RSS

Shine A Light…Let’s Try This Again

06 Apr

Ok, despite the YouTube promotion debacle, we’re going to try this again.

I’m starting to get a little excited about the Scorcese Rockumentary, Shine A Light, documenting the Rolling Stones’ Beacon Theatre Concert in ’06. (Even Bill Clinton attended….)

Now, admittedly, I’m not a huge Stones fan as I have thought that they were overrated and over-tauted over the years. I really felt that they rode the coattails of The Beatles and that they never were of the same caliber. However….I have to say that after watching the trailers and some of the videos from Shine A Light, I have a new respect for The Rolling Stones.

Consider this…these guys are nearly qualified for Social Security, I mean, if they were American citizens. At 64, Mick Jagger and Keith Richards are simply unbelievable. I have evidenced first hand that many in the Boomer generation are “not your father’s Oldsmobile”, but The Stones are phenomenal. 64, people. That is nearly 20 years my senior.

And, oh so clevah….notice on this YouTube vid who the author is. They don’t restrict embedding. No…they want us to post away. SSSSmmmmarrrttttt.

Jumpin’ Jack Flash

On Shattered, the lads show that they are still a force to be reckoned with, thoroughly entertaining perhaps the third generation since they began. Keith Richards sums it up in this short interview clip:

Mick Jagger commands the audience, once again, with Some Girls:

Funny aside regarding Keith Richards. Last weekend, Mini-DD had a friend over and we were watching Pirates of the Carribean: At World’s End, when I aptly pointed out to the incredulous teenagers that Captain Teague was the lead guitarist for The Rolling Stones:

Richards is an institution in himself. Even though Lefsetz thinks Keith is a sell-out, I don’t think there’s any such thing. Make some money, Keith. We know where your heart is.

Personally, I think this blues clip of Satisfaction says it all…

or this duet with Norah Jones on Gram Parsons’ Love Hurts:

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2008 in Concerts, music legends, soundtracks, YouTube

 

9 responses to “Shine A Light…Let’s Try This Again

  1. brc

    April 7, 2008 at 7:17 am

    I am not a Stones fan either, but I think it would be fascinating to see the movie to get a perspective on the people and the process. All of the behind the scenes stuff looks really interesting.

     
  2. Little Deb

    April 7, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Hey MM. Thanks for posting the Keith Norah duet. I came across it a while back and loved it.

    Totally off topic, but just to let you know (since I know you are a country music fan). Randy Owen of Alabama is doing a solo tour. I just got 8th row tickets.

    Back to the Stones.

     
  3. shrewspeaks

    April 7, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    SCORSESE IS A GOD. Whew, I feel better. I can’t watch clips here (SDJ), but how do these clips compare with Last Waltz or the Dylan flick, which both felt introspective as well as homages to the greats. I sense that the Stones may be a tad bit shallow and will be interested to see in Scorsese can rend the same depth.

     
  4. morewines

    April 7, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    IMAX would be the way to see this film.

     
  5. music maven

    April 7, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Shrew,
    from what I’ve seen, it’s going to be even better than The Last Waltz. The IMAX aspect is HD on steriods and it appears that there will be some good behind-the-scenes stuff from the Stones and Scorsese. Don’t think that there’s ever been a hard look at the Stones like this one.

    I like it just from a music history vantage point.

     
  6. AH

    April 7, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    “I like it just from a music history vantage point.”

    Have been doing a listening time line and have mixed emotions – I absolutely want to see it – hope it is shown somewhere near my area – but may watch a few favorite songs through my fingers like a kid at a scary movie. So many of their songs were interwoven into my days and nights for years before I reluctantly became an “adult”, I guess I prefer my memories. Or maybe it’s just that I’m closer to their age than I care to think about and watching those clips is like having a pail of cold reality dumped over my head. :]

    Ran across this interview with Scorsese and The Stones
    http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=43366

     
  7. Colette

    April 8, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    Hi Little Deb! Wondered where you went.

    Ah, the Stones. I’ve had a love-hate relationship with them for sooooo long. Definitely a Beatles girl, but I did see the Stones (eek) as a little teenbopper at DC Stadium on an early tour. they were certainly spell-casters, even way back when.

    The next time I saw them, I didn’t. Because it was at the Altamont Festival, and the vibes were so horrific (even before someone in the crowd was knifed and killed in plain view), that my friends and I split the scene before the Stones arrived and things got worse. I’ll tell anyone what wants it the whole bizarre story someday, or you can discover it yourself by seeing the earlier Stones film, “Gimme Shelter.”

    Suffice it to say, it was about another 20 years before I went to a big outdoor music festival — Jazz Fest in New Orleans, where the vibes were a gazillion times better.

    Anyway, am looking forward to seeing this movie, MM. You’ve whetted my appetite.

     

Leave a Reply

 
