RSS

The Life of a Music Maven…Real March Madness

01 Apr

dd.jpg

So, lately my posts haven’t been very robust. I know you guys must be terribly disappointed…heh.

But, hey, I’ve been busy. In January, I went back into the real rat race of marketing consulting and for financial services, no less. It certainly is interesting times and I’ve been working some really long hours to get back into the swing of things, but I have to say that I’m totally stoked. Not as stoked as I’d be if I could write a blog for a living, but pretty stoked.

We study consumer behavior, execute marketing strategies and then track them to prove we’re right. Man, I really love to be right. Who knew?

I thought I’d give you all a little flavor of my own March Madness, with some tunes thrown in, for sure. (And, all photos were taken by lil’ ole me.)

March came in like lamb, with my Mother-in-Law’s 82nd birthday on March 3rd, but quickly picked up pace. Now, my MIL is a piece of work — and I do mean that in a good way. She had 7 kids in 10 years (5 of those are boys) and she was married for 61 years to a great guy who could be very difficult to live with. She’s smart, she’s active and she’s loving. I have long forgiven her for her “yankee-ness” and have the highest respect for her and her ability to adapt to the backwater of South Louisiana. Hail, Queen of Casseroles!!

Here is a picture I took of her on Good Friday with one of her 18 great-grandchildren…BTW, there are FIVE more on the way.

mom.jpg

Somebody’s Hero, Jamie O’Neal

One blistering week later, her baby boy turned 60. That baby happens to be my baby.

big-a.jpg

On Saturday, March 8th, we had a 60th birthday bash, complete with family, friends, and CRAWFISH!!

crawfish.jpg

It was great fun and we got to visit with all of our boys, including the grand-munchkin.

da-boyz.jpg

munchkin.jpg

Thankfully, Munchkin’s Mom came along to provide some estrogen….lots of it, since she’s expecting another munchkin in the fall.

j.jpg

Birthday, The Beatles

A few days later, Mini DD went off on his own to Washington, DC to the National Youth Leadership Congress, to which he was nominated by his high school. Yes, Mom is proud.

mini-dd-trip.jpg

Growing Up, Bruce Springsteen

After dropping da boy at the airport, Mr. D. and I took off for a few days of fun and business in Memphis.

on-the-road-again.jpg

Having lived there for six years before moving to Mobile, it was fun to re-trace some of our old steps. We are particularly partial to Downtown Memphis and The Peabody Hotel.

trolley.jpg

peabody.jpg

And, of course when in Memphis you must do as the Memphibians do….and that means Rendezvous ribs. Now, I’m partial to Corky’s “wet” ribs, but it was enjoyable nonetheless.

rendezvous.jpg

Walkin’ in Memphis, Marc Cohn

Of course, in the middle of all of the travels and travails, there were soccer games to attend. Mini DD’s team captured their big tournament with an exciting last second score.

team.jpg

We Are the Champions, Queen

Then, there was our Easter weekend in God’s Country, a/k/a Acadiana.

Allons a Lafayette, Wayne Toups

We started with our “Resurrection” Golf Tournament on Good Friday. Here’s a picture of our nephew Mark, of “The Life of Mark” blog fame.

markie-golf.jpg

Fortunately, Mark is a better blogger than golfer. However, he had one of the loveliest weddings EVAH!

One of the nice things about golf in South Louisiana is the scenery. In particular, there’s plenty of wildlife to enjoy out on the links.

duck.jpg

gator.jpg

After golf, the family gathered for a wonderful lenten repast of…. you guessed it, boiled crawfish.

crawfish-crowd.jpg

Lovely Day, Bill Withers

On Saturday, we visited with my family, including the infamous Uncle Harris — who never changes.

uncle-harris.jpg

Still the Same, Bob Seger

Finally, Easter Sunday and the annual family pacque’ (pronounced pah-KAY) tourney. The 80 or so people who gather at Mr. D’s all participate — providing they are family, i.e., born or married into…

This is serious business. There is a bracket…

bracket.jpg

….and it is highly competitive with lots of trash talk. Many use their eggs to do the talkin’. Like my BIL, Big Mark, who utilizes the ole JMJ (Jesus, Mary, Joseph) as a psych out.

jmj.jpg

His new son-in-law Michael, displays his egg as “Pity Pacque” Champ from 2007. That contest is reserved for those who aren’t “official” family yet. This was his first “official” participation — demolished in Round 1.

michael-pity.jpg

Perhaps the most intimidating egg belongs to my BIL, Michael. Each year, he comes to fight with his egg adorned with the following scripture:

“Is not my word like a fire?” says the Lord; “and like a hammer that breaks the rock into pieces. “

Jeremiah 23:29

mikes-egg.jpg

Pretty difficult to stand there and fight God. But somehow, we manage.

The premise is to knock eggs trying to crack the opponents egg by tapping ends. While it sounds civilized, I can assure you it is not. It’s ruthless and cut-throat, pitting brother against brother….

brothers-pacque.jpg

and even the sweet little grandmother shows no mercy…

pacque.jpg

But, at the end of it all, we happily crown the champion and award the plaque. Oh yes, there is a plaque. This year’s winner is the one and only Michael and the holy egg. Here he’s awarded the plaque by last year’s winner, Grandma. Don’t let the smile fool you, folks. She is FIERCE.

champs.jpg

AllStar, Smashmouth

Amid all of this activity, IT’S SPRING!

Here in the South, foliage is popping everywhere.

azalea.jpg

daisy.jpg
Walking on Sunshine, Katrina & The Waves

lily.jpg

dogwood.jpg

iris.jpg

pollenation.jpg

Of course, my “madness” would not be complete without mentioning that I had a business trip, or two in there somewhere. Here’s a sunrise in Charlotte….

sunrise-in-charlotte.jpg

I’ve Been Everywhere, Johnny Cash

My travels come with ALOT of airline travel and in those travels I generally always run in to somebody I know or somebody famous. However, I was ill-prepared for what I saw a few nights ago as I was hurrying to make my connection so I didn’t miss the last flight home. As I passed the Birmingham gate, I saw this…

some-gray-haired-dude.jpg

Wherever I Lay My Hat, Taylor Hicks

You just never know what you’ll find in the airport, but I’ll save THAT for another post.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2008 in music maven, that's life

 

17 responses to “The Life of a Music Maven…Real March Madness

  1. brc

    April 1, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    What a fun family and serious March madness. So glad you’re enjoying your new day job.

    You did NOT see Taylor Hicks at the airport did you? Well did you? Oh now you can’t keep us wondering for another second. Did you really? That head looks a little older than our dear Taylor. And the clothes look a bit older.

    Puhleeeze tell us if you saw Taylor. Pretty please?

     
  2. Colette

    April 1, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Nice to meet the family!
    But you don’t understand. I’m a Northern gal, and I’m afraid of PICTURES of crocodiles. They scare the bejesus out of me. The only crocodile I can handle in any shape or form is this one:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-36u4xUCF0 — Elton & the Muppets

     
  3. music maven

    April 1, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Colette — that’s an Alligator, darlin’. We saw 3 or 4 of them sunning themselves on the golf course. They play “possum” most of the time.

    brc — what is today?

     
  4. Amy deClouet

    April 1, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Love the post Dawn! Grandma and her casseroles! Too funny! I still don’t know what the hell is in a “chess pie”! Damn Yankees! But seriously though, that picture of her with Kate is beautiful! I love it!
    Hope your April is a little less hectic for you and glad the new job is goin’ well!

     
  5. brc

    April 1, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    brc tucks her tail between her legs and waddles away.
    Happy April Fool’s Day.

    You got me 😉

     
  6. jenfera

    April 1, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Great post, MM! Thanks for catching us up. Memphis! Rendezvous! Peabody! Ducks!

    Not to mention alligators and crawfish boils and cute babies and a nice april fool’s hoax. You’ve got it all!
    🙂

     
  7. brc

    April 1, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Did I mention that I’m very jellis that you have flowers blooming while we still have 30 degree temps?

     
  8. Shrewspeaks

    April 1, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    BRC don’t let her fool ya…It may not have been Taylor…but…

     
  9. music maven

    April 1, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    I know, Ames, and some of them actually BOIL meat.

    I believe that Chess is 90% Karo syrup and the rest nuts. It’s sooooooo good, though.

    Guys, Amy is carrying one of those 5 new great-grandkids. She’s writing all about it at her blog. See my blogroll for the link to Goodbye 20’s Hello Botox.

    brc — I took all of those photos around here. Mobile actually exploded in color over the last week. Some of it’s so vivid is hurts your eyes. The news says it’s been one of the prettiest seasons ever.

    Gotta LOVE THE SOUTH, man.

     
  10. Bon

    April 1, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Taylor’s hair is not that long, and he never wears pants like that.

     
  11. caryl

    April 1, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Well, shoot, sha (now I can’t remember if that’s sha or cha)! I lived in Lafayette for seven years. I had my babies there at Women’s and Children’s Hospital. We loved Lafayette. We’d go fishin in Henderson Swamp, eat out at Randall’s and wonder around Acadian village at Christmas time.

    Anyway, nice post. That doesn’t really look like Taylor’s hair, but I want to believe it is!

     
  12. Colette

    April 1, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    ok,I told you I’m a Northern girl…..which means that pictures of gators scare me as much as pics of crocs! Possum? Eek. We have possums, and they don’t have those choppers……

    So here’s some gater swamp rock, to cancel out the “crocodile rock”:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6diOn54OWs&feature=related Tony Joe White & Johnny Cash

     
  13. music maven

    April 2, 2008 at 7:12 am

    What if it was before he got a haircut and he was on his way to play golf…can’t wear jeans to play golf (most places)?

    Ok, it’s not Taylor but it is mildly disturbing that some of you guys know the difference.

    I caught some of Taylor on Finebaum last night and I must say he sounded pretty good. Got the golf handicap down to 10, going to Italy in May, new CD in September…I’d take it.

     
  14. brc

    April 2, 2008 at 7:19 am

    Going to Italy in May? New CD in September? I haven’t visited any Taylor sites in months. MM I think you might need to resurrect Taylor Time at some point!

     
  15. Jax

    April 2, 2008 at 7:24 am

    What a great way to start my morning… Music Maven in my Google Alerts :o)

    Beautiful family .. great lady .. Mr J is loving the crawfish!

    Much love to you!

     
  16. Bama

    April 2, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Two things:

    I am tired just reading this post.

    YOU HAVE THE MOST FUN FAMILY EVER! (Is jellis)

    🙂

     
  17. music maven

    April 2, 2008 at 11:33 am

    brc—link to yesterday’s interview….

    http://www.finebaum.com/audio_current.html

    Go to 4/1 under Hour 3 and Hour 4 — Hicks

     

Leave a Reply

 
