RSS

Odd Coincidence

18 Mar

In my vast and intricate exploration of the internets, I uncovered something of an odd coincidence.

Now, mind you, I am not watching American Idol anymore, mainly because I’ve been so dern busy that I haven’t had time. Now, The Biggest Loser, Top Chef, and John Adams are all competing for my precious time and frankly, are more entertaining. However, several of you have kept me indirectly abreast of the happenings on AI.

Through such back channels, I heard that Chikezie had one of the best performance during Beatles’ Week. So, in an effort to stay up to speed, I consulted the music authority of YouTube.

When I previewed Chikezie’s performance, something was oddly familiar, so I dug a little deeper. I found that this was the first performance of the Top 12 finalists on American Idol and the new “big stage” where the bulk of the competition is held and contestants really learn how to “work” the cameras.

I must say that I loved his performance. He put a very different twist on She’s a Woman, yet it didn’t come off silly or contrived as the blondette’s Country version of Eight Days a Week. His performance was just different enough, yet remained the familiar melody we are all so acquainted with. It was evident that the judges loved it, as well. It’s here that something oddly familiar hit me.

Compare the Top 12 performance of Chikezie’s She’s A Woman to Taylor Hicks’ Season 5 Top 12 performance of Livin’ for the City and tell me that there not some very odd similarities.

Chickezie, She’s a Woman

Taylor Hicks, Livin’ for the City

Notwithstanding Ryan the Little Pixie’s antics, the judges remarks are eerily similar. This could bode well for Chikezie.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2008 in american idol, taylor hicks, the beatles

 

16 responses to “Odd Coincidence

  1. Bama

    March 18, 2008 at 8:19 am

    Memories…light the corners of my miiinnd…

    Umm…the biggest difference I can see is that Taylor made a huge impact from the first second he appeared on our screens. Although I loved Chikeze last week…prior to that he came off as an arrogant guy with a decent voice.

    Taylor was charming and humble from the very first moment.

     
  2. music maven

    March 18, 2008 at 9:27 am

    You are so right, Bama. Also, Taylor looked much hotter in that suit than Chikeze in the argyle sweater and tie. However, the judges comments at the same point in the competition were interesting. I truly wonder if they have a “formula” that they follow.

    BTW, I still say that there will never be another AI season like AI5 and Taylor won…he was the best of the best and they can’t take that away.

     
  3. caryl

    March 18, 2008 at 11:14 am

    I got this in a google alert. Damn, you actually got me to watch an AI performance this year! I haven’t been watching because I don’t enjoy being manipulated.

    But Chikeze was good in this clip. And our dear Taylor. *sigh* Season 5 was so fun. Yes, the judges comments were oddly similar: all happiness and light. BTW-what was in Taylor’s hand? A harmonica?

    I’ve been here before but have never commented.
    Bad reader! I should have let you know before that it’s a pleasure to read a thoughtful, well written blog like yours.

    I always leave a link to my blog when I visit some place new, but I feel funny doing it here because I don’t want you to think that’s the only reason I’m commenting. *thinking* Yeah, I’m not gonna do it.

    OK, thanks for your blog! I’ll be back.

     
  4. music maven

    March 18, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Thanks, caryl.

    Leave your blog link, please. It’s cool.

    Yes, Taylor had that wonderful little harp in his hands. I can remember praying that he’d break out in harpage at some point in the competition, but he played by the rules.

     
  5. Colette

    March 18, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    I’ve often thought how unseemly and just plain stupid they are to “disown” Taylor over at AI because he didn’t sell a gazillion records. I didn’t like his first album much, but he was so great on the show and I’m holding out hope for a really soulful second disc.

    Now it’s confession time: I can’t bring myself to watch AI anymore either, but I have scanned some youtube performances. Most I can’t get through to the end BUT I’m in danger of having a favorite: David Cook. Y’all may totally disagree, but he rocks out in a much sunnier, more musical, unpretentious way than Daughtry (who never did a thing for me with that broody metal wannabe stuff).

    I’m especially found of Cook’s fun take on “Happy Together.” But that year with Taylor was so much more fun, and I miss my Lakisha Jones fixes…..

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_8umHolHgE — “Happy Together,” David Cook

     
  6. caryl

    March 18, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Well, shucks, if you insist! Warning- my blog is not as cerebral as my fair music maven’s is, (in fact, it’s downright goofy) but here ya go:
    http://a-caryling.blogspot.com/2008/03/taylor-tuesday-album-cover-ideas.html

    I think that’s so damned cute that Taylor had his harp in his hand, like a security blanket.

    Colette: I was pretty angry at AI this year and have refused to watch it, but I have to admit these tiny glimpses I’m getting of this year’s performances are wearing me down. I dunno, tho. Those poor saps don’t seem to realize that it doesn’t matter who wins.

    Oy, don’t get me started.

     
  7. Shrewspeaks

    March 18, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    First…I must say until top 12 I was waivering…I don’t know if it was the Beatles or the fact that Chikieze, David Cooke, NannyBlond (Brook White), and Jason Castro good omen when you know their names. For the same reasons I liked season 5 they are all very different. Is it better than season 5, no…but it is miles better than last year. So I am sucked in…and see Colette you’re not the only one finding the groove in Cooke’s “sunny” rock out as you put it.

    As for the Heavy Duty Reynolds wrap spectulation…first I miss speculating on TPTB…but…I really believe It is like a spin of the wheel with judges comments. “Oh, you just missed daily double however Paula would like to talk colors with you.”

    I don’t watch to listen to them. These days I prefer to just TiVo and FF through most of the show. Besides, I was spoiled by the best talent judge evah…how can you beat analysis like that?

     
  8. Shrewspeaks

    March 18, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Just reread what I wrote…no more writing a comment while listening to Little Richard talk for me!

     
  9. jenfera

    March 18, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Chikezie has been my favorite since they got to the top 24. He’s got that something going on. A quick reminder – although Taylor came off as humble most of the time, I think that may have been a learned behavior for the camera. I never liked that comment of his when Simon first said he was more of a background guy,
    “Some people have never heard of Joe Cocker.” That was a little, uh, cocky, ha ha, for that moment. I think you have to have a little hubris to really be a good entertainer. You have to believe that you’ve got the stuff, that people should want to see you/hear you. Chickezie just needs to learn to come off a little milder for the camera a little more.

     
  10. Shrewspeaks

    March 18, 2008 at 6:42 pm

     
  11. Bama

    March 18, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    Well, most of you know me as “ever the sunny optimist” and this year is no different….I freaking LOVE this stupid AI show. I can’t help it. I don’t give a rip about who’s manipulating who…I just wanna watch the cheese in all it’s golden glory….I REVEL in it. I like who I like (JC/BW/DC) and I hate who I hate (AO-sawry MM!)…and I wait with baited breath to see if Pauler will be coherent or not…hoping not…

    There will never be a season like the 5th..but they all have their place in my heart!

     
  12. Bama

    March 18, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Shrew- Have you been sharing that Coca-Cola cup with Pauler??? Crazy, tin-foil hat lady!

     
  13. colette

    March 18, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    May I encourage you all to either tape the thing, or watch the numbers on youtube the next day? So refreshing to be able to just breeze by the drek and not even have to sit out the commercials with the mute on! You also miss the stupid intra-judge banter.

    The girls this year, except the biker nurse (just cause she’s so completely different!), do not a thing for me. And if that very nice twerp from Utah with the terrible stage father wins…..geez louize.

    So, with as little energy as possible, I’m going to be rooting for Mr. Cook, and a couple others (including Chikeze & Amanda) to stick around….

     
  14. caryl

    March 18, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    Hi, Jen! You know, that comment Taylor made at his audition always rubbed me the wrong way, too. I often wonder if he went home (before Hollywood) and carefully planned his TV persona. He seemed to be more of the charming, smiling, laugh-at-myself kinda guy after he got to the Hollywood auditions. And we know now that he ain’t that guy in real life.

    Bama: I love your enthusiasm! You go, girl!

     
  15. Cheryl Feltman

    March 19, 2008 at 6:22 am

    This season is soooo much better than last year, but I agree Season Five will NEVER be matched. The magic of Taylor, Katherine, Elliott, Kellie, Ace, Bucky and even Chris will never be matched. It just erks me that everyone keeps saying Chris D should have won – well he DIDN’T – he came in 4th!!!! Get over it – You can’t take that away from Taylor! He brought excitement to the show from the very beginning. Hmmmm, as I think about it – without him on that season – it may have been a good season, but not GREAT! Kinda like this season.

     
  16. Trixi

    March 19, 2008 at 7:08 am

    I’ve been watching AI this year. I don’t believe it’s the best bunch they’ve ever had. Season 5 was that.

    I like Chekesie. After watching him last week he immediatly reminded of Taylor with that performance. He even got a “you looked drunk towards the end of it” comment from Simon. How Taylor is that.

    I also like David Cook,( my hometown boy, K.C metro area) Carly, and Jason Castro.

    I like Amanda from time to time. I still think she should have sung Helter Skelter from the Beatles. I think she could have rocked that. Maybe AI wouldn’t allow the song?

    No season will ever match AI 5…..

     

Leave a Reply

 
