RSS

Daddy’s Little Girl

12 Feb

I’m still caught off guard by the way that a certain song at a certain time can just grab you and wring every ounce of emotion out of you.

I was starkly reminded during a recent wedding reception that we attended.  This is Mr. D’s baby brother, 10 years his junior.  Mr. D is the oldest of seven, so they are all very close in age and very close, in general.

ad-md.jpg

Baby Bro has six kids and this is his second to marry within a year.  Number one son was married in May of last year in a beautiful outdoor ceremony.   Now, it was time for his oldest daughter…the soccer star who left home at 18 on a college scholarship and after a storied college career has become a neo-natal nurse in a Southern city six hours away.  We all knew that this one was going to be a little tougher on Baby Bro and his father’s death a few days before no doubt made it even more difficult.

However, he held up pretty well.

dad-and-girl-2.jpg

Even when he had to kiss her goodbye and give her away.

dad-and-girl-three.jpg

But then, someone interjected the cruelty of a song for the traditional Father/Daughter dance that left many in the crowd (yours truly included) in a puddle of tears.

dad-and-girl-7.jpg

Even my burly nephews were wiping away the tears.  I think all of the parents there were acutely aware of the feelings when you realize that your work is really done and that while you will always be there to help and care, that baby you brought into this world no longer needs you to survive.  They are beautiful, independent people starting their own journeys and creating their own stories.

dad-and-girl-6.jpg

With such a large loss only a few days before, this moment had significant poignancy as a son remembered his father and saw his father’s reflection in his own daughter’s eyes.

dad-and-girl-5.jpg

Admittedly, I had heard this song before but never really took the time to listen to the words and the emotions in Tim McGraw’s voice.  The father of three daughters, I imagine little pictures of them flashed through his mind just as pictures of this lovely bride through the years flooded her Daddy’s memory.

  My Little Girl

Gotta hold on easy as I let you go.
Gonna tell you how much I love you,
though you think you already know.
I remember I thought you looked like an angel wrapped in pink so soft and warm.
You’ve had me wrapped around your finger since the day you were born.

Chorus:
You’re a beautiful baby from the outside in.
Chase your dreams but always know the road that’ll lead you home again.
Go on, take on this old world.
But to me you know you’ll always be, my little girl.

Verse 2:
When you were in trouble that crooked little smile could melt my heart of stone.
Now look at you, I’ve turned around and you’ve almost grown.
Sometimes you’re asleep I whisper “I Love You!” in the moonlight at your door.
As I walk away, I hear you say, “Daddy Love You More!”.

You’re a beautiful baby from the outside in.
Chase your dreams but always know the road that’ll lead you home again.
Go on, take on this old world.
But to me you know you’ll always be, my little girl.

Verse 3:
Someday, some boy will come and ask me for your hand.
But I won’t say “yes” to him unless I know, he’s the half
that makes you whole, he has a poet’s soul, and the heart of a man’s man.
I know he’ll say that he’s in love.
But between you and me. He won’t be good enough!

You’re a beautiful baby from the outside in.
Chase your dreams but always know the road that’ll lead you home again.
Go on, take on this old world.
But to me you know you’ll always be, my little girl.

Pardon me.  I’m still a little verklempt. 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2008 in Country, music imprints, that's life

 

4 responses to “Daddy’s Little Girl

  1. Randy Nichols

    February 12, 2008 at 11:22 am

    I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    – Randy Nichols.

     
  2. brc

    February 12, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Ok I’m sitting here sobbing and I don’t even know any of these people. I’ve never heard this song before. It’s beautiful.

    And your neice is a beautiful bride.

     
  3. Mark Sr

    February 16, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Dawn….. just relived that night again…..
    thanks and it was well said and accurate….gotta to go call my little girl…… Frank the TANK

     
  4. music maven

    February 16, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Y’all throw the best weddings, Big Mark.

    Love ya.

     

Leave a Reply

 
