RSS

Top 8 Boys…and I do use the term loosely.

04 Mar

americanidolamerican-idol-posters.jpg

I really don’t know why I am still watching this predictable cheese other than habit and to witness the same old scripting, pimping and contrived outcomes, to satisfy my “wreck on the side of the highway” curiosity.

This week was no different. I must say that the male testosterone is sorely lacking in this bunch. From Wham! to the Male Stripper to Little Davie Chimichanga and the Covergirl, Danny, I’m at a loss to name a real man’s man. (I refuse to acknowledge Michael Johns as he’s NOT American and he’s a plant.) Did Season 5 just suck out all of the testosterone in L.A.?

One bright spot….Finally, a good song choice on American Idol. Jason Castro, a/k/a Dread Baby picks the great Leonard Cohen’s Hallejuah. And, oddly, I liked David Cook’s Hello with the guitar accompaniment.

I’m not sure that I can endure the girls.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2008 in american idol

 

8 responses to “Top 8 Boys…and I do use the term loosely.

  1. Jan

    March 5, 2008 at 12:34 am

    MM: I agree with you about tonight’s show mostly. Jason Castro was the highlight of the night.

    Luc whomever, sucked so bad. I am sad that he’s so pretty but he really has to go.

    I don’t feel strongly about anyone else.

     
  2. somebody

    March 5, 2008 at 8:42 am

    Save yourelf – stop watching – it ain’t good for the soul.

    Others have gone before you. I’d rather hear more about Amos and Brandi, this other stuff is gumming up the works.

     
  3. Shrewspeaks

    March 5, 2008 at 9:22 am

    I can’t believe I even liked a Lionel Ritchie song…but snipy David Cooke did a pretty good job on it.

    But Castro Convertible…LOVED that he chose Leonard Cohen. he gets props for just music choice…then double props for actually connecting with the lyrics and rendering a tender interpretation. He did miss the end…but I always felt that song is a runaway train.

     
  4. music maven

    March 5, 2008 at 9:51 am

    I think somebody is on to something. Idol just makes me tired. I had planned to do recaps on each show, but I have really lost interest. I’ve been DVRing The Biggest Loser to watch Idol. Think I’ll just go cold turkey and stick with the REAL music.

    If Dread Baby makes the finals, maybe I’ll watch but the odds are SO against that.

     
  5. AH

    March 5, 2008 at 11:02 am

    somebody, well said !

    Last year I recorded and watched bits if there was something said that caught my interest and watched Top3 night after reading the song assignments. Wanted to see how they would scuttle Melinda Doolittle since had no doubt they would despite all the lip service about her great voice. Just in case giving her Nutbush wasn’t enough, they styled her to make her visually unappealing to those who care about that (unfortunately that’s a lot of the AI audience). They are frighteningly good at manipulating their viewers.
    Recorded the first couple of shows this year, realized I just didn’t care enough to watch them even with all the chatter, and deleted the auto-record.
    It didn’t hurt a bit šŸ™‚

     
  6. Colette

    March 5, 2008 at 11:14 am

    maybe Castro will sing an Amos Lee tune next? Nah, they wouldn’t let him…..

    Boy, it’s become so irrelevant. I watched a little last night and heard Simon say things like, “You’ll definitely be in the top 2” and “you don’t have a chance, forget it”, with such authority that I remembered….oh, yeah,the fix is in, they want Little David to win, and so he’s going to…..

     
  7. brc

    March 5, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    I missed the show last night ’cause I had to work. After last week I had decided that I might just stop watching altogether. Your recap of last night makes me even more convinced that it’s a waste of my time.

     
  8. anonimouse

    March 7, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    very nice article bro. šŸ™‚

    Get your lyrics online on http://www.lyrics-x.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
