RSS

Deja Vu All Over Again?

04 Apr

So, I get my YouTube-Fu on this morning looking of an obscure Van Morrison performance to usher in the weekend, and I find this:

I was immediately harkened back to Artist Voices from GoFish. As far as I can tell, Taylor Hicks was the first and the last artist “in a series”. Now, while I have been critical of Taylor’s lack of inventive promotion (or just promotion, period), I thought this was a fantastic move. Evidently, YouTube did too, as they now are doing virtually the same thing with The Rolling Stones. No doubt, other artists are soon to follow. Just goes to show you what CAPITAL does for a company. While GoFish struggles through the independent landscape, YouTube is run by the Google folks. And, we all know that those guys are “doers”.

Too bad Taylor couldn’t hitch his wagon to the YouTube star, but I have to give him (or somebody) kudos for trying. Sadly, however, there were so many missed opportunities and “coulda beens” for Taylor Hicks. Point is, talk is cheap. You gotta DO it.

Very few brilliant ideas or marketing strategies ever come to fruition because they are never IMPLEMENTED. YouTube believes in “git ‘er done” and it pays HUGE dividends. Literally.

The Stones taking fan questions on YouTube will be huge and it will also assist in promoting the new Martin Scorcese flick of The Stones at the Beacon, Shine A Light, debuting today. Think The Last Waltz. Filmed in late ’06 at New York’s famed Beacon Theatre, the film gives a never-before-seen look at The Stones both on and off stage, in ways that only Scorcese can convey.

While I think that Mick Jagger and Keith Richards could possibly be the two ugliest men alive, THIS is promotion folks. On the day that the film opens, they utilize one of the best promotion tools (YouTube) to advertise their music and movie while “hooking” the fans in via interaction. Word of mouth will be crazy among Stoners.

And, Scorcese? All I can say his vision continues. If you go into the Shine A Light sight that I linked to above, they cover all the bases. Preview video to entice you, iTunes and Amazon links to buy the Soundtrack, Get A Widget to help you promote them (for free), downloadable screen savers from the very high quality IMax film, and tons more. A virtual plethora of Stones propaganda for the hard cores.

This is the dream, folks. It’s not limited, however, to The Rolling Stones and Martin Scorcese. They just happened to be smart enough to seize a good idea and actually DO it right. While I’m not a Stones fan, I may just attend this movie out of principle….to award a job well done.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2008 in Marketing, music biz, YouTube

 

12 responses to “Deja Vu All Over Again?

  1. Shrewspeaks

    April 4, 2008 at 10:59 am

    This WILL be interesting to see. I feel like these YouTube plans are very elusive. The opening push is impressive, but the interactive nature is not quite compelling. “You TOO can ask inane questions that most people are not interested in” aspect is what makes THIS type of promotion hard to harness.

     
  2. music maven

    April 4, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    OH, but there are MANY people who love to stick their questions out there…to see themselves and “interact” with their fave star.

    Even if the initial promotion is the only part that works, it will have done its job…promoting the film. Let’s face it, The Stones don’t need any other promotion for their act, right?

    I know if I had a CD coming out, or a DVD, I’d be doing exactly this kind of thing through YouTube, hoping my vid goes viral. I’d also be sending emails to bloggers known to post about me (easily done through tags) and having them spread the word. Lefsetz is ko-RECK. Word of mouth is the most successful and lasting promotion for music today. These old dogs (Stones and Scorcese) show that they can learn some new tricks.

    P.S. They’re still ugly as sin.

     
  3. Bon

    April 4, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    It’s apparent that the only way you can get hits on your site by mentioning Taylor Hicks.

     
  4. Sunny

    April 4, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    The Rolling Stones played in Dallas a few years back, the concert was at an outdoor arena. It started to rain, while the concert was midway through. Mick was fearless – he kept it going on the multi-level stage. The band behind him – all those ‘old men’ were fantastic.

    From what I could tell nobody left, everyone stood the entire concert, in the pouring rain, and the guys gave us four songs for encore besides playing almost three hours.

    Best concert of all the many, many concerts I have ever attended. Maven, go see the movie you’ll enjoy it.

     
  5. music maven

    April 4, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Wow, Bon. If you’ve been reading here, I would think you know me better than that…I don’t need hits to my site. That’s not what this is about.

    I love me some Taylor Hicks so everybody doesn’t need to go nuclear on me. I am objective enough to say, however, that Taylor (and/or his management) blew several opportunities to do things right. I sense that Taylor is still somewhat unfocused in terms of an exact path to his promotion. That may be intentional or it may not be. Either way, I still love the dude. Just wish that this kind of coordinated promotion would have happened for him.

    This topic is really about The Stones and Scorcese and YouTube. I’ll edit the post and take Taylor Hicks off the tags so I won’t get hits off of it.

     
  6. music maven

    April 4, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Sunny, I believe that I will. The cinematography looks superb and Scorcese is at his best in these kind of projects. There is much I like about the Stones music and they are consummate performers. They are just not my absolute favorite…not like, say The Beatles or Eric Clapton.

     
  7. somebody . . .

    April 4, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    It’s apparent that the only way you can get hits on your site by mentioning musicians.

     
  8. windycity

    April 4, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    I saw the Stones in Chicago, Soldier Field, on their last tour. Hot and humid, 3 opening acts, they barely played for 90 minutes. A total waste of my $400 for two tickets. Never again.

    I’ve heard Scorcese’s IMAX film is great though.

     
  9. Shrewspeaks

    April 4, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    I wonder how many hits you have had today from Rolling Stone Fans?

     
  10. jenfera

    April 4, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    My husband saw the Stones in concert back in the early 80’s and he said they were already old and not very good live. I can’t even imagine what it must be like now.

    Personally, I only come to your blog for the crawfish. But I’m weird like that.
    😉

     
  11. AH

    April 4, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Maven, as usual we are in agreement on nearly everything – exception being I would love to see the movie just for it’s own sake. Doubt it will be shown anywhere near me however so hope you and some others will do a recap.

    (Edited by MusicMaven)

     
  12. music maven

    April 4, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    While I seriously abhor censoring of comments, I’ve decided to delete the comments here pertaining to the debate over Taylor Hicks’ wherewithall. There are plenty places to debate that.

    This site is intended for thoughtful commentary on music mixed with a little humor. I just didn’t like where this was headed.

     
 
