RSS

In My Own Eyes…More Brandi Carlile

11 Mar

Another Brandi song that shows her writing and singing prowess is In My Own Eyes.

Again, the lyrics are very powerful and so insightful.  Most of her music is just so substative and interesting.

Hold me down lift me up
There’s someone on the bedside waiting there for me
I hear my name, turn around
There’s gotta be a downside, something I don’t see
Around me
Hide me
Dying in the light of the room
Blind side please
I don’t really want to be seen
In my own eyes

Something’s wrong
Awake all night
‘Cause I can feel the dark side
Closing in on me

Do you see me
As I see myself?
I promise there’s a downside
Something you can’t see

Hide me
Dying in the light of the room
Blind side please
I don’t really want to be seen
In my own eyes

Lost in translation
Free to fall
One situation
And lose it all

Hide me
Dying in the light of the room
Blind side please
I don’t really want to be seen

Hide me
Dying in the light of the room
Blind side please
I don’t really want to be seen
I don’t really want to be seen
In my own eyes

Again, I can do relate and identify.  Like most music that I love, her lyrics hit the mark and strike a chord.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2008 in brandi carlile, Good Stuff, music chicks

 

6 responses to “In My Own Eyes…More Brandi Carlile

  1. Shrewspeaks

    March 12, 2008 at 7:26 am

    Part of the street team reporting back here…

    In Denver, heared Johnny Cash…and steered the conversation to Brandi.

     
  2. Bama

    March 12, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    This song is so powerful to me. I really relate to the lyrics…especially these:

    “Do you see me
    As I see myself?
    I promise there’s a downside
    Something you can’t see.”

    That is my greatest fear…that people don’t really know me the way I know myself…and that if they get close enough..they’ll see what I see…and leave.

    (Gee…that was personal.)

     
  3. D

    March 13, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Finally a blog that doesnt worship brandi carlile! http://www.theonlyconstantcritic.blogspot.com!

     
  4. music maven

    March 14, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Perhaps so many blogs “worship” Brandi Carlile because WE LIKE HER.

    As for the Constant Critic, I can understand our disagreeance when I see the post right below the Brandi bash.

    Hillary for President. Yes she will.

    Jus’ sayin’….

     
  5. D

    March 22, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Hey I like her too JUS’ SAYIN’ She could write better songs! Comeone shes not 16 anymore!

    GO HILLARY!

    What does Hillary Clinton have to do with my comments on Brandi carlie? That was a differnt post

    Jus’ sayin’

     
  6. jc

    March 24, 2008 at 10:55 am

    I love Brandi too!

    But I also love an objective opinion.

    Brandi has powerful voice which resonates beautifully both harmonically and emotionally. I think she could sing the directions on the back of a shampoo bottle and folks would swoon…

    But, I can understand where D is coming from regarding lyrics. Sometimes they are very cryptic and one can relate only to bits and pieces. Music is poetry and sound meant to evoke emotion and thought. I understand much of Brandi’s lyrics/music was written when she was a teen. If that is the case, then that would certainly account for the immaturity of the lyrics in many of her songs.

    I believe we will see a marked difference in her next album. She is all grown up now with a bigger vocabulary and set of life experiences from which to draw.

     

Leave a Reply

 
