. celebrityblondebabe

    December 21, 2007 at 1:00 am

    Hello everyone! New here.

    Rant…
    There was a link that I can try to find that had a list of all of the Clear Channels that were still under investigation for Payola. Even in Canada. Some that shocked me…did not realize that they were Clear at the time. I am from Atlanta and there are NO requests on certain and most radio stations here. As a matter of fact… the DJs are no more than personalities…actors, so to speak. The station manager is TOLD who to play…so said one here in Atlanta, to me, in an email after his refusal to play a song that gets NO AIRPLAY.

    Next…
    Taylor needs to get down on one knee (after purchasing a rather large carrot weight stone) and ask the lovely CL to tie the knot. Knowing she will…paleeze. But, I hesitate to think of the twists and turns of the enemy’s responses…doubt that it will make it all go away…that monkey on T’s and CL’s back.

    Compliment…
    Glad there is freedom of speech around here.

     
  12. JaxNative

    December 21, 2007 at 7:08 am

    Excellent! No one could ever throw the BS flag with as much class as you.

    Glad to see you weigh in on the so called “fans” out there. It simply amazes me that so much energy is wasted putting out that negative crapola. Why not celebrate Taylor’s success and the fact that the young man that has made us so proud seems very happy?? I like you believe Taylor is “on the bronc for the ride”. How great is that?

    Football? Don’t even get me started on the pro-bowl voting.

    Have a very Merry Christmas … and a wonderful New Year.

     
  13. brc

    December 21, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    Gosh, somehow I missed this post between the DanFogelberg and the Christmas music posts. In any case, glad you let it all hang out. Hope you enjoy your time off and good luck in the new job πŸ™‚ You deserve it!

     
  14. jeanni

    December 28, 2007 at 3:30 am

    Hello,
    Better late than never! These so called fans who fill up the hate blogs with garbage about Taylor having a fake girlfriend is totally pathetic. The first sign of trouble were the Maui beach photo’s and the identify of the lovely young woman with Taylor, Caroline Lyders. It’s my opinion that the main culprit in charge of one particuliar hate blog is most certainly out for blood, Carolines…she is with Taylor, so that made him the enemy. See how totally childish it all is? I agree, it’s pretty dark on the internet. I think Taylor and Caroline are the real deal, period. Whatever they decide about their private life is fine by me, but, I’m not the enemy, I’m a REAL Taylor Hicks fan.

    Taylor’s career has been very successful, contrary to what some folks perceive “success” to be, they think massive (pay for play) CD sales is ALL there is. American Idol moguls believe it and they sure tell all of us Taylor Hicks fans about it, don’t they? Fact is, Taylor Hicks is doing great and things will only get better and better. NO doubt about it, the man knows what he’s doing and that includes his personal life.

    I love college football, but I won’t comment either! Happy New Year everyone! Can’t wait to see Taylor singing at half time during the Liberty Bowl! Thanks for a great blog and a place where the owner (you)understands what the TRUTH really is, nice, VERY nice!

    PS: I’m a professional business woman and I can tell ya right now. If I searched the internet to investigate a potential employee and whether or not they were posting on websites, I would be laughed out of my office. NO way. Just my take on the earlier messages regarding this so called common practise? Afraid that poster has spent too much time listening to FAKE tales on Taylor / Caroline hate blogs. A little advice, there is ALWAYS an angry Ex-boyfriend (husband, etc.) behind some of these so called bash blogs…Keep that in mind girls. If you don’t believe it, I have a big ole bridge to sell ya and it’s cheap too!

     
  15. music maven

    December 28, 2007 at 11:15 am

    jeanni — I appreciate your thoughts and comments. I’ve been a Taylor fan from the beginning, but I have to admit the “out there” factions of his fanbase have definitely pushed me away. I think alot of “mainstream” fans who like Taylor for the music and really want to see a good guy make it have been turned off by the zealousness of his fans (on all sides of the equation).

    IMO, Taylor has lost credibility with serious music people. I know that sounds snobbish and believe me, I’ve been accused by Taylor’s REAL fans of such. It seems that people that who want to have real, intelligent discussions about music (including Taylor as only a small part of a BIG music world) are not REAL Taylor fans. Seems to me, that’s exactly the kind of fan that Taylor would like to have. I used to think that the Soul Patrol was an asset, but mark it down folks…I was wrong. I think it’s now an albatross.

    I think it’s insane to be enlarging and examining ear structure to try to create or dispel any conspiracy. At first, I couldn’t understand why Taylor didn’t just put his legal team on people. I was enlightened by a friend who told me that because of his “fame”, he really can’t do anything to anyone that prints these kind of things unless it involves criminal behavior. It’s basically why the tabloids are allowed to exist.

    Carolyn Lyders would likely not be successful in that kind of suit, as well, as she is a recognized public figure and basically, fair game. The only ones that have any kind of case is Aaron Ruffcorn or Gray Charles; and for them, I have to think that the cost is simply not worth the benefit. Most people think that if you don’t feed the monster, it’ll go away. Speaking as a totally unattached observer — the whole thing is just incredibly sad. Sad, that people feel the need to tear down and belittle others while hiding behind a keyboard and anonymity. Sad, that what started out as so much fun and so positive (Taylor), is now like a pariah for many of the people that were such supporters.

    As for morewines’ comment, that is their experience. We’re all in different parts of the country, so maybe where they are and in the companies that they have had experience with, investigating internet usage is done. I do know that companies monitor their own internet traffic and can monitor people surfing and commenting at work.

    All I can really control is what goes on here, in my little corner of the blogosphere, and as long as the dialog is music-oriented, respectful and thoughtful, then all are welcomed. I’ll continue to cover Taylor, where relevant, as part of the big music world where I hope that he eventually shines as bright as he deserves.

     

Leave a Reply

 
