RSS

A Trip Around the Sun

22 Mar

Hard to believe it but it’s been a year since I took the fateful leap into bloggerland.

With this historic post, my life took a decided turn for the better.  I’ve found a great creative outlet that allows me to enjoy the thoughts of others while vomiting out my own.  My life has been enriched by your support to pursue the things that I really enjoy and to explore more music.

Thanks to all of you who read and comment and to those who just read.  While I invite you to comment, I understand if you don’t.  To those of you who have been here since the beginning (and you know who you are), I want to particularly thank you for your loyalty and friendship.  Of course, I’d like to thank that somebody who showed us how it’s done.  For without that brave soul, hundreds of tiny, unnoticed blogs would not have proliferated; freeing the captives.  (I keed.  I keed.)

Hopefully, I’ll have some more time soon to get into some discussions I’ve been noodling on in my big ole head.  Funny thing about finding a job that you really like…you end up spending a lot of time doing it.  However, I’m trying to carve out my moments of blog time and ideas but it’s like my swearing to get organized.  Mr. D. says that I just need to break down and admit that it’s just not going to happen.  This is how he sees me in terms of my projects and work, etc.

pig-pen_peanuts.png

I’ve gotten better and this blog, in particular, keeps me somewhat focused.  Just don’t throw any shiny objects in front of me and I’m pretty much o.k.

I think that music is God’s way of providing a Rosetta Stone for folks to feel common emotions and to kun-NECK, you know, soothe the savage beast.  For the life of me, I am flabbergasted when someone tells me that they don’t really listen to music or they don’t know a watershed tune like We Can Work it Out or Hallejuah.  That’s why I feel that Music Maven’s purpose is to educate, discuss and advance music and artists of interest.  Bridge generations, genders, race and creed via the love of music.

I must say, however, that the best explanation of music that truly resonated with me came from some guy that happened to capture my attention a few years ago:

It’s music, man.  If music’s in your heart, you feel it, you play it, you sing it, you perform it, you bust your buns doin’ it.  And, that’s what it’s all about….

 

 

19 responses to “A Trip Around the Sun

  1. about time

    March 22, 2008 at 7:52 am

    It’s good that you took the plunge because you have a real gift for doing this. Looking forward to another year of being entertained while being educated – neat trick but you do it well – like someone else used to do.
    Happy Birthday Music Maven – lifting my coffee cup in a toast to many more.

     
  2. AH

    March 22, 2008 at 7:57 am

    It’s good that you took the plunge because you have a real gift for doing this. Looking forward to another year of being entertained while being educated – neat trick but you do it well – like someone else used to do.
    Happy Birthday Music Maven – lifting my coffee cup in a toast to many more.

     
  3. jenfera

    March 22, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Happy Blogiversary, MM! Thanks for all the good tunes.

     
  4. Shrewspeaks

    March 22, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Hey for your anniversary I give you Shiny Things

    I kid.

    God love ya, I am so glad you are here and in my life. No matter what tune you are playing it is the one that is in my head. Well, almost.

    To you!

     
  5. Colette

    March 22, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Congrats, MM! I grazed around music blogs, but when Little Debbie turned me on to your’s I knew I was home!

    You write with such passion and care about music that moves you. You stimulate great discussions. And through your openness about various aspects of your life, I feel like I’ve made a friend — though you live half a country away, and we may never meet in the flesh.

    Thanks for building such a lovely blog. And thank you SO much for allowing me to participate too. It’s been a wonderful creative outlet for me, sharing a lifetime of music with others…

     
  6. huckleberryfriend

    March 22, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    I’m sure many of your posts have taken you many hours of research and thought before you could actually start writing. Creating a great blog takes a lot of time and dedication – so I applaud your effort and creativity. One year in Blog World is probably like 3 in real life.

    Too bad we don’t still have Season 5 to write about.

     
  7. Colette

    March 23, 2008 at 12:21 am

    MM — took me a while to find the perfect anniversary present, but I think I have….special delivery direct from Elvis, you too are just “too much” —

    Elvis & the Jordanaires — “Too Much”:

    http://www.dailymotion.com/relevance/search/Elvis%2BPresley/video/x353wb_elvis-presleytoo-much_shortfilms

     
  8. brc

    March 23, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Wow. A year? Really?

    MM I so admire the job you have done. You continue put your whole heart and soul into your posts. You’re an amazing writer and a YouTube/Google goddess (brc is bowing at your feet).

    Thanks for keeping us entertained for the past year and turning us on to so much music — both new and old.

    In your honor, a couple of links to the gritty Taylor we all love. These are audio links not video. Just close your eyes and take him in:

    Hollywood Nights:
    [audio src="http://www.tay-media.com/tay_mp3/misc/HollywoodNights.mp3" /]

    What’d I Say:
    [audio src="http://www.tay-media.com/tay_mp3/liveset1/WhatIdSay.mp3" /]

     
  9. brc

    March 23, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Well the links don’t work if you click on them, but if you cut and paste they do. Sorry ’bout that.

     
  10. Bama

    March 24, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Well, late to the party as usual…still, congrats on the year! Two weeks ago was the anniversary of our MB Convention…and I know there are talks of a Shutterbug Convention this summer…jest wonnerin’ if there’ll ever be a MM Convention…hmmmm?

     
  11. music maven

    March 24, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Awesome. You guys hit on all of my favorites. Thanks for being here, guys.

    Bama — there’s a nice little beach with a nice little bar not too far from me…might be a nice place for a convention.

     
  12. somebody

    March 24, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Nigel Tufnel: [on what he would do if he couldn’t be a rock star] Well, I suppose I could, uh, work in a shop of some kind, or… or do, uh, freelance, uh, selling of some sort of, uh, product. You know…
    Marty DiBergi: A salesman?
    Nigel Tufnel: A salesman, like maybe in a, uh, haberdasher, or maybe like a, uh, um… a chapeau shop or something. You know, like, “Would you… what size do you wear, sir?” And then you answer me.
    Marty DiBergi: Uh… seven and a quarter.
    Nigel Tufnel: “I think we have that.” See, something like that I could do.
    Marty DiBergi: Yeah… you think you’d be happy doing something like-…
    Nigel Tufnel: “No; we’re all out. Do you wear black?” See, that sort of thing I think I could probably… muster up.
    Marty DiBergi: Do you think you’d be happy doing that?
    Nigel Tufnel: Well, I don’t know – wh-wh-… what’re the hours?

    Look for an announcement soon.

     
  13. Bama

    March 24, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    MM- You had me at “nice little beach with a nice little bar”!!

     
  14. brc

    March 24, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    I just did the math. Did you know that 80,688 hits in a year is about 221 hits a day?

    Damn girl. You have more lurkers than I thought 🙂

     
  15. Shrewspeaks

    March 24, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Nice little bar where? I am there.

     
  16. caryl

    March 24, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    I read this blog entry and felt like crying. (hormones-I cry at everything) I got sidetracked this evening and wound up in some weird alternate online universe where fans of certain performers from season five attack one another in the most vicious way. I was so sad, I was considering walking away from my computer for good.

    But then I thought, “wonder what the maven’s up to?”. Ahhh…sanity. You reminded me of why I got sucked into this whole TH online world in the first place. There are thoughtful, creative, sensitive souls here who share an appreciation for what the music does to them.

    I feel better and will remember to stay away from that other dark world. Thinking about it makes me scared all over again. Hold me!

     
  17. music maven

    March 24, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    A bar very similiar to THIS ONE

     
  18. Little Deb

    March 25, 2008 at 6:50 am

    Sorry, a little late to the party. MM, thanks so much for what you do. I remember when I first found your place, I was so excited that there was a blog about MUSIC and music I liked. I’ve been looking for this song for a long time and finally found it this morning. The simplicity of it is just perfect. Mac Davis – I Believe In Music.

     
  19. Shrewspeaks

    March 25, 2008 at 9:19 am

    Umm..count me in.

    Did I really need to say that?

    Bama, you coming to Newport?

     

Leave a Reply

 
