RSS

Most Original? Think Not.

26 Mar

So, my sistah from anutha mistah (ShrewbieDoobyDo), recommends that I watch just one performance from last night.  Reluctantly, I clicked on the You Tube link to experience this:

Now, I have to say that Dude blew that crap away.  He’s been somewhat overlooked to date but this performance certainly got him noticed.  While I was impressed by his take and delivery, I cannot agree with Randy as to the most original on the show ever.

As you can imagine, THIS guy was the most original…

Contrary to popular belief, NOBODY out boogies “The Boogie”.  While David Cook is good and different than the celluloid fembots and testosterone challenged males, he is very reminisicent of this dude:

And, the first guy to RAWK on Idol has to be recognized:

Idol really needs some new writers.  Words like “original”, “pitchy”, “just aight”, “drunk”, and “karoake” should be banned from use on the show.  I mean, Randy, Paula and Simons are gazillionaires because of the show, can’t they put a little more into it?

Cue the theme from Jaws….

 
17 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2008 in american idol, taylor hicks

 

17 responses to “Most Original? Think Not.

  1. ivoryhut

    March 26, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Yeah, I was highly impressed and thought it was wickedly original too. Until I watched the replay, heard the mention of Chris Cornell, and heard this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2MgwAJrfXo

    Still. Dude’s got some vocals on him. But I still think no one touches Taylor.

     
  2. music maven

    March 26, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Ahhh, Ivory. Good catch. It appears that Mr. Cook knows some YouTube-Fu, as well.

    Again, he is eerily familiar of Daughtry — like the “Walk the Line” performance that was hailed as his own, yet found to be Live’s version from ’04.

     
  3. brc

    March 26, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Okay I see where you’re coming from, but I don’t think any of these performers claim to be experts in musical arrangements. I think it’s up to them to find or have someone create an arrangement that they think works for their style and that has impact.

    I think David chose an arrangement that expressed who he was musically. Heaven knows we’ve seen enough people who have chosen badly. As Simon always says… It’s a singing competition. Though the arrangement may have been “inspired” by the Cornell version, IMHO I don’t think it matters.

    I don’t like David as much as I like Taylor, but I do think he’s good. Does he sound an awful lot like Daughtry? Yes, but at least he doesn’t wear guyliner… yet 😉

     
  4. music maven

    March 26, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    brc, I don’t disagree. I think that there are no original ideas, nor arrangements…however, when the judges hail them as the MOST original, etc., I gotta say uh-uh.

    IMHO, David is no where near the “tool” Daughtry is. Having said that, I don’t think he’ll make the finals. Watch for Little Davie Chimichanga to make a surge in the coming weeks. It’s in the cards…

     
  5. ivoryhut

    March 26, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    I’m with you on that, Brc. I would have been blown away if that was David Cook’s own arrangement, but it doesn’t change the fact that he did an amazing job with that song. Plus, credit went to Chris Cornell right from the get-go, when Ryan introduced him.

    I prefer David’s voice to Daughtry. I think it has a sweeter tone to it. But watching older clips of You Are So Beautiful and In the Ghetto just continues to remind me whose voice I like best.

     
  6. brc

    March 26, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    I agree with you Ivory. I never liked Daughtry. I much prefer David’s voice (Cook, NOT Chimichanga).

     
  7. brc

    March 26, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Now if we’re talking rock ‘n roll, I’ll take Taylor singing Hollywood Nights over any of the rockers on Idol (past or present) any day and twice on Sunday 😉

     
  8. shrewspeaks

    March 26, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Okay sistah…here we go.

    I know you want to hate everything that has to do with Idol and I agree when the three stooges begin to tawk I zone because they are nothing more than spewing retreaded comments pulled by “the establishment.”

    That aside…for sheer performance value alone, David Cook’s Billie Jean was nothing short of brilliant on it’s own merits; not in competition with anyone else. I did hear Ryan say it was Chris Cornell’s arrangement…went to itunes and listened to Cornell’s version and I prefer Cook’s. I just like his voice better.

    If you want to say Taylor was the most original evah…fine. But I would argue where Taylor was a wacky showman, and Chris and Bo were hard rockers, Cook seems to be a mix of taking the schtick of Hicks and mashing it up with Bo/Daughtry style.

    Go back and look at what he has done thus far…
    Hello
    Happy Together
    Billie Jean
    This dude has irony in his choices. He is f-ing with candy pop music and making it worthy real music.

    For all that Taylor was unique, I would argue Cook is as unique, just in a different way. In fact, he maybe the great unifier in Daughtry and Hicks fans…how about that thought?

    Hey, I own both Beatles and Elvis…there is room for both in my life, just like there is room for two guys from two different seasons of Idol that make watching this show fun.

    To that point Cook by himself will be WHY I continue to stay in what you may call shark infested waters.

     
  9. colette

    March 26, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    OK, I confess too that I’ve got my eye on and ear out for Mr. Cook. Thanks to the wonder of the web world, I now just look at the list of what they did that night, and call up Cook’s videos — and occasionally someone else’s. Last night, I peeked at Michael Johns (meh) and Carly what’s-her-face too (she makes me cringe, and oversings everything0>

    The fact that Cook chose that great arrangement, even if it was not his personal one, shows a lotta smarts. And he’s got a very supple vocal instrument — perhaps a really great rock voice, that can handle changing dynamics and volume, that can be sweet or tough, and that can soar on those big notes. (I love what he did with “Happy Together” especially.)

    Daughtry did nothing for me with the snarly, glowering thing. He still doesn’t, 2 million-plus record sales or not. Neither does vanilla-vocals Carrie Underwood, but there ya go….

    I’d like to see Cook just wipe the floor with all the pre-ordained twinkies this year. Or maybe he’d do better to NOT win this thing, and take the time to make the record he wants to.

    As for Taylor, yes, he is an original — maybe not his vocal delivery, which does bring to mind (for me happily) Michael McDonald and Joe Cocker. But I don’t think ANYONE has displayed the sheer showmanship and chuztpah that guy had before the AI camera. He turned everything into a party. They should thank him profusely for keeping that show interesting…..

     
  10. music maven

    March 26, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Simma down, Shrew, simma down. I gave Dude props. I like him and I thought his Billie Jean was better than Michael Jackson’s. 😉

    I just get tired of the comments by the judges to FORCE people to think something. Let it stand on it’s own. The audience knows what’s good. They don’t need to manipulate and embellish. He was not the most original on the show, ever. Just not true. Doesn’t take away from his talent or performance.

    While I loved the performance I can promise you that I will never own a David Cook record, just like I don’t own a Ruben Studdard, a Bo Bice, a Fantasia, Daughtry nor a Jordin Sparks or Blake Lewis (God forbid)….Must confess that I do own some Carrie Underwood and of course, Jennifer Hudson in Dreamgirls.

    Perhaps my cynical musings have really brought out a whole ‘nuther, yet interwoven thought…Simply crowning an American Idol does not make an American Idol. WTF is an American Idol anyway. I don’t “idolize” anyone under 70 and certainly not anyone with less life experiences than me. I mean, is Justin Timberlake an “idol”? Was/is Madonna?

    The days of Elvis and The Beatles are gone. Too much diversity in music now to produce the fainting masses (excluding pre-pubescent teeny boppers who lose interest once a new “idol” comes along) and obsessive following/listening/worshipping.

    American Idol is NOT going to produce ANY “idol” because it’s unattainable. Even the mega star power of Carrie and Daughtry haven’t made them the end all, be all in their respective genres. And, their stars are already fading.

    Lastly, you are smokin’ crack if you think that Daughtry and Taylor fans will every cross the chasm of “idol wars” to become friends.

     
  11. Shrewspeaks

    March 26, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    “Simma down’ heehee

    Alright. I agree about the force feeding me what the producers want rather than letting it be. I am tired of hearing that David Archelettamebeupwithpeeps is fabulous. I kinda miss the guest judges…more because I loved seeing them squirm when someone screwed the pooch on their song.

    Now…are Idols even possible? I suspect TPTB would define an Idol by net profits rather than any lasting quality…there for Timberlack is an idol. What I think we long for are new legends. Once upon a time, they could be one in the same, but today as you and Leftsez have pointed out…that is not possible.

     
  12. Bama

    March 26, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Those of you who know me well (MM, Shrew, Jenfera), know already how I feel about JT…and guy liner too. Hee! So, I won’t go there.

    David Cook is good, really good. I like him. He’s funny and real. Good guy.

    BUT…there is ONE voice in rock that is THE voice of rock. At least rock of the last decade…and that voice belongs to the incomparable Chris Cornell:

    Temple of the Dog-Hunger Strike.

    Soundgarden-Spoon Man.

    Audioslave- Like A Stone.

    The Billie Jean version he did might not be the definitive…but the man RAWKS.

     
  13. music maven

    March 27, 2008 at 7:58 am

    Shrew,
    It appears that someone else digs David Cook.

    Amy fawns HERE

     
  14. Bama

    March 27, 2008 at 8:47 am

    Eh..I suck. I can’t even do links. Pooh!

     
  15. Colette

    March 27, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Hey, in this country forgiving someone for “bad hair” means they gotta be good. Lordy help us!

    go, David Cook.

    and back to music not ordained by cash registers….

     
  16. kanniduba

    March 28, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Dang! This thread made me miss the good ol’ days of Idol chopping and dicing! *sniff*sniff* I’ll give my two sense, then go back to my lurking. 😉
    My jaw dropped when I watched David Cook this past week. Been saying to Zan, “Okay, this guy is good…so why don’t I like him more?” Well…he won me over with Billie Jean. I agree with Shrew. Went to listen to Chris’ version and liked Cook’s more. I even went so far as to download it…and I’ll tell you, when I did I felt like I was “cheating” on Our Man, but I did it anyway! *laugh* (I will say, I couldn’t bring myself to vote though…it just felt wrong somehow!)
    And for what it’s worth, I’m getting a bit tired of being preached to by a seventeen year old. He’s sweet and all, but come on already!
    X’s and O’s to all of you! ~KD

     
  17. thedingoateyobaby

    March 29, 2008 at 9:01 am

    I love David Cook, I really do and I think his performance was very good last week but however much I would like him to win this, I doubt he will. I think Archuletta may have this sewn up already. My favorite is Brooke so far but to be honest, there isnt one who made me get that feeling I got when I watched Taylor and yes, God help me, Clay Aiken in season 2. There, I said it but thats how invested I was. Im not invested these days, I dont think you can bring the magic back. I can sit there and watch and say in an unbiased manner, yeah, that was really good but I have picked up the phone twice this year for a total of 6 votes. Three for Amanda who was booted off and 3 for David last week.

    I wont ever have that chilling good feeling I had with taylor and I have to say Im disappointed in his CD and his live performances arent blowing me away either. I have not seen him in person but the special he did for the DVD, it was just “aight” for me.

    T, ya better get a decent CD out there and you better do it fast my man.

    David cook, Im behind you all the way dude!

    P.S.—-I really appreciate this blog and though I may not post often, I drop in about twice a week just to read and I can see the work and time thats put into it. Thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
