RSS

Out of the Ordinary is the Ordinary…Ray Charles

31 Mar

Ray Charles was such a complete and uncanny talent. There was really nothing he couldn’t sing nor anywhere he couldn’t sing it. Here are a few songs that demonstrate his unparalleled range and adaptability, throughout his magnificent career. I think he encapsulates it best in the interview here:

If you can sing what’s in your heart, and keep time…well, that’s it.

My Bonnie

In the Evening

Let the Good Times Roll, Tel Aviv

While I maintain that NOBODY sings Yesterday accept McCartney, I think Ray comes close:

Yesterday

But, perhaps my favorite of Ray’s Beatles’ covers is Let It Be. His tempo changes and little touches create a whole different feel to the wonderful classic, yet still makes it believable.

Let It Be

Ray had a certain af-FECK-shun and ap-PREE-she-ashun for The Beatles. Other wonderful Ray Beatles’ covers:

Long & Winding Road

Eleanor Rigby

Never short of genres to invade, Ray conquered them all and all of their artists.

Chattanooga Choo-Choo

Ring of Fire

Look What They’ve Done to My Song, Ma with Babs

Livin’ for the City, with Stevie Wonder

Oh Happy Day with The Voices of Jubilation

He even conquered the instruments:

On Lead Sax

And I just have to add this one, because it’s one of my all time favorite Ray tunes:

Drown in My Own Tears

Amen, Reverend.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2008 in blues, Country, music legends, ray charles

 

4 responses to “Out of the Ordinary is the Ordinary…Ray Charles

  1. brc

    March 31, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Wow MM!!! You’ve outdone yourself here. What a great selection of his music. I LOVED how he did My Bonnie. Now that right there is originality at its finest.

    I agree with you about Yesterday. His voice brings so much texture and emotion to the lyrics. I think you can feel the pain even more than in McCartney’s original. Let it Be is nice too, but I think I liked Yesterday even better.

    Too many great performances here to comment on them all.

    One of my faves that I think further demonstrates his versatility…

     
  2. music maven

    March 31, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Thanks, brc. Yes, Ray really could hang with anyone, even Billy Joel.

    That “My Bonnie” is epic.

     
  3. jenfera

    March 31, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    A girlfriend of mine is moving away to Texas and when she cleaned out her office, she asked me if I wanted a bunch of Ray CD’s! Whooo! Score! Best of Ray Charles, 1 & 2, and Genius Loves Company with a bunch of great duets.

     
  4. Bama

    April 1, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Thanks for this post. I’m uplifted!

     

Leave a Reply

 
