RSS

The Thunder Rolls….Or Not.

27 Jan

ib0garthbrooks12.jpg

Oh. My. Gawd.

Friday night, I happened to be channel-surfing and saw that CBS was carrying a Garth Brooks’ concert, live from L.A., to benefit the firefighters who fought the recent wildfires out west. Having nothing better to do at 9:00pm, CST (yes, I’m old), I decided to tune in a see old Garth do his magic.

You see, in my “Blue” period, I was a huge Country Music fan and other than George Straight, Garth Brooks was as big of a country artist as it gets. Garth had many hits in the 80s and 90s and I always had a particular fondness for his ballads like To Make You Feel My Love (written by Bob Dylan) and The Dance.

His concerts were legendary for the passion in his performance and the overall high-energy. Everyone that I’ve known who has attended one of Garth’s shows said two things: 1.) It was worth every penny they paid; 2.) The guy is seriously talented.

So, I looked forward to settling in, hearing and seeing the great Garth Brooks, and being wowed once again. Unfortunately, it was not to be. Garth was really off. I don’t know if he couldn’t hear his tone, was ill or just way rusty, but virtually every song was out flat or out of tune and at points he seemed to be screeching. He covered with a bunch of yells to the crowd and let them sing some verses, but it was just not good. It was more glaringly evident how bad it was when his wife, Trisha Yearwood came out and sang perfectly in tune and then again, when Huey Lewis came out and sang Workin’ for Livin’.

Here’s an excerpt of Friday night’s Garth:

Callin’ Baton Rouge

The unofficial anthem of Louisiana may have been irreparably damaged. Now, contrast that with the loveliness of Garth past, singing one of Mr. D’s all-time favorite songs:

The River

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2008 in Country, music dudes, Reviews, Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “The Thunder Rolls….Or Not.

  1. brc

    January 27, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Gosh, what’s up with that? The song you posted is kind of frenetic, was he just out of breath or was he that bad throughout the concert?

     
  2. Little Deb

    January 27, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    I’m so glad you felt that way MM. I was a huge Garth fan and saw him in concert a few times and he was one of the best performers I’ve ever seen. I was watching Friday night, but had the sound on the TV way down because hubby was sleeping. I kept thinking – this can’t be what he really sounds like. It must be because I have the sound down. I mean this is Garth, he can’t sound this bad. I didn’t even watch the whole show because I just wasn’t enjoying it. The Dance is still my favorite. And the way he performed live back when I saw him was pretty amazing. I sure hope he was just having an off night.

     
  3. music maven

    January 27, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Yep, brc, it was pretty much that way for the whole thing.

     
  4. thedingoateyobaby

    January 31, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    No one was a more huge Garth fan than I was in the early 90’s. I have seen him live 3 times. He was awesome, he was a true superstar, he is the one who got me to listen and to eventually love country music. Course, my new love in country music is Keith Urban but thats another story for another topic. Back to Garth. He was about as bad as he could be on that Friday night. Shit, I was embarassed for him, I was cringing from one off note to the next. The saving grace of that night was his wife Trisha Yearwood who has, IMVHO, one of the greatest, purest voices I have ever heard.

    Garth Brooks will always be an icon, an idol, a person who truly changed the face of country music but today? he is a shadow of who he once was and Im not sure its even fair to expect anyone who has risen to those heights to ever be able to get that high again. His new song “More Than A Memory” brings tears to my eyes, its gorgeous and I love it but I think Garths best days are behind him. He was never a pure vocalist, he was always a hyperactive showman. He is older, out of shape and no way can he keep that kind of energy going.

    I love him anyways.

     
  5. country musician

    March 4, 2008 at 10:32 am

    I used to never listen to country music, but it’s changed. A lot of it is more mainstream and I like that. Plus the women are hot and that makes everything better!

     

Leave a Reply

 
